We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Serviceable hotel close to everything you want to see in Guilin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand 0773 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand 0773 Hotel
Ranked #148 of 591 Hotels in Guilin
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Serviceable hotel close to everything you want to see in Guilin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A good value close to all the parks, pagodas, rivers and lakes of central Guilin. Probably because we booked and reconfirmed through China Travel Service, the airport pickup went flawlessly. Staff could use a little more English, but made an enthusiastic effort to help. Chinese breakfast buffet was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    94
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I decided to book this hotel because it offered a complementary pick up from the airport and the hotel was in a good location. Prior to leaving the UK I had received confirmation from the hotel that they would meet us at the airport. This did not happen therefore I believe that the hotel advertises this service to gain your custom. We therefore asked if they would drop us of at the airport to fly back to UK hotel staff refused this request said this was an option only when arriving into Guilin.
We stayed for 13 nights and the rooms are not comfortable at all, ideal if you are only staying a couple of nights. The hotel room is very basic with rock hard mattresses. The bathrooms and the room floor were not always cleaned. In addition I killed a large cockroach next to my bed left it in a prominent position for the cleaner and surprisingly the cockroach was still there for five days prior to flying back to the UK. There was a huge damp patch across two walls with plaster work falling off.
I continually had to ask for toilet paper because the cleaner rarely left us any. I arranged and agreed with the receptionist for a late check out for 16.00 hrs was told it was not a problem usual check out time is 12.00. The hotel requested and were assertive that we vacated our room by 12.30. The hotel staff was very unwelcoming especially staying there for 13 nights they did not say hello or acknowledge us as we passed through the reception area. On the odd ocasion when the cleaner attented to our room a supply of teabags were stolen.I did not mind but I wished she had left some behind

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stag300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Qiryat Ata, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is not bad, just average and you get your money's worth. We had a complementary pick up from the airport which was well coordinated with a nice English speaker emplyee and everything went smooth (though we were prepared to be disappointed after reading other reviews about it). I did have a misfortunate experience in shower room, which got flooded after a nice long warm shower. Aside that the room was clean enough.

The location is good. Walking distance from the night market on Jiaotong Rd. and the bar street (though the last was disappointing on a Thursday night after 11pm. Also there are many turistic sites around such as the Elephant trunk cliff and 7 stars park.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and is the right price but I was pressured to get on board their package boat ride. How so? Well, I got in late, around 11pm and hit the bed soon after. Around midnight my phone rang. It was the tout, I mean my ride that never showed at the airport, wanting me to sign up for the boat ride. How thoughtful, at midnight!
I did end up taking it though and found out how much I was over charged. Much of the time was spent in shopping malls before the ride started.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We selected the Starway Grand largely because of the advertised "complimentary round-trip airport shuttle" among the services. They did send someone to meet our flight -- but made us wait over 2 hours for other guests to arrive before we could leave the airport, so we missed the Li River cruise that was our main reason for coming to Guilin. And upon check-in, we learned that the return airport shuttle is NOT complimentary, but they could charge us 150 yen for a taxi (which locals tell us should cost around 45 yen). Otherwise, hotel is okay. Cute 60's-era rooms with colorful shaggy chairs, the wi-fi works great, and the room has a mini fridge (though it makes a loud buzzing noise). Staff spoke enough English to help us, and the location is great -- 1 block away from the water.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, fun for people-watching and not too noisy (5th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled to Guilin on the 24 January 2013 and stayed one night at Grand 0773. We had free pick up from the hotel from the airport upon arrival. Once we reach the hotel we were straight away checked into our room, even though it was before the check in time. The service from the front desk personnel was very efficient, fast and polite. The location is excellent. You can find good cheap food just across the street from the hotel. And shopping is within walking distance with good choices, reasonable pricing. The night market is also very very near by. So is Kentucky Fried Chicken.

The only disadvantage was they speak very little English. So, if you can speak a bit of mandarin it would definitely be of great use when you are in china.

If I go back to Guilin, I will definitely stay at the Grand 0773 again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 as part of an extended trip in China, over 5 weeks.
This is a good value hotel, not too many frills though.
The weather was unusually cold. We were expecting temperatures of 15C and above, instead it was around 0C, freezing point. The hotel is comfortable, but not set up for winter tourism. There was a large air conditioner/heater in the room which kept us warm enough. The lobby has an area to the side which serves breakfast (Chinese food) and a western style breakfast as an extra. This was just coffee though. Check out what they have in summertime, it may be different.
There are many really good restaurants nearby, the hotel will recommend.
There is a safe box in reception and as we were traveling with cameras and computers (I had equipment as it was a business/holiday trip) we availed of it. They recommend that you do not leave unattended valuables in your room and only open the door after looking through spy-hole, they are security conscious.
We did not like the breakfast much, we are fussy though and like a Western breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful, only one of them spoke any English and our Chinese does not exist. We got by though with phrase books and phone-apps to translate into Chinese.
Recommend the Li River trip (they have a tourist desk) and go up the hill in the Prince's Palace, great views, make sure to bring your camera. The mountains on the back of the 20Y note are on the river Li, exactly the same view as you will get from a boat. The boat trip is the best thing to do here, indeed one of the best things to do in this region of China. You should also visit the rice paddys, great mountain views and villages.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suite or one of the rooms directly below it, they are the larger corner rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveLikeaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#20 of 591 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 591 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 591 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
#11 of 591 in Guilin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand 0773 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand 0773 Hotel

Property: Grand 0773 Hotel
Address: No.31 Wenming Road, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Starway Grand 0773 Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 591 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand 0773 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Grand 0773 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing