We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An agreable setting overlooking a lake”
Review of Guilin Bravo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Ranked #10 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We arrived at the hotel in the evening for an overnight stopover on our way to Yangshuo.
Our hotel room overlooked the front car park, a bridge and a lake which was lit up at night. The room was fine and the internet connection was good. The lobby had more flair than the rooms.The evening meal of fried lemon fish was greatly appreciated as it was the first chinese meal to be served without chicken stock poured all over it! Breakfast was simple but adequate.
The hotel is centred around the swimming pool which can be viewed from the restaurant. The hotel gift shop was expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaBash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 857 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is very close to the old section of Guillin. The rooms were ok. The dinning room in the morning was so crowded we didnt get to eat because all the dishes were empty and no silverware.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minamanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glbravohotel, Manager at Guilin Bravo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing stay in Guilin Bravo Hotel.I am sorry to hear that you had such a problem in our hotel restaurant. we had passed your comments to our Food&Beverage department manager.Despite Otober is the peak season in our hotel,more reasonable arrangement would be taken by our restaurant to guarantee that every guest could get the breakfast conveniently and comfortably.

We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This hotel was very disappointing. It was in a good location, but the furniture looked like 1960's, there was no hot water, no heat, one light was hanging off the wall, the safe did not work, the wall paper was old, there was a film covering the window so we could not see out, and no light could come in. The breakfast was nice, although the furnishings needed updating. The management was very concerned with our complaints and did say the hotel did have an updated section that was much nicer. I booked this in February so I don't understand why we weren't booked into that section for October.

Room Tip: You need to ask for the newer section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glbravohotel, Front Office Manager at Guilin Bravo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear guest, warm greetings from Guilin Bravo Hotel. Thank you for taking your time to tell us your unpleasant experience in our hotel.

I am indeed sorry you had such a problem, hotel management very concerned about it. We assure that the necessary corrective steps have been taken so that housekeeping will be more vigilant in checking rooms before guests’ arrival.

In our hotel we have another five star building, which is luxury and bright, lots of guest have good stay experience in that building, we will invite you to stay in that building sincerely next time.

We appreciate your comments. Guests like you help us to spot areas where improvements can be made. We look forward to greeting you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Bravo is in a great location with a quick walk to Guilin City Center with it's night market and shopping. Guilin is a great town with much to see; but, this hotel is getting a little long in the tooth. The rooms are very spacious; but, need to be updated a little and the hallways need to be brightened up. There is a beautiful pool area in the central courtyard. The chinese food is excellent; but, the western food restaurant is just average and the buffet breakfast was not up to par with a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Mix up with booking on arrival but quickly sorted by contacting travel agent in Australia to help (wrong dates on voucher). Great position near park, stayed on 9th floor, overlooking back part of hotel but at least we had a balcony. Shower over bath, huge bed, flat screen TV but only news and HBO which kept cutting out. Drinks cheap, promotion on mini bar. Breakfast 90 RMB. Great shopping area off lobby. Free WiFI in lobby. Very busy hotel.
Airport bus to hotel 8 mins away cost 20 RMB, then took taxi to hotel. Watch out for conning taxi drivers who ask a fortune from there to Bravo, either use meter or catch taxi further up road. Should only be about 8 RMB not 50.

Room Tip: 9th floor have balconys, rooms overlooking park are extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishmaggie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We only stayed here for one night en route from Xi'an to Yangshuo. Room was large and comfortable and breakfast was fine. We didn't check in until 2.00am and although our luggage was whisked away, no one showed us to our room. We were tired with travelling and had to return to reception to ask where our room was! having said that, I would still recommend the hotel overall and the rest of the service was absolutely fine.
NB: Has were only there overnight I cannot comment on its position in terms of visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldersbarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night before leaving to take the boat trip to Yangshuo. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was somewhat chaotic with lots of travellers quite literally "in the same boat". The breakfast buffet was mostly lukewarm. There was a jug of soya milk or buttermilk on the table even though the waiter said it was regular milk for coffee. The coffee itself tasted dreadful - possibly a bad batch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telecaster428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
166 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 652 in Guilin
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 652 in Guilin
150 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Bravo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Bravo Hotel

Address: No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: $29 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guilin Bravo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Guilin Bravo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bravo Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing