We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 619 Hotels in Guilin
Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location and view from executive floor lounge are the only things to go for in this hotel. The rest is over priced and over rated unless you stay on the executive floor. The executive floor express check in and check out is another plus point. Even so the staff are stern and facilities are dated. Breakfast and dinner buffet in the big restaurant is a movie of Rush Hour. We tried them once n dined on executive floor and other hotels there after. Avoid it if you want quality dinning. Maybe we stayed there during the first week of October, it was very expensive and we were not allowed to cancel or shorten our booking which honestly didn't help.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennistw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We're glad to know that you like our location and the view of club lounge. On the other hand we are very sorry that the others couldn't make you satisfied. The first week of October is Golden Week in China, so the room rate would be a little expensive, avoid this period our price is very suitable.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    486
    232
    63
    30
See reviews for
209
373
66
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Service was good. Room was clean. Breakfast and dinner buffet was average. The room was powered with the key card. I was only given one key card so if I left the room the power so this limited my ability to recharge things like camera batteries, cell phone and other electronic devices. The location of the hotel was convenient to shops, restaurants and local tourist spots. The entrance way to my room and most rooms opened to the center of the hotel with the cafe and lobby below. A bit noisy during the day and dinner time but otherwise quiet enough to get some sleep. The carpet in the room had dark spots and clearly needed to be steamed cleaned for appearance sake but otherwise the room appeared clean and smelled fresh. The lighting in the main living area was limited to lamps so if you needed to read anything you had to lay on the bed, or go in the bathroom. By all accounts the 5 star rating was accurate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We're happy to learn that you're satisfied with our service. On the other hand we've noted that our room carpet had dark spots and we're sorry for that.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent five nights at The Sheraton in Guilin. We enjoyed a very nice stay! In particular, we enjoyed the amenities at the Executive Club Lounge. The Club’s rooftop location offers both inside and outside seating with views of the Li River. The staff – Ricky, Candy, Candy (senior) and Rachel - do an excellent job in making you feel welcome. The Club offers cocktails with top brand liquors in the evening accompanied by lots of snacks – both hot and cold.

Instead of having breakfast at the Club, we instead enjoyed the great buffet at the hotel’s restaurant. The buffet has a great deal of variety with both Asian and Western dishes.

The hotel’s location makes it convenient to walk to the major sites. We especially enjoyed being able to walk to the City Square (with its unique map of the world) as well as one of Guilin’s ancient city gates located near a “lake area” which has been developed into a beautiful walking path. There are four lakes (Malong Lake, Gui Lake, Banyan Lake and Fir Lake) with Malong Lake being the only one which connects to the Li River. Access to these beautiful lakes is free to all. Fir Lake is closest to the Sheraton and features two beautiful Pagodas. There are also many Li River boat trips (a must when in Guilin) that leave within walking distance from the Sheraton. English is spoken by many of the staff at the Sheraton and they will gladly help you with your touring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We are very glad that you enjoy this experience with us, we will pass your warm thanks to our staff, and definitely they're happy to offer their assistance to make your satisfied.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Sheraton Guilin and was very happy with my stay. The location is excellent -- close to the river and walking distance to most of the main sites in town. The shopping and restaurant district is located just behind the hotel. My room was decent and clean -- perhaps not luxury grade but perfectly comfortable. I had no issues with the "stale smell" noted in some other reviews.
The breakfast buffet was fine, although it was a very long wait both mornings if you wanted eggs. I had dinner one evening in the hotel lobby bar and it was fine, although the waitress seemed determined to get me to sign up for the Sheraton loyalty program. They're currently updating their elevators so sometimes there was a long wait for an elevator, but I'm sure that's a temporary issue while the maintenance is going on.
The staff were helpful and the concierge was able to help me fix a pair of broken sandals by taping up the broken buckle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schweiz2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our group stayed here for three nights while visiting the local tourist sights. It is a great location and lovely hotel. I have not stayed in many Sheraton Hotels, so cannot compare the service. One odd thing was that to reach our room from the elevator, we had to go up about ten steps to another level. At first I thought our room location might be noisy since it overlooked the lobby and the restaurant. However, I found it very quiet and convenient. We were only a short distance from the huge breakfast buffet. We also ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant one day because we opted not to go to the rice terraces since it was raining. The food was good, but the dinner menu only offered the Chinese buffet when we were there. We saw people later order sandwiches. One evening we had a fabulous dinner in the 7th floor restaurant. Great food and service, including a free bottle of wine for every 4 people (coupon is in the hotel booklet in the room). They also had outdoor seating on a picturesque balcony with candlelight, but they were booked for larger groups (we had 7). The room was comfortable and not shabby at all. It could have used a painting on the wall, but otherwise was well appointed. We enjoyed our stay here and ventured off to see the many kiosk type shops in the neighborhood, plus the beautiful river. Be sure to take the colorful evening river cruise to see the lit up mountains and displays of culture. It rained for our day cruise of the Li River, but seeing the unique limestone forms of mountains the artists paint on scrolls was amazing. I also had a massage in the room for $30 US. They have a massage room that is open from noon until midnight. I opted for an in room massage at 10 am and they complied. Great massage! Others from our group went across the street to another massage place for foot massages - 10 people in a circle (after the climb to the rice terraces). These were also enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve. Comments such as yours are a wonderful compliment.
It's our honor to have you staying with us, and we are very happy that you had a wonderful time here.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great stay in a very comfortable room. The lobby was very comfortable and many of our group used it at night. Drinks are pricey. Our breakfast was on the 7th floor so can't vouch for the buffet. Massage across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendajok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very good location, right next to the river Li and close to Fubo Hill.

Found the hotel room very old style and dark rooms not well light.

Checkin was fine and the people spoke okay english.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Online Distribution Executive at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin.
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel for its location. In deed many guests like the fact that it is right behind the pedestrian street for all the shops and bars it offers and near the walking side of the river.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.2 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 619 in Guilin
952 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 619 in Guilin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 619 in Guilin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Property: Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing