We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very good hotel in Guilin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 571 Hotels in Guilin
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very good hotel in Guilin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

i had the pleasure of staying three nights in the beautiful city of Guilin and at the Sheraton. Admittedly, I had an executive suite with nice view on the river. However, all the negative comments I have read about the hotel, are unjustified. Let's not forget , this is China and even the country side of China. The service was very good, room was very spacious and clean, hotel is very centrally located, breakfast was outstanding. I had lunch at the Chinese restaurant at ground level - could be better. The ITalian restaurant on the top floor however is outstanding. Impressive wine list and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the room and Riviera restaurant. Indeed we have a the one and only Italian restaurant in town.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    455
    203
    53
    18
See reviews for
182
324
58
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Guilin. Excellent location with a beautiful river view, nice helpful staff with a good of English, nice amenities in the room and the bed was really nice I strongly advice you to book this hotel only because the bed. We got a upgrade to the executive floor I must say that the view was wonderful and the breakfast was good they have a excellent egg station. Overall was a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
We sincerely appreciate your high evaluation on our service, breakfast and the bed. The SweetSleeper Bed it’s the back bone of Sheraton brand room’s comfort.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent two nights in Guilin at the Sheraton. After an initial room mix up, and arduous check-in process we finally settled in for the night. One of the perks of travelling for our kids is the breakfast buffet. But we were disappointed by the service and quality on both mornings. The variety of foods was lacking, presentation was poor and the breads/pastries were never replenished. The lines for the omelets was very long because that was really all that was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bossymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are sorry to hear that the breakfast disappointed you and we are already working on improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back and show you our improvements.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel has a great location right by the river Li. It's close to the hustle and bustle and amenities of Guilin but the hotel itself is calm and comfortable. The beds are firm but not as rock hard as many in China. Our room was very clean and pleasantly decorated with a view over the hotel pool so it was very quiet. The bathroom was modern with good fittings but the walk-in shower was very difficult to regulate being either too hot or too cold - a small irritation. The Wi-Fi was fast and there were good choices of English speaking channels on the TV.
The staff were very helpful with good English skills. Breakfast was a very good mix of Chinese and Western and the standard was very good. Omelettes and fried eggs were cooked to order and the fresh fruit and salad selections were excellent. One small disappointment on day two was the absence of the lovely fresh unsliced bread to cut. This had been available on day one and was delicious however it was not available again on day two. There was also a separate 'Cathay Chinese restaurant' on the ground floor which we did not use.
There is a bar area on the ground floor which was very pleasant to return to after an evening in the busy streets of Guilin.
As usual in China a 5 star hotel is not of quite the standard of a European 5 star hotel so there were small attentions to detail missing but don't let this put you off. This is an excellent hotel and right up there with any other 5 star hotels you might find in China. I would definitely chose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the hotel pool so faced away from the main streets and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Your comments regarding the room, the breakfast and staff are much appreciated by our team.
We are undergoing some modification work of the water pipes; we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused you.
Once again, thank you for your kindness and support and we look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
269 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel itself is good but (we were upgraded to a suite), doesn't have a lot of character. An important plus is the comfortable beds. After many nights in beds that were hard it was great to have a good sleep again.
The location of the hotel however is very good. You just walk from hotel to the Li river, square, shopping, restaurants and some of the attractions. This is absolutely a big plus as some of the other hotels like Shangri La are not in town. We intended to stay 1 night but in the end stayed two nights. Opposite the hotel is a place where you can have a decent footmassage and bodymassage in a clean environment (2 hrs foot/body 240rmb)
One night we ate in the chinese restaurant of the hotel which was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. The SweetSleeper Bed it’s the back bone of Sheraton brand room’s comfort.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Room ,,location and the Italian Restaurant were great. However, when it came it breakfast it was a joke. Poor service for coffee. The chef had just put out bacon and hash browns and they were all cold.

Room Tip: River view room was nice but do not expect to see the river as trees are in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM-Mebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our room and Italian restaurant.
We really appreciate your comments about the breakfast and we will take prompt action on this matter.
We are looking forward your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a great hotel in Guilin. Stayed for 3 days. The staff is very friendly and professional. I travelled alone so it was adventure for me. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They assisted me on where to go around and where to go shopping. Excellent location for shops and restaurants so it was not a problem to me. When it comes to my room, it was well furnished, clean with all the amenities and a perfect view. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristinacapaciete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing a review with regard to your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you satisfied with our hotel. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality.
Once again, thank you for your kindness and recommendation and look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
#2 of 571 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 571 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#3 of 571 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
0.8 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 571 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#8 of 571 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Property: Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing