We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road
Ranked #209 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had a confirmation for two nights at 196 per night. They refused to honour the reservation when we got there. But had a room for 400+ per night. We went elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank homealone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

Please be careful. It seems there is a New Century Hotel in Guilin and also in nearby Yangshuo. We stayed in New Century Guilin, and although they claimed to be "new", there was nothing close to new. It is a short bus trip from the centre of the city. It was clean with reasonable service, however somewhat out of town. Computer access at extra cost, few local restaurants for tourists. Yangshuo New Century may well be quite different.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lycetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here as part of a group tour in China. The hotel was rated by the group as one of the best that we had stayed in over the two week holiday. It is ideally situated within easy walking distance of the main shopping street (West Street),and the market stalls which really come alive at night. and where good food can be had at very reasonable prices. The hotel rooms were nicely furnished and located around a square overlooking the restaurant. There was also a small bar with very friendly service. Reasonably priced internet access is available in the Business Centre. Nearly all the guests were western as the hotel is very popular with western tour groups which may or may not be to everyone's taste. There was a good choice of western and Chinese food for breakfast. We ate very well in the market and restaurants in West Street but did not sample the dinner menu in the hotel.
I would recommend hiring bicycles at the hire place located just outside the hotel. The cycle into the countryside gives a glimpse into life on the local farms and is not physically very demanding. The surrounding scenery is also very beautiful. .
I would also strongly recommend the 'Light' show which is advertised on posters in the hotel. It takes place on a section of the Li river about five miles outside the town. There are regular bus tours which can be booked through the hotel. The theatre stage is the river with the seats arranged above it. The show lasts for about an hour and is truly stunning in its use of light, colour and music. It has a cast of hundreds. It is the inspiration of the Chinese film directior, Zhang Yimou who is also directing the opening ceremony of the 2008 Olympics. The show is very popular with local Chinese, many of whom seem to travel in group tours from Guillin to see the show. They appear also to be instructed to leave a little early to avoid the traffic jam on the way out. Be prepared, therefore, for a mass exodus in the last five minutes - before the show ends! Overall, however, the show is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank h1st0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

Our local travel agent booked this hotel for us since we just needed a place for the night that could get us tickets for the Li River cruise in the morning. The travel agent had also pre-reserved our boat tickets at 220RMB per person. Upon arriving at the hotel, the English speaking travel staff (his English name is John) told us that our agent had booked us the lowest trip, that it would be full of dirty people and drunks etc etc. He even went so far as to tell us that the hotel hadn't booked any tickets for this boat in more than 6 months. He wanted to sell us tickets for a 'deluxe' trip that was more than twice our original cost.

Fortunately we stuck to our plan and he reluctantly (and after nearly an hour of arguing!) gave us our tickets. The next day the boat tour we booked picked us, and 15 other people, up from the hotel. It was a lovely cruise and quite frankly I couldn't tell the difference between the regular and 'deluxe' boats at the dock.

Other than that, the rooms were poor quality. Beds were hard, A/C didn't work well, and the bathroom was very dirty. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ParallelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Yangshou is the end point for most tourists coming from the boat cruise on the Ly river through the scenic landscape of the Guilin mountains. After the heat on the boat and the low-quality food the New Century Hotel in Yangshou was a pleasant surprise. It is a good three star hotel, nice Chinese decor of the deluxe rooms. Food in the restaurant is good, while breakfast was less than average in terms of quality and choice. The staff is very friendly, helpful and most speak reasonable English. The location of the hotel is great, the night snack market is just in front of the hotel and the city’s main streets (for shopping, cafés and restaurants) are in easy walking distance. However, if you are sensitive to noise, you better ask for a room to the backside, since street and market can be a bit noisy at times. There was a huge safe in the room, suitable for laptops but no internet access and no direct-dial telephone. But don’t forget – you are in China!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

This was a really nice hotel in a very convenient location in Yangshuo (5 minute walk to New West street). We had booked a standard non-smoking room but were upgraded (at no cost) to a business room because they had run out of standard non-smoking rooms. The business class room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, with a great view. The Western breakfast included in our rate was small in selection but quite adequate and very good (eggs and pancakes were cooked fresh, on demand, with a wide selection of fruits, cereals, breads and muffins). The lobby is not air-conditioned, but the rooms were, as well as the dining area. A bustling night market sets up adjacent to the hotel, and bicycle rentals were available from the park lot. Large, clean washrooms and BBC world service on the television made this a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
173 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Oasis Inn
#8 of 52 in Guilin
25 reviews
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 657 in Guilin
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road

Address: No.119 North Zhongshan Road, Guilin 541001, China (Formerly New Century Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $24 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Guilin North Zhongshan Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing