We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guilin Bravo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Ranked #8 of 609 Hotels in Guilin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of 3 week tour of China. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in. Located beside a lake and a ten minute very pleasant walk around the lake takes you into the pedestrianized city centre. Excellent breakfasts and friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EamonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    409
    199
    35
    13
See reviews for
141
330
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location, great views from the rooms, close to night market and restaurants, friendly staff and helpful English speaking reception. Secure hotel in a secure area of the city.

Ready supply of taxi's outside all the time.

Negatives would be room layout, and slightly noisy plumbing.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turpan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

For once a true 4 star hotel in China. It's 2 main assets are

1) Its location. Not only is it beside a great lake with gardens and paths along the lakeside, but it is also around the corner (a short walk around the block) from the large night market, and a number of good restaurants - including two good halal muslim restaurants (something hard to find in most China cities).

2) Its service - efficient English speaking reception and friendly staff throughout.

Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on restaurants etc.

Plenty of taxi's waiting outside the hotel, even late night and early morning.

Two small negatives -- the room was poorly laid out. When sitting at the desk (using computer) access to the other side of the room was completely cut off for the other person. Whilst the area near the window was a heap of empty space.

And the tour franchise in the lobby simply did not want to know when we had to change air tickets at the last moment (the franchise problem, not the hotel - but it reflects).

I would stay there again in Guilin.

Room Tip: request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raziyanmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were pleased to be staying at a hotel directly opposite the lake. Within minutes we could be walking along the path around the lake on our way to the central area of town. The walk is safe to undertake day or night.

The staff were helpful even though in some cases their English was limited.

The room was spacious and comfortable - our room had a decent desk which we found very useful.

We ate in the hotel on one night and ate in the Chinese restaurant trying several local dishes - all well presented and tasty.

The hotel has an outdoor pool which appears to be well set up, we would have used if the weather had been warmer.

Guilin was such a scenic restful place we wished we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: ask for non- smoking if you are from a country where indoor smoking is permitted. You usually get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanJane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon arrival we discovered the Guilin Bravo was dated, a little shabby, and very hurried (due to an abundance of tour busses). But by the end of our stay we realized it was a good place to spend our one-night stopover in Guilin.

Our room was clean but old, tired and had a distinct musty odor that was somewhat masked by an overpowering floral/perfume smell. Be aware that the hotel caters to large domestic and international tour groups. We had the unfortunate pleasure of being on a floor with a large domestic tour group that was up very late and was noisy in the halls – which meant we could hear everything. The bathroom was fine except the showerhead is very low and not well placed for taller guests.

The breakfast buffet was adequate with hot/cold options from both Western and Chinese cuisines that also included coffee, tea, and juices. Overall the food was average; nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night and checked in at about 1am. Room is very clean but design is very kitsch - purple and lilac theme with shiny flowered wall paper and bedside lamps that have feathers. Good for a laugh.

Breakfast was quite bad. They have a huge hall for Chinese tourists and its a mess. More like a wet market with people shouting. I had to leave as it was doing my head in and found a lounge where only foreigners were having breakfast. The hostess tried to direct me to the wet market Chinese dining hall (since I look Chinese) but I insisted on staying. Had to pay an extra 60 RMB for a pretty bad breakfast of dried out fried potatoes, bread-like croissants and sour tasting coffee.

It's a hotel for lots of low end Chinese group travellers and MICE. Will avoid next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotusyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed overnight during a group tour and were given a magnificent room on the top floor.
The furnishings were outstanding and the service was also extremely good. The location was ideal and I couldn't rate this hotel higher. An outstanding visit.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room overlooking the town and lakes. You wont get any better! Very Quiet and scen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dryad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Ron Inn
#5 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Bravo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Bravo Hotel

Property: Guilin Bravo Hotel
Address: No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Bravo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guilin Bravo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bravo Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing