We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Osmanthus Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$39
$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Wada Hostel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$10
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$67
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Inn(Guilin)
$36
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hostel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$521
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
6
22
45
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
22
45
14
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 100 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms were a decent size and clean. Breakfast runs out fast, even though they are supposed to serve until 9.30, they do not replenish when run out. Not much to see in the immediate area. I was on a escorted group tour, so this was ok for an overnight stay just to grab some sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NessT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are from good quality. Some reception staff are friendly & nice, but some others are rude (specially young male receptionists). The rooms with a view to the front of the hotel have a beautifull view onto the river. The breakfast is good, but you have to come early, when you come late, al lot is already finished and the staff do not refill them anymore. No WIFI internet yet, a small setback is that you still have to pay for LAN internet service in the rooms. Almost everywhere in China its WIFI and free of charge.

Room Tip: Front rooms, have a beautifull view on the river. In the evening the gardens around the river are beautifull with colored lights.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Osmanthus Hotel for three nights in September 2012. The location of the hotel is quite convenient, right next to the river walk on the Peach Blossom River. The lobby is big but pretty unassuming. The staff doesn't seem to speak a lot of English and were not overly friendly, nor were they rude. The only request we made of them was for extra pillows, which they handled promptly and without any hassle. The guest rooms, especially overlooking the river, were not spectacular by any stretch, but were just fine. The furnishings were a bit dated and rather worn-looking, but everything was clean. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom shower, and great water pressure. Air conditioning worked just fine. There are refrigerators in the rooms, but no safes. Beds are hard as bricks, which is the standard for China (and which is why the extra pillows). As we were there before the busy season started (and ours was a mid-week stay) there were not many guests in the hotel and so the restaurants either closed very early or had limited menu options, though I understand this changes dramatically in high season. The food was certainly edible -- both Chinese and Western options -- but nothing to write home about. (There is a huge food court with loads of options for dining and entertainment a few kilometers down Zongshan Road -- about 20 minutes walk -- if you don't like your meal choices in the hotel.) There is a medium-sized outdoor pool on the property, which was just below our room's windows. It looked very clean, but we didn't use it (or see anyone else do so) and I have no idea if it was heated or not. There is also a "spa" on property, though we didn't check it out. Overall, this hotel is great if you need an easy and inexpensive (if inelegant) place to stay, and a convenient spot from which to explore all the beauty of Guilin. If you're looking for fancy digs, this isn't your hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only good thing about this place is its location which is by the Peach Blossom River and central to Guilin. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother. The rooms are dated, poorly decorated and one of the walls in our room was mouldy! The hotel staff are brusque and downright rude in some instances.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jysh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an occasion to visit Guilin on a short trip and we stayed at Osmanthus Guilin hotel for 2 nights.On reaching quite late in the night for stay, we had to wait for long time to get our baggage in the room. Upon entry, it took no time to notice that it was an average place to stay and relax.The carpet was old and soiled,emitting some strange and stinky smell. It was far from comfortable.
Bathroom was ok,ok type. Breakfast was good but with a limited spread.
Guilin is such a wonderful city blessed with nature,that we expected the hotel to be at least decent if not luxurious. Anyway, our stay at the hotel was just lukewarm and we may not certainly repeat it.We have requested our tour operator to avoid the hotel if possible

Room Tip: Nothing great to recommend for any international tourist
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews