We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel was recommended but it was rather poor for a beautiful city like Guilin. breakfast very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Joyce Coffetel Guanguang Branch
Ranked #153 of 648 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed November 3, 2013

But the most terrible thing is the tour agency in the lobby of the hotel and that belongs to the hotel (apparently). They organised two tours for us: they are very expensive and do not deliver what they promised. we had to pay for a tour conducted totally in chinese, with so called english interpreter but they were not able to give us any explanation in English.
the restaurant where we had lunch during the second day was very dirty and the food unsafe (I was sick and had to cure my stomach for a couple of weeks).
It is too bad for a country like China which is counting on its tourism to accept this type of behaviour from its tour agents and hotels.

Room Tip: it is better to look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and outstanding room standard.
Very friendly staff.
At reception good English language skills.
At breakfast Westerners are segregated from Chinese guests and receive a poor service with very limited food selection.
The situation was perceived like in Apartheid time or before 1950 in the US. Very sad!
The same we experienced in Yangshuo Leisure Inn Hotel.
Completely different to many other experiences in various Chinese hotels.
This needs urgent improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

No luxury to expect here but for that price room is still in very good shape and absolutly OK to stay in here for a night rest. Hotel is of course only for night rest nothing additional to expect. But in Guilin you anyway not for the hotel.
15 min walk into city centre taxi easy to get as well back to the hotel. price around 10-20RMB.
had no breakfast heard from my parents is acceptable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although the room was fine (clean and quit) it was frustrating to get room service or really anything that required communication with those involved. The restaraunts food was fine, and as long as I could point to what I wanted. I did not encounter any staff that could speak any English. Maybe that is expecting to much being that this is China? Maybe a little arrogant of me as a native English speaker? For those on foot the location could be better for access to tourist venues.

My experience of the bed in my room was fine. I have read a lot about how the beds are so hard???? Not my experience. Some staff seemed put off by me trying to communicate with them to get something I wanted, like coffee, matches, etc. I am not sure though if that is the culture or if they where just being rude.

Overall, with exception of location, I would stay here again. The price was good, the room as well as rest of hotel was clean, food was decent to. Really what else could you want???? At under 70.00 Canadian Dollars a night?

Room Tip: The standard rooms are fine as they are unless you are after a view. You just need to go outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff do not speak English and the service is very poor. The continental breakfast is just ok and the moneys worth. It is not centrally located and away from the Indian restaurant.
The bed n pillows are very hard and we had a difficult time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. The Plaza was not an international luxury hotel but it was clean, the service perfectly adequate and the breakfast was fine. The beds were comfortable. It was a short taxi ride into town where there were plenty of good restaurants. I would come back here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very mediocre, no staff speaks English; non-existing service; very hard beds; most guests were oriental and the breakfast was maily oriental and therefore really unsuitable to western tourists. The situation of the hotel is fairly good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Jingxiang Hotel
#4 of 648 in Guilin
148 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 648 in Guilin
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 648 in Guilin
1,207 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 648 in Guilin
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Joyce Coffetel Guanguang Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Joyce Coffetel Guanguang Branch

Address: No.20 Lijiang Road, Qixing District, Guilin 541004, China (Formerly Guilin Plaza Hotel)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 648 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $42 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — James Joyce Coffetel Guanguang Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your James Joyce Coffetel Guanguang Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing