We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guilin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guilin Park Hotel
Ranked #15 of 572 Hotels in Guilin
Brisbane
Level Contributor
699 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel although the rooms (and corridors) could do with some maintenance and cleaning. The hotel is a little way out of town, but not too far to walk for a restaurant (about 15 minutes). Taxi fare from most areas of right downtown at the mall was about 10 yuan. The room was a good size but there were design flaws in the small bathroom - which was not helped by having a full glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom. The other Chinese guests (several tour groups) tended to be noisy in the corridors and this was heard easily in the rooms.
The rooms are well appointed with a safe in the room, internet and complementary water. The shower was great (best of all the hotels we stayed at in China). The hotel is built like a large square around the swimming pool and it would appear that tour groups get the rooms closest to the front of the hotel. As individual travellers, we received the rooms at the back, which meant a very long walk along the corridors to get to and from the lifts. We stayed at the hotel twice during our trip to China, and both times we were allocated one of the far rooms - even after asking for a closer room.
The hotel is a favourite for weddings and one of the nights we stayed, there were over 600 guests in the main dining room. We were asked would we mind having dinner in the bar - which we did and the hotel staff looking after us were great - notwithstanding the noise from 600 guests (and fireworks) from the wedding next door. Even though the wedding went until 1.00 am, when we came down for breakfast, you would not know that it had taken place - so clean and tidy was the dining room.
Breakfast in the hotel is very much geared to the Chinese tour groups, but there were some items for the western fare as there were a few westerners in the hotel (some small German and French tour groups).
If returning to Guilin, I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts (if they listen to you) to avoid long walks with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    119
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
30
71
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
265 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour of china. This is a lovely hotel in an extremely pretty setting overlooking a lake which is beautifully lit at night. Hotel room was good, and buffet breakfast very extensive. Only downside was that it was extremely busy at breakfast and experienced some difficulty getting a table.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Park had an outstanding location on Lake Guih (once an arm of the Li River). Immediate access to gorgeous walking paths along the lake that will take you to great views of downtown and its pagodas. Rooms were sumptuous, though beds were China hard. Great breakfast and free WIFI. Probably the best located hotel we had on our 3 week tour of China.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel with good location. Rooms clean, staff friendly and excellent breakfast. Like all Chinese hotels the bed was very firm. Pool was clean and enjoyable after a hot and humid day sightseeing. Hotel was busy with weddings and conference during our staff but hardly any noise. Very pretty at night when lit up an reflecting in lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited as part of a tour. As most of the hotels we'd stayed in, in China were in poor locations and settings it was a pleasure and a pleasant surprise to stay at the Guilin Park Hotel. Overlooking the lake with fantastic walks along by the lake and within walking distance of the town it enhanced our stay considerably. Taking a night time stroll with everything lit up with fairly lights was magical. We wish we could have stayed longer. that said the hotel itself could do with a refurbish, and the breakfast was a bit disappointing, probably because all our other breakfasts had been superb. Loved Guilin and would return to the city again given the opportunity

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Report On Our Stay At Guilin Park Hotel 2 July, 2012

During our stay in China all hotels were excellent and the service was suburb, with the exception of the Guilin Park Hotel and their arrogant manager Mr. Long Zhuliang of the International Emperor Chamberlain team.

Due to a flight delay, we arrived late in the afternoon and our China Odyssey Tours guide Mr. Lu assisted us to check in at the hotel. The check in went smoothly and our guide suggested that we take a walk around the hotel along the river as it was a warm and beautiful evening and the lights were coming on over the river.

We went for a swim in the hotel swimming pool followed by a walk along the river, returning to our hotel at approximately 20h30. We then went to the restaurant for dinner as we were very hungry, as we had not eaten since breakfast that morning. We were aghast to discover that the hotel restaurant was closed.

We went to our room and found the room service menu and attempted to order sandwiches from hotel room service. We were then informed that the western and room service kitchens had been removed from the hotel for upgrading (at the height of tourist season?) and only a Chinese restaurant remained, which had already closed for the evening promptly at 20h30. Why were we not informed of this by hotel staff at the time of our check in?

We went down to reception and called for the duty hotel manager and Mr. Long Zhuliang came and spoke with us explaining that the restaurant was closed at 20h30 and there was no room service available (even though the menus were still in our room with no note on them about the kitchen closures.) My wife asked him if they had there would be breakfast in the morning and he said yes. She then asked if the hotel had bread. He said yes. She then also asked if someone could not then make us a cheese sandwich from the breakfast food. He curtly responded “NO!” and walked away.

This man was unhelpful and uncaring towards his guests. He did not suggest any alternative restaurants or places where we could find food nor did he show any concern that we were not informed at check in that normal restaurant service nor room service was unavailable during our stay.

We went to our room where on our desk was a brochure describing the Philosophy of International Emperor Chamberlain hotels. It said: “Philosophy: Treating politely and sincerely, being harmonious and near and dear. Elaborate, considerate, perfect and nice, create comfort, provide chamberlain services.” This is not what we experienced from Mr. Long Zhuliang.

I intend to document our experience with this hotel on travel websites to share our experience about this hotel and its manager for fellow travellers.

Robert Bareham
Cape Town
South Africa

Room Tip: Our beautiful room was on the 3rd floor I think, overlooking the pool and mountains and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there for several days for a teambuilding and training team. They helped arrange everything. We wanted something taylor-made, including a trip to Yangshuo and another village, a tour on the Li river and attend the Zhang Yimou's show, Impression (really worth seeing it!). They provided the tickets for trhe show, a minibus and its driver and they found a good (official) guide who has been able to tell us a lot of things about the area. Only for that we can say they are nice people. But what happened later is that, because of a cyclone on Shanghai, we were not able to return home. They managed to find rooms for us one more night although they were full. And always smiling. Very efficient and utmost polite. Excellent staff!
Otherwise, the hotel is nice, relatively well located. It is what you expect in a 4-star Chinese hotel. Plus a swimming pool from which you can see the typical skyline of Guilin.
Breakfast is mostly Chinese, little for Westerners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#7 of 572 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#8 of 572 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
#2 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 572 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Park Hotel

Property: Guilin Park Hotel
Address: NO. 1 Luosishan Road, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Guilin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing