We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yeah !”

Kali Mirch (black pepper) Indian Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 313 Restaurants in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Oh yeah !”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

As a curryholic I saw the reviews on here and decided that I must try it whilst I was in town. It is not easy to find but is worth the search. The food reminded me of the good honest old curry houses of the UK 20 years ago, before they started with fancy names for the food and equally fancy prices to match. The flavours were excellent, the portions good, the breads cooked in a tandoor and the tandoori dishes well marinated. I enjoyed it so much I went twice in the three days I was there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeOfCumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    74
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want a change from the local cuisine?”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have enjoyed many great Chinese meals this holiday but today decided to eat Indian and are very glad we did. Cooked to our spiciness rating, tender beef, authentic full flavours , wonderful friendly staff. Great value. What more could you want?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you deserve it !”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am glad to find it behind SHERATON hotel .its not easy to find an indian restarant in guilin !this is a small but cozy restaurant .I ordered chicken tikka masala with plain naan bread and biriyani ,the flavour of curry so amazing,I think I couldnt foget it anymore,I was surprised at naan bread ,huge and tasty.I couldnt help to had it more again .the chef looks like a young boy but have nice cooking skill .come on,buddy !enjoy your meal here

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
1 review
“'The foof make us feel happy'”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we had dinner in this small indian restaurant ,we finished eveything we had,cause the food really yummy.its most deliciouse food we have ever tried in China! Thanks for the nice cookng and service impressive us ! we highly recommend the indian restaurant to others!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

the rave reviews on TA brought us to this restaurant as we wanted something else than Chinese food. Very small restaurant in food alley behind Sheraton, no other customers. Presentation of food was awfull, just looked like a bowl of grey porridge or something like that. Taste was ok (5 ot of 10) but far from what we expected and a lot lower quality than you get for example in the UK.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kali Mirch (black pepper) Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Guilin, Guangxi
Guilin, Guangxi
 

Been to Kali Mirch (black pepper) Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing