We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel needs updating.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hotel is rather dated and the rooms could do with a make over. The staff are helpful but not very well trained, especially in the restuarants. Breakfast was average and both nights we were there, we ate at the Chinese Restaurant downstairs. Many items on the menu were not available and what was available was average. Even though it was not busy both nights, with only several tables occupied and staff in abundance, it was not always easy to attract their attention when needed. The hotel's location is convenient but it does not live up to the brand name! From what we saw of Guilin, I would not go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences, your comments on our restaurant are appreciated and we will make immediate improvements.
We look forward to have the chance to host you again soon and show our improvements.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    490
    236
    64
    31
See reviews for
213
378
67
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was shocked at the service, level of hospitality and quality of this hotel. I have traveled throughout China and cannot believe this hotel can fly the Sheraton flag.

There are two parts to this hotel, the original and the addition built on. We stayed in the newer part. The rooms were unbelievably hot (as all hotels rooms in China are in winter but this was ridiculous). When we asked for a fan we were told our traveling companions had the only fan in the hotel sent to their room. When asked if we could turn down the temperature a resounding no was heard. The room was so hot it was not possible to sleep. The service was curt, rude, and it felt like we were inconveniencing the staff.

There are not many choices in Guilin for Western-branded hotels. Be forewarned of the subpar standards of this particular Sheraton hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan to help cool your room upon check-in. And they only have one, so ask fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
桂林喜來登飯店, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are sorry to hear of your disappointments about the problems you encountered with the room and service. We had shared your concerns with our team to make future improvement for future guests.
I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter your patronage from our Sheraton brand in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in 2 (two) rooms back in Nov 2013 with Club (Executive Lounge) benefits. Unfortunately, the Executive Lounge Club was very poorly managed. Very little food, very little selections, & very little alcohol. The hotel overall is old & it needs renovation everywhere. Everything else was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FufuYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our club lounge; however, we certainly take your feedback onboard.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Nice open lobby. Great location. Free wifi in the lobby. Located by the Li river walk. Have a nice cafe and western dinning. Quiet and comfortable environment !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on our hotel. Your compliment is definitely a big source of motivation to the entire team.
We very appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guilin soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As far as I understand this is one of the nicer hotels in Guilin, Plus, being a Starwood member made the decision easy. I thought the hotel was older but nice and well located by the River and within walking distance from restaurants and shops. We are gold reward members so we were supposedly upgraded but I wasn't super impressed by the rooms, however, I didn't see the alternative. All in all a decent choice for a short stay in Guilin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrldtrvlr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments, and thanks for your support to the Starwood.
We are truly disappointed to learn that our upgraded room didn’t come up to your expectations.
We sincerely hope that we or our colleagues in another Sheraton will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the outlook, the hotel looks a bit old and not so impressive. However, the lobby and interior are much better than the exterior. The room is reasonably spacious and has all the things a tourist needs. The bed is comfortable (though I personally find it too soft) and sheets are clean. Buffet breakfast and lunch are pretty good and there are a fairly wide choices of food according to the Chinese standard, though I must say the style is very oriental. If you rank this hotel according to western standard, it would be an average Sheraton hotel but a fairly good one according to Chinese standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing your kind feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you have a pleasant surprise during your stay, and we will certainly continue to do our best to ensure our guests have a great time with us.
We look forward to your return trip to Sheraton Guilin soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on tour for the Li River cruise. Very large open atrium with a rather noisy eating area , food ok but nothing special, hotel needs overall update. The service was very good. Location close to shops and restaurants

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gardener46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin Hotel and taking the time to post your comments.
We will surely keep your comments under consideration, when planning for the coming year.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.2 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 621 in Guilin
963 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#6 of 621 in Guilin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 621 in Guilin
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#3 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 621 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Property: Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing