We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Elephant Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Elephant Hotel

Golden Elephant Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guilin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Elephant Hotel
Ranked #144 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golden Elephant Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at the Golden Elephant for 2 nights and booked online as we needed an early check in as we were arriving in the morning on the sleeper train from Shenzen. This was no problem and they let myself, my husband and our 2 year old check in at 8am. They even had a baby cot ready for us.

The location was good but the room was very tatty and worn and the beds very hard. The view was of the back of the building and air con units and high rises, not very inspiring but quiet.

The room got very hot and stuffy during the day but even though there was aircon the hotel staff were very reluctant to turn it on at the main controls. Every time we asked they said it was broken and would come on at 6 or 7pm, when it was cooler and not needed. We complained and amazingly it started working again, this happened several times each day. The hot water also seemed to have this problem and we had to ask for it to be turned on to enable us to shower.

The staff are very difficult and seem to understand English perfectly some times and not at others.

Okay stay but I would advise to check out the other hotels in the area before deciding to stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LauraWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2008

This was the best hotel we stayed at during a 3 week trip to China (but considering some of the places we stayed this is not saying much). We spent 3 nights at the hotel and found it to be reasonably clean and our room was light, airy and spacious. The veiws from our window to the elephant rock were beautiful. The hotel staff were quite helpful. The only real criticisms were that the air conditioner did not work (in 35deg + temps) and the breakfast was disappointing. The outside balcony cafe was closed most of the time and the staff took a dim view of us sitting out there while trying to escape the heat of our room in the late evening.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank cocka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2007

Located just steps from the Li River, the Golden Elephant Hotel (Jin Xiang Hotel) is quiet and convenient. The rooms are a bit dingy, but quite nice overall, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The staff is quite helpful, and can speak decent English. The cafe was empty the whole time we were there, giving it a desolate vibe. There are plenty of great little cafes nearby, though.

  • Liked — The location was calm, the view from the window was nice.
  • Disliked — The lighting was dingy, dirty hallways.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2006

Having previously read poor reports from this site we were not expecting much, however we were pleasantly suprised. We arrived late and left early but had chance to look and around and have a drink on the terrace in the hotel, very nice. Next to the river, it was lit up at night and was very pleasant. Rooms were very spacious and were comfortable. This is a mid range hotel and meets those requirements.

  • Liked — Good Location, nice staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieSkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

We spend 2 nights in this hotel coming from Yangshuo. We stay in a standard double room with tween beds for 310 RMB per nights.

Breakfast is Russian Siberia likely, very sad and cheap..

Position is OK but try to find another hotel at that price

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gengiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

We stayed at the Golden Elephant Hotel for 2 nights on the way to and from Beijing. There are better 3 star hotels available in the area so unless you really are forced to stay here I would give it a wide berth. The whole hotel has a depressing, dark and run down atmosphere and the rooms are cramped and not that clean. The first room we were given (until we complained and were moved) was dirty (particularly the walls and carpets), and when the electricity went off (a common occurrence) we found we were right opposite the emergency diesel generator and the noise is overwhelming - be warned, when the power does go down, you are left with only 2 small lights in the room; hardly enough to see by - but rest asssured, the reception area and restaurant blaze away! We visited the hotel in Winter - there is no heating before 8pm (which is no joke when the temperature is well below zero) and when it does finally switch on, the vent seems to be fed directly from the kitchen as the stench of fried food is overwhelming. The amount of heat is so small that its hardly worth bothering with anyway. On the plus side the bedding is clean and the beds are comfortable.

Helpful?
7 Thank PhilLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#11 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wada Hostel
#1 of 191 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#10 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Elephant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Elephant Hotel

Property: Golden Elephant Hotel
Address: No.36 Binjiang Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Elephant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Golden Elephant Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing