We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is not allergy persons !”
Review of Ronghu Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ronghu Lake Hotel
Ranked #207 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Hotellin huoneet olivat kehnot, vaihdoimme huonetta 2 kertaa, ennen kuin löyty sen tasoinen huone, jossa voi yöpyä 3 yötä. Huoneissa oli tunkkainen haju- hometta ? kahdessa ensimmäisessä huoneessa oli verhoissa hometta, ikkunat olivat sisäpuolelta vetiset, tapetit olivat kuprulla monesta kohtaa ja katossa oli tummia läikkiä- home/kosteusvaurioita ? en todellakaan suosittle henkilöille, joilla on vähäistäkin allergiaa !! Aamiainen oli ok, hinta/laatusuhde hyvä, palvelu aamiaishuoneessa hyvä, hotellin aluatilat ok ja matkatoimiston palvelut asialliset. Vastaanottohenkilökunta oli ystävällistä, mutta kun jouduttiin vaihtamaan huoneita, palveluntaso laski selvästi.
Kokonaisuudessa hotellin hinta/laatu- sekä tähtiluokitus ei ihan osu kohdalleen, en voi suositella.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

We booked this hotel fairly last minute, and there was very little available in Guilin. This was the only mid-priced hotel available for internet booking. We booked through the travelchinaguide.com website, as this hotel wasn't available anywhere else. The 1st problem we had was with the booking, which isn't instantaneous, and we received an e-mail the next day to say a room was available, but at £50 per night as opposed to the advertised £40. However, it was still the cheapest 4 star in Guilin, so we booked.

The location was fine, a little out of town, but still just a few pounds in a taxi to the town centre. It's by a lake, with an impressive entrance, so a nice setting. The hotel reception area is fine, but not great.

The reception staff speak little English, and you're likely to have to wait till the person who speaks English can be found to help you, unless you speak decent Mandarin. At first we thought they were rude, but we figured out they were just a bit nervousand unsure about speaking English. We had quite a few communication problems.

There are two sections to the hotel, and we were given a room in the section across a courtyard from the reception. They'll lend you an umbrella if it's raining, but it's a bit of a hassle to trek over to the reception if you're key stops working, which mine did a couple of times.

The corridor to our room smelt damp, and looked poorly maintained. The decor was also very dated. The room itself was faily clean, not the standard I'd expect from a 4 star. There were some mouldy bit of grout around the shower - but I'm fussy - I'm sure most would find it perfectly fine. The decor in the room was very dark and dated, and furniture looked cheap. The curtains were nasty nylon, and didn't have blackout linings. They're fairly thick curtains, but the sun is likely to wake you.

They advertised room service as being available, but there was no menu in the room, and noone I spoke to over the phone spoke enough English to allow me to order. I went to the restaurant in the end, and spoke to a waiter. He took me out to the front desk to get a translator! He was very pleasant, and I managed to order my food, but it took a while. The food was good, but pricey - close to £10 for one course, which is hugely expensive for China.

I'd advise you to avoid this hotel if you have another option, and book early, as there isn't a huge choice of accomodation in Guilin. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in China, and it was by far the worst.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Arrived at approx 2am due to flight delays. Still had to pay full price.
This was a very luxurious hotel with very comfortable king size bed – not hard like most beds in China. Free internet with computer in the room. Overlooked the river. Magnificent. Only stayed for the one night as the price was outside our budget. However the price $100AUD this was better than most 5 STAR hotels in Australia. Definitely recommended if the price suits your budget.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filthyrichfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Used Elong to book. Would've been perfectly content with this hotel if it hadn't been for our return trip where it was full and stayed at the Universal. Stayed 2 nights at both hotels sandwiched around 4 days in Yangshuo. The concierge desk is useless as it is occupied by 2 young girls who speak NO ENGLISH and giggle with blank stares. Luckily, there is a woman who occupies a desk near the front glass doors that does speak English and was very helpful to us. The breakfast buffet is awful even though they claim it's western and the price is ridiculous. Eat your meals elsewhere! The room was nice but with a horrible view. The business center was not operated well. Couldn't get massage information from the staff. I highly suggest staying at the 3 star Universal!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdd1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

You can see that the hotel was a nice hotel but now is run down, is very umkept. We had made a reservation for three people and got a confirmation with the price, we confirmed the price for three people in an email and we had all that in written but when we arrived in the hotel we were asked to pay about 50% more for the extra bed. We did not take it and the three of us managed somehow with two single beds, towels etc for two.
We came back to the hotel some days later and this time they fumigated the hotel with a very streong poisonus liquid, at 11 in the evening when people were still coming and going, everyone left the hotel coughing. We checked out immediatly and went to a different hotel. No sorry or any consideration from the manager director with whom we talked to find out what was happening.
Not reccommended at all specially since there are many nice and affordable hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahcolombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank YAygul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
177 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 657 in Guilin
155 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 657 in Guilin
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ronghu Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronghu Lake Hotel

Address: No.16 North Ronghu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $28 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ronghu Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ronghu Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing