We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Ranked #6 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is one of the best place we stayed during our 6 stops' long trip in China. It is peaceful and beautiful. The traditional setting of the hotel, the great nightly music played by a beautiful young lady, the friendly staffs, the clearness of the room, good breakfasts, very tasty dinner (even though a little pricey) plus you can book all activities and transportation without stepping out of the hotel. By the way, they provide free fish food so you can feed fish and they are pretty fish! It did have such great impression that I recommend it to several friends of my when I am back to state. If I ever back to this city, I will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: request Garden view room so you can see the beautiful view when you wake up and feed fish right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review of us and thanks for your recommendationO(∩_∩)O~We hope we have other opportunity to serve you again.See you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    68
    18
    0
    2
See reviews for
44
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

David came to pick us up at the airport and exuded a genuine concern that we enjoy every minute of our 3 days in the area. He explained in excellent English all the possible things we should be sure not to miss about the area: the rice terraces, the boat ride, the tea plantation, Yao Mountain. For the times he could not be our driver, he reassured us that he explained everything to the driver we had. The hotel, situated in a botanical park, has a restful ambiance, with pagoda roof overlooking ponds where fish make the water shimmer. A lovely buffet breakfast, followed by a morning stroll to witness exercises, T'ai Chi, any number of kinds of dance in the botanical garden. We were delighted with the decor and comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_and_N2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you so much for your review of us.It's our pleassure that you had a good memory when stayed with us.We'll do it better and welcome coming back next time in Guilin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Palace. Away from the bustle of the city centre, the hotel is spotlessly clean in a botanical garden setting and the fishponds are a delight. We didn't dine in the restaurant but couldn't fault the breakfast which catered for both Asian and Western needs. Staff were always of assistance especially hailing taxis at the entrance gate, Fare is roughly 10RMB to the centre of Guilin so didn't mind paying double. Those that hanker for a little western food will be glad to know there's a Mcdonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the large Mall across the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmacka995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review of our hotel.It's our pleassure that you had a good memory when stayed with us.We'll do it better and welcome coming back next time in Guilin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We only stayed one night. It's a traditional Chinese hotel in a park, meaning traditional rooms (great bathrooms, actually) with Chinese furniture, spread out in many buildings. It was certainly comfortable and a pretty setting, in the middle of a large Guilin park. The issue I have with it was that our taxi driver had the address and found it but couldn't drive into the park. Luckily I had the number and he called but it took over 20 minutes for a bellman in an electric cart to come get us. So it was at least a half hour to get to into the hotel from when we first arrived. There is no place but a huge traditional Chinese hotel restaurant to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimSL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Public Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,thank you for your review of our hotel.Here we sincerely sorry for making you waiting for so long time when you first arrived at the gate.As at that night,we just had one bellman on duty,and it was busy so let you waiting for a long time.About the restaurtant,we can seen from others' review that there is a big shopping centre just at the gate of the botanic garden,it's very convient to go shopping,eating and relaxing.It's confused that you cannot find the restaurant.So here is a warm tip for all guests, please ask our front desk and they will arrange bellman send you to the gate (where you can find both Chinese and western restaurant,so as KFC,McDonald,Pizzahut,coffee shore and so on)Here sincerely sorry again and wish you all happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

When we travel for fun, not for work, we want comfortable hotels that provide us with a unique experience and this is what the Guilinyi has offered. Great Chinese look, clean rooms with balcony, 5 stars comfort, very nice pool, tea house, breakfast and a shopping centre minutes away to bring back western food if you do not fancy chinese one night. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you so much for your review and recommend!We are glad to know that you had a good experience with us.Wish you all happy and welcome coming back again!Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay in this hotel!

I had read that they offer a free airport pick up service, so emailed them our itinerary and they replied within minutes. The driver was on time, friendly and spoke very good English. He gave us the best recommendations on our itinerary while in Guilin. As soon as we checked in, we booked the Longji rice terrace field tour for the next day (450 RMB per person).

The hotel itself is located in the botanical gardens and you will often see people walking in and out. In the morning, there will be people walking around, doing tai chi, dancing, playing ma jong-wonderful just to watch them. The gardens themselves are quite extensive and you can spend a lot of time walking around!

FYI, you may want to bring some mosquito repellent, the combination of rain and the gardens just lured them all in.

Our room was spacious (double bed), with of course all the basics- TV (not that we watched any), minibar, fridge, safe, bathtub, shower, Japanese style toilet (!) and lovely view of the gardens.

The breakfast buffet was much better than expected. Having travelled quite a bit in China, you mostly get some baozi (steamed bun) and doujiang (soy milk), but this had some half decent coffee and western bread. Having said that, if you do sign up for any tours, you will more than likely be rushing through breakfast (unless of course you're an early riser).

We had been given a coupon for some tea in the tea house. We ordered the famous tea of Guilin, Osmanthus which was just divine, all while listening to a guzheng (Chinese harp) being played- my mum was so excited she decided to skype my dad while all this was going on. Needless to say, he was completely green with envy.

Granted, the location could be better, but there is not that much to do in the centre of Guilin, except seeing the pagodas. You will see the river when you go for the river cruise. Otherwise, you can easily walk to the centre- it took us only 20 minutes.

Definitely worth it if you want a relaxing stay in the city!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,warm greeting from Guilinyi Royal Palace and thank you for your review of us.It's our pleasure that you families had a good experience when stayed with us.Thank you for your recommend and wish you happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Situated in a botanical garden it makes for a nice setting for any hotel. While Guilin is nothing to write about this hotel made it for us. We got in late and ordered room service and the food was great! The room was big, clean and more than I could have expected. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast offered a huge variety. We did have dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good too. We enjoyed an afternoon tea in the traditional teahouse. If you are looking for a place to just chill out than this is a great hotel. Also if you are exploring the surrounding area (rice terraces, etc.) this is a nice place to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear tripadvisor,thank you so much for your high praise of us.We will do it better and welcome you back you next time in Guilin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 621 in Guilin
134 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 621 in Guilin
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ron Inn
#3 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 621 in Guilin
1,164 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 621 in Guilin
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilinyi Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilinyi Royal Palace

Property: Guilinyi Royal Palace
Address: No.117 Huancheng West First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilinyi Royal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guilinyi Royal Palace is located in Guilin central park---the botanical garden, which covering an area of 120,000 square meters. It is well provided with pleasant environment both inside and outside. The inn imitates the architectural style of the royal garden of Tang Dynasty. It has 52 different-style rooms in total, among which rooms on the first floor are provided with beautiful gardens and others are designed with independent scenic balconies. Besides, this hotel has complete facilities including a Chinese restaurant, a function room, Tasting Tea House, Pond Bank Cate, Sunshine Swimming Pool, etc. It’s really a good place to go for tourism, leisure and regimen. Furthermore, it is close to 101 Amusement Park and TOO Commercial Plaza, the biggest recreational and commercial district in Guilin, about 5-minute drive from the railway station and the bus station as well as 30 minutes from Guilin Liangjiang Airport. It’s pretty convenient for dining, shopping, sightseeing and traffic. Request Id 6558803 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guilinyi Royal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing