We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hi! I am Peter Santamera, The Ming Palace was a super place to stay. The saff and other guests were really friendly especially the staff. The social areas were lovely and as VCO22 above said there are lots of nooks and crannies where you can hide away if you want or socialise with other guests.
It was very important that I could access the internet and the Wifi was all over te hostel. My wife and I are learning Chinese in Yangshuo right now but we will return to the Ming Palace on our way to other parts of China. Location was good and facilities exellent. We look forward to our return. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 274 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The welcome at the hostel was first rate and I even came back because of it. The social area is really nice as there are different nooks and crannies and if you don't feel so social you can hide or you can jump right into the action. There is also Wifi throughout which is great.
There is a nice terrace to look over at the mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A nice place.
Nice speaking english stuff.
Location is ok.
Rooms are nice though we had a room at the fifth floor...
The bar looks nice but the tv was too loud.
In the bottom line, it's a nice place in the city. Worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adiwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had one night at this hostel and the room was lovely, friendly helpful staff and good location. However we left our luggage for one night in the storage cupboard and when we returned it had been opened and looked through. When we told reception they did not seem to care! Would definitely recommend they get a more secure system for this. Otherwise good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limpet1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi there, thanks for your feed back. I am very happy to know that you like our hostel and the staff here. Yeah, the location of our hostel is close to any nice view in Guilin, it’s a pity that you don’t have more time can be spent in Guilin,
I am sorry for the inconvenient caused to you, It never happen before. And we already realize the problem, we will allot a card to the guest and help them to do it if they want to store their luggage after that, thanks very much for your good suggestion as well.
The suggestion and support from our guest will always be the power which push us to be better and better, thanks. Team of Ming Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic hostel. We stayed in a mixed dorm, within the room we had secure lockers which could fit backpacks. The hostel itself - bedrooms, bathrooms and common space - were always kept clean and tidy. The big common space was an appealing place to hang out and meet other travellers. Cheap food and drinks ensured there was always a good atmosphere. The staff were always helpful. We'd highly recommend staying with Rock&Wood.

Room Tip: Good~Good~Good~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuanyangQin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff of Ming Palace International Hostel were not only the most friendly we encountered during during our two weeks of our travels through various places in China, but their English language ability is also more than adequate. Our two double rooms were very spacious, clean and had air-conditioning. Room prices cheaper than in the other hostels we stayed at in Beijing and Lijiang. The bar and breakfast facilities were good, and the atmosphere in the communal areas appealing. The location is also excellent. Within a few minutes you can reach the bank of the Li River and both Western and Chinese restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anpene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been to a lot of hostels whilst travelling through Asia. Asia's hostels are better than most around the world, but this place is pretty special. As a hostel it is standard. Rooms are clean, even the cheapest rooms have a bathroom between 6, but I believe its outstanding qualities lie with the staff. I as a solo traveller it wasn't always easy to make instant connections with the people in my room especially as my Chinese still isn't great and I rarely ended up sharing with any westerners. As this was more of a base for me I went back and forth to this hostel 3 times! When you find something good stick with it, and this was great! I spent my evening either walking round the city that was only a short walk from the hostel or in the company of the amazing staff who were always helpful and accommodation and most importantly constantly trying to improve their English and their customer service. I had a fantastic time talking to the staff and would go back to Guilin just to visit people who I have come to consider my friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.5 mi away
Guilin Central Hostel
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 47 in Guilin
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wada Hostel
Wada Hostel
#2 of 210 in Guilin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ease Hostel
Ease Hostel
#4 of 47 in Guilin
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guilin This Old Place International Youth Hostel
0.9 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Address: No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing