We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED THE HOTEL. VERY TRANQUIL, BEAUTIFUL, GREAT SERVICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVED THE HOTEL. VERY TRANQUIL, BEAUTIFUL, GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family stayed at the HOMA hotel for 2 nights and we wish it could have been a lot more. The hotel has acres of land, including the sculpture gardens, spa, hotel, restaurant, arts center, bike trails, and a cave.
We could not believe how beautiful and peaceful this hotel was amidst a small village. The contrast between the farmers harvesting the rice with water buffalos, and the artistic and beauty of this hotel is astonishing.
Our rooms were well appointed, although I would have to agree that other 5 star hotels have a bit more luxurious touches. We did not miss anything in the room and the bed was the most comfortable bed we slept on during our 2 week journey.
The food was fantastic. We had a five course chinese dinner which was over the top. Breakfast included egg station, pancakes, meats, fruits, and any chinese food you heart desired. If they did not have it, all you had to do is ask for it.
The Spa is worth every penny. We all enjoyed a wonderful massage. The massage rooms were huge and so well done.
Gary, the hotel manager, was very friendly and always helpful.
Totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check websites like Splendia. We got our room including r/t transportation to the airport, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandygmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    235
    61
    27
    27
See reviews for
615
130
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the HOMA; ultimate relaxation; great food, gardens and staff service. We were assigned a personal assistant, Jessica, who made sure we were satisfied every minute of our stay. Service was impeccable. Pricey but well worth the experience. If you go to Guilin, this is the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JS613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Gary Deng, the hotel manager took us under his wing. He treated us like royalty. Mr. Deng took us on a personal tour of the hundred, or more acres of sculpture gardens. The hotel walls are covered with modern art of museum quality. The hotel had a driver pick us up and deliver us back to the airport. They also arraigned a cruise on the Li River and had a car pick us up at the end of the cruise. Thanks to Mr. Deng, t is the best hotel stay we ever had.

Room Tip: Every room is different, but perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Spending 2 days in Homa was the best coronation of 26 beautiful days on our visit to China. The hotel is special on its elegance, service, works of art, food and ambience.
All the good things were even better with the help of Maggie, a beautiful chinese hostess that stayed with us during the 2 whole days. Her information where precious and her translation to english "saved" us. Our congratulation to Homa that hires a so special tour guide like Maggie.
We would came back ten times if it wasn't the enormous distance to Brasil.
Thank you
Valeria e Francisco Pierotti

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpierotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyonnax, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

I came in Homa Hotel off-season. Only two or three rooms were occupied. Very pleasant and relaxing place especially if you go there after visiting big chinese cities like Shenzhen, Shanghai or HK.

Everything was almost perfect.
The service is great with a personal host for each family who brings you everywhere, and is your guide during your stay in Guilin.

The rooms are big, nice and very confortable without any noise around... the atmosphere of the park is very peaceful.

Located between Guilin and Yangshuo, living there is very convenient to visit all the landscape between that two cities. Guilin is not a really beautiful city to live, so even if Homa chateau is about 30 km away, it's a great choice if you want to spend a nice and relaxing journey of visits and leisure.

The new spa is a bit expensive, but really excellent!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charly997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Firstky, I should point out that the weather was not great when we went to Guilin. That is obviously no fault of the hotel, but it may put this review in context because the greyness and rain may have affected my mood during our stay.

We stayed in a lIbre Family Suite which was ideal. The room was well kitted out, clean and service was excellent. I would think that it was slightly overpriced though.

The grounds were fantastic and the children loved exploring the sculptures. They were going maintenance on a lot of the woodwork, so that should be great when complete. The whole property is probably stunning on a sunny day. Sadly we were unlucky in that regard. The pool was closed at this time of year, which seemed sensible given the air temperature.

As other reviewers pointed out, the hotel is a 45 minute drive from town. We knew that before we arrived, so it was not an issue for us. Yes, the car transfers organised by the hotel are much more expensive than local taxis, but that was something we expect when we book a luxury hotel. Frankly, I am happy to pay the extra for a more cautious driver and a newer car with seat belts etc.

We were very happy with the overall levels of service at the hotel. The only downfall was the food. Unfortunately, my expectations are very high when I visit a restaurant at a Relais et Chateaux Hotel. The Chinese restaurant met these expectations but the Western food fell WAY short (I'm talking mediocre fast food). If I managed this hotel, I would either employ a European chef to compliment the work of the Chinese chef or abandon the Western menu altogether.

I would stay here again, I'd probably book the same room and stick to the Chinese menu. Maybe we'd even get lucky with the weather. It's a perfectly nice hotel with friendly and willing staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel has an incredible architecture. Decoration is vey modern. The staff is so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARCUELLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guilin
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#10 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#11 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Property: Club Med Guilin
Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#18 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing