We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel during the Easter break. The location of hotel is excellent as it is just beside the lake and surrounded with many restaurants and near to underground shopping mall. The staff is polite while the rooms are clean and spacious.
We have arranged with the travel agent in the hotel for car pick up on arrival. We joined a day tour to Longji Rice Terrace via the same Travel Agent. It took 3 hours to go there and 3 hours back to hotel as the bus needed to pick up all the passengers from different hotels in the city. It is still worthwhile to go there despite the rainy and foggy weather.
At 8.30 pm, there will be a splendid 10-minute waterfall show just outside the huge window screen of the hotel. At night the two pagodas within the lake are lighted up very beautifully. We did not take the boat ride as we can see beautiful night view by simply strolling along the lakeside. We did not eat in the hotel as there are so many restaurants to pick in surrounding areas.
Overall I would say this hotel is good for a short stay or stopover due to its convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    465
    134
    28
    18
See reviews for
103
240
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to be able to walk right out your door to the pedestrian walkways with restaurants, bars, and night market... PLUS gorgeous views of the lake and pagoda.... this is the place. It is palacial.. a great place for banquets and weddings, from what we are seeing... A 9 story atrium, lovely attentive service (i couldn't open my wine .. and they sent someone up to help me LOL)
Breakfast is a large buffet accomodating all needs... I saw a separate buffet set up for aa group from India... And craziest of all. the wholle hotel turnsinto a living waterfall, all stories from the outside in gorgeous colors and visible also from the inside bars and banquet rooms... oh, and the room is large, good bath amenities. Downside? the cocktails are a bit steep in Modern Bar.. to offset go for a great meal right across the street LI river.. for BBQ welks, snails... and other good more known dishes for under $20 for 2.

Room Tip: ask for a LAKE or River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyC282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed her in April 2011. The location was excellent and it had a Japanese restaurant on the side which served excellent Japanese food. The hotel rooms were huge and we had a corner room and saw part of the river. The bed is comfortable and 4-5 star local star. There is a show every night at 8pm outside the hotel where water will trickle down the side of the hotel. Next to the hotel is a basement pedestrian shopping mall, it is huge. U can get items such as slippers, clothes, manicure, embroidery etc v cheap. We did not breakfast as it was not included in the deal from Agoda. Reception was huge and there was ample staff to deal with check in. It was crowded at certain times as we loitered at the lobby deciding whether to buy direct from the hotel or agoda. It was cheaper to buy direct but I had points to redeem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel not only was awesome the location was amazing!! It's central to everything and I must say this city is BEAUTIFUL! Service was great, they were very helpful and I was quite surprised that there staff spoke english considering the hotel in Beijing nobody spoke a word of english. The dinner food wasnt good at all but the breakfast buffet was enjoyable. My favourite city in China therefore I will definitely return to this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaikaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not 5 stars by Hong Kong, Shanghai or Tokyo standards. But the rooms are kept clean and the bathrooms and beddings are on par with many 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The hotel is in the center of Guilin and so it is very convenient for day trips. Bookings costs are typically (everthing is negotiable if you have the right connection) are well below Shanghai or Beijing and you should be looking in the $100-$150 per night for a room range.

The hotel services for tourists are good, but fairly overpriced by local standards. As my wife is Chinese, we stopped using the hotel services the day after we arrived and simply worked with local drivers and agents.

Also, the "waterfall" part of the hotel was being repaired when we stayed there (New Year 2013) so I cannot comment on that. My sense is that it has been under repair for some time. The lobby could use more places to sit down as well. Don't expect much from the "coffee shop"; there is no Western food whatsoever, but the "dim sum" menu is better that most places we ate in Guilin. Bring your own coffee (this is of course a basic rule in all places in China outside Beijing and Shanghai).

Guilin is a beautiful place but the city is not very attractive and the weather is overcast much of the year. If you are lucky enough to get a clear, sunny day, use that for the Lijiang River Cruise or a bamboo raft trip--both are terrific. Please see my separate reviews on other attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel facing the river. You will get excellent views of two pagod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abacae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely room, clean , big, basket fruit,...great spot...breakfast great... coffee bar made great cappuccinos , lattes etc...
across from lake beautiful walk at night, and the walking street right next door...
not too mention the waterfall show at 8pm every night..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

As many reviewers point out, the location is great - so it's very popular with convention groups but if you're not there with a group, you're on your own. Breakfast is not good although the coffee bar makes fine cappucino. The bedroom was standard Chinese four star quality, which is better than most American hotels except for the luxury brands, but the public rooms are often smoke-filled and crowded. So you need to get out and explore ! The lake and all the downtown attractions are on your doorstep so it's worth just sleeping at the hotel and eating and drinking elsewhere. Most of the receptionists don't speak much English and can be very slow, so it's useful to have Chinese-speaking friends to help. But you have to hope that you don't arrive at the same time as an insurance convention group (as I did !). The arrival concourse was blocked to all traffic, so my car couldn't get near to drop me off, leaving me to lug suitcases across street, sidewalk and foyer because the concierges and porters were swamped and the receptionists were shouting at guests to make themselves heard over the noise of several hundred happy insurance conventioneers. Basically this is an OK hotel for reasonable rates in a great location, so it depends what's important to you. Peaceful and quiet, it's not !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#12 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Property: Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guilin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing