We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good clean hotel and the waterfall over the hotel was fantastic. It is at 8.15 every night for fifteen minutes.Our room overlooked the square although the twin pagodas are just across the road by the lake. There is a beautiful walk around the lake as well.Well worth it. Same as many cities people come out at night to dance,perform and walk it is just wonderful and we felt really safe and enjoyed watching the passing parade of city life. There are many restaurants around the hotel but you need to book as it gets very busy. We had drinks in the beautiful bar area and watched a wedding then had dinner at the chinese restaurant. Was a bit odd as the tables only seat about eight people so two was a bit weird. Food was good but not the best we have had. Breakfast was okay. They dont have western spoons so dont waste you breath. We asked for coffe and the young kids seemed more concerned with chatting each other up than serving the patrons. I eventually gave up and went looking myself.Across the square in an underground market. We got a few great bargains and we were definitely the odd ones out down there. definitely for the locals....but we were very welcome.

Room Tip: Would choose the Pagoda view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel just didn't deliver what it appeared to promise, ie 5 star service. The location and views were certainly spectacluar, the waterfall was fun, though one viewing was enough and the room was fine without being special.

So what was wrong? It was so busy that every single serivce seemed to be strained to breaking point. Breakfast was very average and finding a table that was cleared and set was quite a challenge, one morning we returned to our table, bowls of cereal in hand, to find other guests instructing the staff to clear our plates so that they could have a table.

The coffee shop was constantly booked out for weddings and other functions and was not available during either the day or evening at any time during our four night stay. The other restaurants were booked out by large tour groups and there also seemed to be a large sales event or convention going on. The lobby area and lifts were very busy and extremely noisy. We were out seeing the sights during the day and it was quite a relief to be away.

It would seem that the hotel focus is not on individuals (or couples), but rather on the mass market, which does not sit comfortably with its purported 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Try an get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent 2 nights here, but can't remember the room #. The view overlooked the lake with a beautiful pagadoda, the mountains that had a sunset veiw that took my breath away. It was on the 12th floor, facing west. Room was large, well appointed bathroom, t.v.,quiet and clean. All the great amenities. Fantastic lobby and 2nd floor with restaurants, shops, market, just about everything. The location was perfect. Shopping, restaurants, local street vendors, lakeside, great walking and things to do. Great buffet breakfast with many options. Nightly waterfall show with lights nightlly.

Room Tip: west, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Lijiang Waterfall Hotel.

We booked for a room on the Executive floor. After checking in, we entered our room and was literally choked with smoke smell. The earlier guest must have either smoked non-stop or he was smoking some strong cigar.

We immediately went back to reception to request for non-smoking room. We were informed that Executive rooms are only located on the 5th floor and all rooms on 5th floor are smoking rooms. We were offered to change to 9th floor room, which is non-smoking but much smaller than 5th floor rooms. At the same time, we were informed that we may need to top-up for the new room as it has a better view.

I login to their website and confirmed that this wasn't true, in fact the rooms on the 9th floor are supposed to be slightly cheaper than 5th floor. After showing them the facts, we were given the new room without rate change. Since I have already prepaid for the room, I didn't want to insist on reducing the room rate as I do not want to spoil my mode by getting into a heated argument.

Although the 9th floor room was much smaller, we were happy as we did not have to suffer breathing the foul air.

Bed was comfortable. Room lived up to 5-star rating.
Breakfast was included but you can call it a miss. We went out for breakfast instead.

Location is good. Plenty to walk and see near the hotel.

Overall, it is quite a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking rooms, DO NOT bother to book Executive floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Executive Deluxe room with breakfast from Booking.com. The spacious room has computer with free Internet access, fruits & international TV channels to name a fews. The bed is soft & comfortable. Our room facing the Square where the waterfall released every night at 8.30pm. For free WIFI, go to level 2 lobby or near the Western Restaurant. No WIFI in the room. Our room has the access to executive lounge where they served afternoon tea from 2.30pm to 7.00pm. Quite good selection with coffee, tea, 6-7 type of pastry & fruits. Free WIFI in the lounge as well. We utilized hotel indoor swimming pool & it was excellent. Swimming cap is required. It can be purchased at RMB10 or just borrow it from the counter if you don't mind. Western breakfast was good with selection of salads, sausage, eggs, bacon, bread/pastry, fruits & local selection such as congee, noodle & "pau". Not many hotel in Guilin served Western breakfast, so I am happy with my selection.

Beside the hotel is Zhengyang Pedestrian Street for shopping, food & people watching. Few shops selling local products at reasonable price if you are looking for some to bring home. The Thai Restaurant where we had our lunch & dinner is really good with plenty of selections. Their pandan chicken is top. They lunch hour closed at 2.30pm.

In front & opposite the hotel is where the Gold & Silver Tower located. Night view of the Tower is amazing. You can get a Lake View room to enjoy the view.

This 5 star hotel is bit pricey but it is worth for the services, location & facilities. At about USD180 per night for exec room with breakfast from booking.com, I am happy with what I get.


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AugustChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on our way to Yangshuo, pleasantly surprised by Guilin and will return. The hotel is comfortable, a bit worn and musty; sheets felt damp as the air con sets back when you leave the room and so the humidity creeps up. But as other reviewers have said, the staff is friendly and their English is good. Very convenient location for exploring the city by foot.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

hotel that actually contains everything inside:
a spa (good one, I tried a foot massage), a big pool.
a wetern restaurant - nice food (tried it on a rainy day)
great view, big rooms, money exchange, shops...
exchange - was a bit rough, they check that the money you exchange from are brand new
if no - they don't accept it.
if it has something written on it, or wrinkled - not accepted.
in one word: LUXURY.
location is good -close to the market center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,238 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 657 in Guilin
217 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 657 in Guilin
151 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 657 in Guilin
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guilin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $59 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing