We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WARNING: NO AIR CONDITIONING DURING DAYTIME” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tai Lian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tai Lian Hotel
Ranked #21 of 591 Hotels in Guilin
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WARNING: NO AIR CONDITIONING DURING DAYTIME”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

The air conditioning is controlled centrally. They decide when you need it and when you don't. Even in sweltering weather, they turn on the air conditioning at ~7:00 pm and turn it off anywhere between 3:00-6:00 am (I am writing this at 8:30 am from inside the hotel and the a/c has been off for a few hours; my inside room temperature is already 23 centigrade and the sun is only just coming up). In other words, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING on during the daytime, when the temperatures are well above 30 centigrade. When I complained, I was told that guests are out touring during the daytime and no guest has ever complained about not having air conditioning during the daytime.

I'm packing up today and moving to another hotel. I regret moving otherwise, as the service is good. Everything is basic and otherwise okay. However, it is deceptive and cruel to turn off the air conditioning and make the room you are paying for uninhabitable during the daytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MahjongHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

A cautious message to all members!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We were staying in hell through the night. The rooms were smelly, opaque windows, hard mattress, noise from the street throughout the night. All of us, in 2 rooms, were coughing through the night because the air inside filled with cigarette and stench. We were unable to sleep at all.

So members, STAY AWAY############

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHLEOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed in the hotel during easter in 2010 and I'd say it was decent. nothing too special, but I wasn't expecting much so I was quite pleased with the hotel. The rooms were clean although a bit old fashioned and the location of the hotel was relatively good. Walking distance from the river and several restaurants nearby, although the food I had was not that special. They offer some basic room service with chinese and a few western items but I'd rather go and try out some Guilin Mi Fen on a side street.

I'm almost repeating myself by saying that the service was nothing special, but that's how this hotel was. In general I'd say it's a decent hotel and I wouldn't mind staying there again. Just don't expect anything too fancy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

Enjoyed or Stay.

Beds were hard as in every China Hotel, but survivable. Mr. Fun, the Assistant Manager of the Hotel speaks really good English and made out stay very enjoyable. He gave suggestions and advice on tours, gave directions, helped us find things and even went with us to help us on occasion. What a nice man. He is the best. We recommend you stay here as it is on the main street close to everything. Tours leave from the front door of the hotel as they come get you at your hotel. Great tours in this area and lots to see. The Hotel is clean and has a great restaurant buffet. We tried it and they were so nice to cater to us and even made some american food-like dishes for us in addition to the buffet.
Excellent Price even during Spring Festival. Thank you. Thank you Tai Lian Hotel staff.

Jay and Dana Thelin,
English Teachers from Jinan, China and hailing from Utah in America.

  • Liked — The service was the best.
  • Disliked — Hard Bed.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.2 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#10 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 591 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shan Hu Hotel
Shan Hu Hotel
#155 of 591 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tai Lian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai Lian Hotel

Property: Tai Lian Hotel
Address: No.12 Middle Zhongshan Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 591 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tai Lian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tai Lian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing