We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Universal Guilin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guilin Oasis Inn(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$21
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eva Inn(Guilin)
$54
$32
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$401
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
29
108
64
27
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
108
64
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverwendy wuexcellent locationtea bagshotel roomstayed here for two nightshot showerchinese foodrestaurants and shopswestern styletourxiangsofakettleproslicons
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 239 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel room is filthy - carpet is dirty, mold on the wall and on bathroom ceiling, white towels are blackish with stain. Don't go there.

Room Tip: Our group stayed on the 6th floor and almost all of us had problems with the mold and cleanliness; our tour guide negotiated to move us to the rooms on the 3rd floor, that was better, not perfect, but better (towels still blackish, some rooms still have mold issues)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great location overlooking the river and the bridge, walking distance to cafes and bars, comfortable room with air conditioner that works and a very good breakfast with plenty of options. As a traveller through China this meets all my needs to a high degree!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank wolfsbite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is good overlooking the Li river. The room was clean, and the furnishings were good. However, it was quite noisey. The staff are not very 'people friendly' and could do with extra training on how to deal with tourists and how to cater for their needs. But all in all a reasonable hotel close to many of the sights

Room Tip: Take ear plugs as rooms on roadside can be noisey
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alynthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and enjoyed our stay. The views from the rooms at the front look over the Li river. We had a room on the side, so could see the river with a bit of neck-craning. However, we had an interesting view of the local college entrance and could see a slice of normal life in the mornings, when all the students were off to college and buying their food from street hawkers. The room itself was large and clean, with a decent-sized en-suite. We didn't get internet in our room, so had to use the business centre downstairs, which was very reasonable and never busy. Breakfast could be taken overlooking the river and street. On arrival, we were given breakfast tokens. However, I gather that there is also a Chinese breakfast restaurant, which we were not offered tokens for, it was just assumed we wanted a Western breakfast. This was a shame, as we all enjoyed the Chinese breakfast dishes, and had we known, we would have asked for the other tokens. However, we enjoyed our stay here. It was very easy to walk to other places in Guilin, so was a good base to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snooks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was an excellent hotel with good views over the river. Breakfasts were very good and could be eaten overlooking the road to watch the world go by. Rooms spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews