We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A light lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American BBQ Sportsbar and Grill

American BBQ Sportsbar and Grill
Ranked #12 of 307 Restaurants in Guilin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We sell the best bbq ribs, chicken, steaks, and many sandwiches.We offer a great Chinese menu also. Our sports include NFL, NBA, NHL, NASCAR, SOCCER, RUGBY, ETC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We wanted a quick lunch and the Pizza (145 CNY) and French fries were adequate. We ordered a thin crust with pepperoni and 1 German beer and 1 Margarita cocktail. The cocktails in China are not the same as in the West, but the cocktail here was different and was made by the boss. I would describe it as a very potent slushy with a tiny piece of lime. But boy did it pack a punch!

The pizza was just okay and was filling. The base had a lot of tomato sauce on it and I would have liked more pepperoni. That and the fries were very hot and the service quick. It was very clean here and there were tables outside.

If we had had the time it would have been nice to return for dinner to try the steak.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a pizza which was excellent and great value for money. The staff had good English and we were able to sit outside to take in the delights of the evening Guilin streets. There was a good selection on the menu and it's a great 'drop-in' place for when you're struggling with the more local options.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We only went for a drink but I found the drinks very expensive and wasn't impressed with the bar. Food also looked pricey but can't say anything about quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were recently on our way home from visiting Yangshou and stopped at this Restuarant for a meal and a drink! The food was excellent and the people were friendly! I recommend a visit to anyone going to Guilin!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great spot really friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My partner I visited this bar last september when we visited guilin. We called in for a quick drink on the way back to our hotel. Turned out brad and his wife were just in the process of opening and were just having some friends in that night.

But we were welcomed with open arms and friendship from brad himself and his friends in the bar. We got to try brads pulled pork which was fantastic with an amazing bbq sauce brad made himself. He takes real care to order quality meat and brings some of it from the states to guarantee quality. We had a great night with a great host and good company all round.

Brad if you're reading this we're the two brits that called in just after you opened around August september 2013 for a few beers. Glad to see you're getting good reviews. Thoroughly well deserved. I hope we see you again next time we're back in China. We'll definitely pay you a visit if we're in guilin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American BBQ Sportsbar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to American BBQ Sportsbar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing