We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$68
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$22
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riverside Hostel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$110
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$20
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$58
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
371
536
255
75
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
536
255
75
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsli rivergreat locationchinese restaurantpedestrian streetclub floorrestaurants and shopsbuffet breakfastcomfortable hotelview of the riverlobby barelephant trunk hillcentral locationshopping areanight marketchinaatriumtour
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It is an 80's hotel that is in need of a face lift. There seems to be a lot of brown and reddish brown which was popular back then.However the building is relatively well maintained and everything was clean.

Whatever flaws in the building can be overlooked by its location. Across the front is the Li River, behind is the ZhengYang Pedestrian street. A block away is the town central plaza and 20 minute walk is Fubo Hill. Everything is convenient. Bars, restaurants, coffee houses from all corners of the globe, foot massages, to souvenir and high end department stores are all within a block away.

All staff speaks English and their service is impeccable.

Breakfast is standard Western and Chinese fare. Nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about.

Since most of our trip was spent outside sightseeing, the exterior look of the hotel didn't seem that important. In Guilin, there seems to be only a couple of international hotels to choose from and to get this type of location for the price point they offer, both my wife and I feel it is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanuckJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a one night stay here on our way to the river cruise, teh location is very good, close to the river walk and downtown restaurants. We had a room overlooking the river, which had good views but was noisy as teh A/C did not work so we had to have the windows open. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice but quality was varied, service was pleasant but a bit haphazard

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you like our location.
We thank you for your feedback and hope you will choose Sheraton Guilin Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

While we realise that this hotel is part of an international group, nevertheless we thought it was disappointing that there was absolutely no indication from the building or our room that we were in China. Not a picture nor an ornament. The lobby was a large totally anonymous area with no attempt to make it welcoming or user-friendly. I note some reviewers have said that the property looks its age but our room was absolutely fine, quite spacious and well maintained and may well have been recently refurbished. The location of the hotel is good with lots of restaurants and shopping near by as well as the river and lake. For us the worst thing about the hotel was the scrum at breakfast. Because the hotel seems popular for tour groups, large numbers of guests wanted breakfast at the same time and there were queues to get a table. Once seated it wasn't always easy to attract the attention of the very busy staff for coffee etc. While there was a fair selection of food at the buffet, it had to keep being replenished because of the crowds and, if you could be bothered to have something cooked, you had to wait in a queue. Not a good start to the day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin Hotel and leaving us such valuable comments.
We are very sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your breakfast experience, and we greatly appreciate your comments as this will guide us to make improvement.
We look forward to have the chance to host you again soon and show our improvements.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed just one night at this hotel. The quality is good - great lobby area and in a great location, opposite the river and an abundance of bars and restaurants in the area just behind the hotel. The rooms are adequate and commensurate with the room rates.
Received some outstanding service from a guy named Jameson, the concierge. I experienced heavy rain while in Guilin and eve though I had not stayed at the Sheraton the prior night (as I was in Yangzhou), I came back to the Sheraton to spend the afternoon while waiting for the delayed flight. Jameson could not do enough for me - checking flights on websites, making calls etc.
it's the people that distinguish good from bad hotel experiences - this was very good, because of the people.
When in Guilin again, this is the place I will stay.
By the way, great bed and pillow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your encouraging comments.
We are very pleased that our service has made you satisfied and happy to hear that you will return. Your compliments will certainly be passed on to Jameson and our team.
We are looking forward to having you back soon.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Choosing brand hotel chains always get me more tranquil before each trip before you know what you will get. I know that Sheraton brand isn't the top segment of the market. But this property is very old, with very average rooms (small actually) and the problem arises when you remember how much you are paying for and what are you receiving of. However Guilin is a very touristic area, it lacks of brand hotel chains... Maybe is the reason why this Sheraton hadn't improve. The location is unbeatable though.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin Hotel and taking the time to post your comments.
We will surely keep your comments under consideration, when planning for the coming year.
I Hope you will have a good experience with us next time.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews