We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern & Simple Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand 0773 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand 0773 Hotel
Ranked #147 of 590 Hotels in Guilin
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern & Simple Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked 2 rooms but Reception allowed us to have an early check in to one room first at 9am as the other room is not ready yet. My room is facing back, is quite. We stayed here for 2 nights, this hotel room's are modern, simple & colourful decorated even the room's floor are not carpeted, you still feel the room are clean & looks new with LCD TV & glass Toilet door. When you do a online booking you can request for new renovated room . This hotel is near to downtown very convenient. walking distance to shopping center, restaurant and gardens. At night there is a "Xie Cheng Jie" nearby walking about half an hour to reach.
The only thing is room is without WIFI, you need to go lobby to have WIFI and they will off the lobby lights during night time. left ony the reception counter with light on. But it is safe to have your internet access at the lobby.
For transportation from the hotel to airport, you can ask the travel agent to arrange is abt RMB 180 per van for 1 way.
Opposite the hotel is a shop selling Guilin Mee Hoon Soup, I like the Mee Hoon Soup & fried rice. At nigt there is a roadside stall beside the hotel selling those like " LOKLOK" Hmmmmm ask for spicy one is yummy & tasty.....There is another roadside stall also selling the same "LokLok" just opposite the hotel beside the GUilin Mee Hoon Soup Shop.
Come out from the hotel & turn left then walk straight , at the corner there is a small shop selling porridge like HongKong porridge. Nearby is a market selling fresh fruits too.
I booked this hotel at 30% off with Agoda. not more than RM100 per night is worth the value .

Room Tip: We stayed in 5th floor with all new renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazybird-Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    94
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Grand 0773 Hotel is not a luxurious place, but offers good vaule for money and is definitely something different. Our room was very colourful decorated and made us smile! The reception staff was friendly and although we only stayed one night, we could store our luggage until the departure of our night train for free. This hotel is definitely recommendable for all independent travellers staying in Guilin.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stood two nights in the hotel, and for being China it was still OK, but disappointing for what I expected for the reviews I had read. When I entered I realized it was not what I had in mind, and inside you can feel the Chinese style. The rooms trying to be modern and fashion, but with poor furniture, lirty walls, and dated feeling. The bathroom seemed to be OK, but for the expectations, again was disappointing. The shower inside, had all the front wall with mold, and not really clean. For sure I used flip - flops (even I must say, I only don't use them when being in the hotels I visit for Business purposes). We asked to see another room, and it was smaller and worst bathroom. Location was OK. Walking distance from the Elephhant atraction, and others. We had to be back after three days, on our return from Yangshuo, but when we arrived in Yangshuo, we decided to cancel, and don't go back to the 0773.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stop on a 3 week tour of central China. The location is good, a few hundred meters from Elephant Trunk Hill, with supermarkets, restaurants and cafes all within walking distance. The rooms were decent, in need of a bit of refurbishment but reasonably clean and comfortable. Wifi in rooms doesn't work often but is good in the lobby. A few of the staff speak english but generally it's sign language or ask someone else! We did not eat at the hotel as Little Italian cafe, a 15min walk away served great ginger tea and toasted sandwiches.
Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The view is rubbish but it's much quieter than rooms at the front (main road with plenty of traffic).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jend77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not a bad hotel for the price and location (close to the river).
We took the economy no window room. The rooms are colorful and have good air conditioning.
There is internet in the room but only LAN. WIFI is free in the lobby.
The first room we had seemed to have a drain issue and they changed us once they popped up and smelt it themselves :-)

The front desk doesnt have a great command of the English language BUT there is one lady that does (once you find her you'll keep popping back and she is very helpful).
Dont catch cab sitting outside the hotel - they bump up the starting price. Just flag one down with a meter.

All in all a nice stay for 2 nights we were in Guilin.

No breakfast included and we did struggle to find any nice local cafe for a bit of a western start to the day - but only a small issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a well located hotel at a very god price. The BF is a little bit expensise and the smell in the always is sometime tough to handle but overall good experice. Very god price/quality ratio. The tour agency in the lobby advertise expensive price that can be negociate down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dj_senil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinchang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The good side of thi hotel is that you can find various type of restaurants and shops selling all kinds of food and cater to all budget. The bad side is the hotel would not accept foreign currency as deposit and worst thing you can only change forex at the Bank of China and no where else.

Room Tip: make sure the room heater is working if you are there during winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#21 of 590 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 590 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 590 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 590 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 590 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
#11 of 590 in Guilin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand 0773 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand 0773 Hotel

Property: Grand 0773 Hotel
Address: No.31 Wenming Road, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Starway Grand 0773 Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 590 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand 0773 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand 0773 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing