We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive by any standard”
Review of Grand 0773 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand 0773 Hotel
Ranked #172 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
stirling, scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressive by any standard”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed here for 3 days as part of our honeymoon adventure, and we were not impressed either by this hotel or Guilin as a whole. We flew there from Beijing because we had heard that the Li River cruise was amazing and a chance to see 'real' China compared to the Westernised areas in Beijing. We were disappointed in Guilin the minute we got off the plane really. Got the airport shuttle, which drops you off at a random hotel in Guilin - you have to make your own way from there, but of course the taxis are really cheap so that wasn't really a problem. The hotel was very basic, but we didn't see much better in Guilin when we were there, so I'm thinking that the standard is similar across the board. The staff speak very very limited English, and there were always random dodgy looking blokes sitting smoking in the lobby - don't know what that was about! And there is only air conditioning in your rooms, so the lobby and corridor is absolutely sweltering. The air con is noisy, but effective. The room was surprisingly clean and modern considering the rest of the hotel. A bit bare though, but acceptable. One thing I would warn you about is the breakfast - it is Chinese only. You have to pay extra for a Western breakfast, which is actually just eggs on toast and some juice/tea/coffee. not great - you can get much better locally as the "strip" has lots of Western bars etc. Location is fine, although there just isn't anything to do in Guilin - it is pretty smelly and a bit dirtier than everywhere else we went - I would minimise the amount of time you have to spent there to be honest - it was the only low point in our entire honeymoon. Oh, and the bed actually hurt to sleep on it was so hard!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymcnicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    94
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Four of us checked into the Grand 0773 on 14th July and 18th July. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from standard rooms to Deluxe Suite.The front desk staff were very friendly and could speak a little English. We had to put a key deposit of rmb350 for 2 room keys. Which we got back no problem (keep the receipt).
The room we had (deluxe) was bright,clean and roomy. with fridge, satellite TV and sofa. The room has 3 rooms which is open plan, bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The shower is big,powerful and hot water a plenty. The bed is low down to the floor and a bit hard, like most chinese hotel beds.
Breakfast is average, serving mainly chinese dishes, but you can get an English Breakfast (3 slices of toast, butter and jam, 2 eggs, 2 sausages, 2 bacon and a slice of spam, with coffee and orange juice for an extra rmb12.
You can request an airport pick up service, its FREE so please do so. But the driver will ask you to go on tours with him. DO NOT!!!! He will charge you 4 times the price the tours should be. Bargain with a Taxi outside the hotel. We paid on average rmb20 to hire the taxi the whole day. But the taxi will go off and get other fares while you tour the attractions. Don't worry, he will come back and pick you up.
The location is slap bang between Elephant Trunk Hill (3 minutes walk to right of hotel) and Guillin Lakes (5 minutes walk to left of hotel). We reccommend you do not commit tours with the travel desk at the hotel, extremely overpriced.
I would stay here again. The price is reasonable and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhengzhou
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My husband and I were recommended this hotel by a friend but I would not do the same for anyone else.

First, we booked online for a price of 218 RMB which included the tax and two free breakfasts. We booked at the price versus the lower one of 150 RMB so we could have the breakfast included.

When we went to check in, they said our room rate was 240 and did not include breakfast. We fought them showing the online reservation and they said they had sent an email informing us that the room had changed. They never did send the email. As an apology they sent up bad fruit which we did not eat.

Second, our friend who was traveling with his Chinese girlfriend had to put down a 100 RMB deposit which is fine - when we went to check in - they demanded 400 RMB as a deposit. It was annoying that they expect us laowais to pay more for a deposit and shows that they were taking advantage of us.

The room was not clean and looked like something out of a teenagers IKEA catalouge. The shower did not have a door and the room had no toilet paper! We had to use our own that we carried around. They television also did not work well and there were no English channels.

We thought we would be on the river but they are on a back street so you have no views.

They also stuck us on a floor with a tour group that was extremely loud and people banged on our door several times a night because they thought we were in the tour.

I had a horrible experience here and would advise you to all stay away!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

M'sia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I stayed there for 3 nites with my hubby & 4 yrs old son. Its basicly clean & tidy, spacious. Very comfy stay. Breakfast is above average.
Location : Very convenient to every attraction in Guilin City.
Negative is the bathroom. Its a bit small & need some upgrading work.
The reception was not very helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephwct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilin Plaza Hotel
#149 of 637 in Guilin
99 reviews
Ming Cheng Hotel
#179 of 637 in Guilin
11 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#11 of 637 in Guilin
829 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 637 in Guilin
1,171 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand 0773 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand 0773 Hotel

Property: Grand 0773 Hotel
Address: No.31 Wenming Road, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Starway Grand 0773 Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand 0773 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand 0773 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing