We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, next to the river.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osmanthus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Osmanthus Hotel
Ranked #242 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Central location, next to the river.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are from good quality. Some reception staff are friendly & nice, but some others are rude (specially young male receptionists). The rooms with a view to the front of the hotel have a beautifull view onto the river. The breakfast is good, but you have to come early, when you come late, al lot is already finished and the staff do not refill them anymore. No WIFI internet yet, a small setback is that you still have to pay for LAN internet service in the rooms. Almost everywhere in China its WIFI and free of charge.

Room Tip: Front rooms, have a beautifull view on the river. In the evening the gardens around the river are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Osmanthus Hotel for three nights in September 2012. The location of the hotel is quite convenient, right next to the river walk on the Peach Blossom River. The lobby is big but pretty unassuming. The staff doesn't seem to speak a lot of English and were not overly friendly, nor were they rude. The only request we made of them was for extra pillows, which they handled promptly and without any hassle. The guest rooms, especially overlooking the river, were not spectacular by any stretch, but were just fine. The furnishings were a bit dated and rather worn-looking, but everything was clean. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom shower, and great water pressure. Air conditioning worked just fine. There are refrigerators in the rooms, but no safes. Beds are hard as bricks, which is the standard for China (and which is why the extra pillows). As we were there before the busy season started (and ours was a mid-week stay) there were not many guests in the hotel and so the restaurants either closed very early or had limited menu options, though I understand this changes dramatically in high season. The food was certainly edible -- both Chinese and Western options -- but nothing to write home about. (There is a huge food court with loads of options for dining and entertainment a few kilometers down Zongshan Road -- about 20 minutes walk -- if you don't like your meal choices in the hotel.) There is a medium-sized outdoor pool on the property, which was just below our room's windows. It looked very clean, but we didn't use it (or see anyone else do so) and I have no idea if it was heated or not. There is also a "spa" on property, though we didn't check it out. Overall, this hotel is great if you need an easy and inexpensive (if inelegant) place to stay, and a convenient spot from which to explore all the beauty of Guilin. If you're looking for fancy digs, this isn't your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The only good thing about this place is its location which is by the Peach Blossom River and central to Guilin. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother. The rooms are dated, poorly decorated and one of the walls in our room was mouldy! The hotel staff are brusque and downright rude in some instances.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jysh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an occasion to visit Guilin on a short trip and we stayed at Osmanthus Guilin hotel for 2 nights.On reaching quite late in the night for stay, we had to wait for long time to get our baggage in the room. Upon entry, it took no time to notice that it was an average place to stay and relax.The carpet was old and soiled,emitting some strange and stinky smell. It was far from comfortable.
Bathroom was ok,ok type. Breakfast was good but with a limited spread.
Guilin is such a wonderful city blessed with nature,that we expected the hotel to be at least decent if not luxurious. Anyway, our stay at the hotel was just lukewarm and we may not certainly repeat it.We have requested our tour operator to avoid the hotel if possible

Room Tip: Nothing great to recommend for any international tourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Dont expect any form of great service. Its a hotel in a good location with average decor and value for money.
Staff does not have any sense of customer relationship. On checking out, they informed us about a missing laundary bag. We told them that it must be somewhere in the room. The staff caused a ruckus and we had to go along with them and search with them to find it on the bed which they could not spot. They apologised for the same.

Room Tip: For those desiring value for money, not a bad deal...no form of personal service should be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at the Osmanthus because it was booked by our tour company. The hotel's location is fine and the rooms are clean but it fails to impress in a number of small ways such as the free drinking water is just the local water boiled and put into a container in the mini bar. The toiletries are minimal and in individual sachets but there are free toothbrushes and toothpaste. The breakfast is spoilt because there is nothing to keep the cooked food warm but there is a good selection (albeit cold) and at least the eggs are freshly cooked.
While the lobby staff are friendly and have good English these qualities stop in the hotel's restaurant. We ate there for lunch and had a very good experience with a wide range of food including duck. My son and I enjoy Asian food and we were both impressed with the quantity and quality.
As other reviews have stated, the furnishings are old, worn and need refurbishing, an English language TV option would also be welcome especially since the majority of guests appear to be western. I don't know when the pool is available but it was closed when we stayed there. Free internet at least in the lobby would also go a long way to lifting the standard of the hotel in comparison with others.

We found the beds to be quite comfy but I like a firm bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, fortunately. But we did eat at the restaurant, and that was a disaster. The only occasion we had food poisoning while we travelled in China.

First impressions count, and I have to say I thought this looked a little more than run down. It is a long time since a good maintenance programme was carried out here. Toilets were little better than the general public toilets - in fact many of them were better.

Lunch was the only meal we had here, and the food was of reasonable quantity and the vegetables seemed to be fresh. But the meats were a concern. Sure enough, 6 hours later 3/4 of our tour was sitting it out in the loo. And it was a serious case requiring antibiotics for at least 4 of the group.

Guilin offers an abundant array of great food places, just make sure you dont choose this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.5 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#5 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.9 mi away
Wada Hostel
Wada Hostel
#1 of 191 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#10 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanthus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanthus Hotel

Property: Osmanthus Hotel
Address: No.77 Zhongshan South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanthus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Osmanthus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osmanthus Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing