We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, great location”
Review of Grand 0773 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand 0773 Hotel
Ranked #173 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable, great location”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel had was clean and comfortable - we opted for the business executive rooms since they were still very inexpensive. The location was great, within 5 minutes walking distance to the Elephant Trunk Hill, Sun and Moon Pagodas as well as restaurants and shopping streets.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the business executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aborek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    94
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The good point of this hotel is the location - very convenience. Walking distance (3 min) to Elephant trunk hill park and twin tower (5 min). The room and toilet are clean but we got the room facing the main road and it was terrible non stop car horn, we wanted to have a nap as the day before we got up at 3am to the airport. Bed is hard, flat pillow, toilet and shower area are small and some of the furniture was torn.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room facing the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smkew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I spent two nights here on a weekend trip through Guilin. Their free airport pickup service is great (although more on this later), someone holding a sign with my name met me as I exited the airport, and led me to a minivan where they drove me directly to the hotel. The front desk staff speak limited English, but its generally sufficient as long as you don't need anything unusual from them. I stayed in room 530, which really looked absolutely nothing like the fancy, quirky & colorful pictures posted here on tripadvisor (or the hotel's website). It looked more like they picked up random used furniture at a yard sale. My reservation was for a "business king room" however, what I found was two twin beds. However, the room was clean, and in good condition for the most part. The free internet access worked fine (ignoring China's censorship blockade of some websites). As others have noted the bed was rocky hard, but this is fairly common throughout asia. Both mornings I paid 15Y (about US$3.65) for their Chinese breakfast buffet. It was nothing fancy, but the food was the usual assortment of rice, noodles, and congee, and for the price, I certainly can't complain. They also offered a 50Y "western" breakfast, but I never saw anyone eating it, so I don't know what it constituted.

Upon checking out, the overall experience soured. They sent someone up to check my room, presumably to make sure that I didn't break or steal anything. This is pretty offensive, but so be it. However, when I had the audacity to inquire about getting a ride back to the airport, they informed me that they only provide a complimentary pickup service, and I was on my own to get back to the airport. This is a first for me, as I travel quite extensively all over the world, and I've never stayed anywhere that didn't provide round trip service, if they provided any at all. I then inquired about how I could get to the airport, and they said that there was an airport bus at some location which I knew nothing about (why they assumed that a traveler would know how to find a place that they've never heard of before is a mystery). I asked if they had a map that I could use to get to the bus stop, and they wanted me to pay 6Y. I declined the offer, and left, rather disappointed in how they treat their customers once they've extracted money from them.

I should note that later in the day I stopped in the Sheraton, and while they too did not have a shuttle to the airport, they gladly provided me with a very good street map, and directions on how to find the airport bus. While I readily admit that the Sheraton is an entirely different level of service than this hotel, the way I was treated upon checking out was deplorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We arranged to be collected at the airport by the hotel which was free and were shown to a mini bus with about 8 chinese guests already seated. We spoke to the guide on the way to the hotel and she said she would arrange a trip down the River Li the next day. The hotel was very central and very busy. The staff at reception were very good and in no time at all we were in our room. It was slightly smaller than we expected but very clean. The decoration was very jazzy and we had 2 lime green furry chairs which cheered us up no end!. We found it difficult at first to find our way around Guilin as we had arrived in the dark. We were very hungry so headed to the river to find a restaurant which we did but the menues were in Chinese and no one spoke English - what an adventure. We managed to order some food which was very nice and very cheap. The next night we managed to locate the "walking street" which was more used to tourists and were able to find lots of bars and restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget or not as we spent very little time in the room. The beds were of course very hard but its what you come to expect in China but the rooms were comfortable. It was a little noisy in the corridors very early in the morning as there tended to be chinese coach trips but you are up early to go on your tour in any event so its not really a hassle.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoaniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This property has lovely renewed rooms, quite spacious and very comfortable. It's almost a boutique hotel despite having such attractive rates that might lead to you think it's not that great.

It is also very well located, close to the main city park and in a very nice area.

The staff speaks some good english for the chinese standards.

They also provide a free shuttle servive from and to the local airport!

A place to return if I ever want to have a good base to explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is part of the Starway hotel chain and aptly given the 0773 Starway / Grand Hotel name after the local phone code prefix.
I stayed on the 6th floor in Oct/Nov 2011 for 5 nights. Rooms are pretty small but incredibly clean. They are decorated with various shades of bright and light colors that make the room lively. Rooms are very bright as compared to most other hotels. Even the corridors are painted and lighted brightly. Internet net wired LAN speed is great >4 mbps most of the time so I don't even need the large flat panel TV provided for entertainment. Be warned though that only websites that can get through the Great Firewall of China will you able to enjoy the high speed internet.
Most if not all the great attractions in Guilin are within walking distance or with a max RMB1 bus ride. Taxi fare to hotel from Civil Aviation Building is about RMB7.5. You can enjoy rice noodles just opposite the hotel or western breakfast in the hotel if you are not keen.
I would rate this as a great boutique hotel excellent for young and old couples on personal accounts.

Room Tip: 6th floor is the highest floor if you check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestJohn331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. This was a very nice and clean hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. It has a nice location, is within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_A_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilin Plaza Hotel
#149 of 637 in Guilin
99 reviews
Ming Cheng Hotel
#179 of 637 in Guilin
11 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 637 in Guilin
829 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 637 in Guilin
1,170 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand 0773 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand 0773 Hotel

Property: Grand 0773 Hotel
Address: No.31 Wenming Road, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Starway Grand 0773 Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand 0773 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand 0773 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing