We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel which has learned about what travellers need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hostel which has learned about what travellers need”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ming Palace Hostel, Dong Hua street (near Ming Gate from pedestrian street)

There are a couple of buses passing nearby (No. 10), just 3 or 4 stops from the bus station. A relative newcomer, this hostel has learned from Guilin's best to give special attention to its guests. For example a padlock is provided for your dorm room locker. Also, webcams present on the 2 lobby computers. Close promixity to walking street of bars and the Li River.Friendly and knowledgeable staff, including Betty, who deals with internet reservations. Drinks and food served in cafe bar. Usual tours offered. Dorms from 35 yuan (February 2013).

Room Tip: In February rooms are chilly if heater not on, but if turned on turn it down or it'll be too hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    72
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
63
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

In striving to keep my budget I decided to stay at the Ming Palace. The location could not be better. I only stayed 2 nights and would have stayed longer if my schedule would have permitted. Close to shopping, lots of restaurants, (some great western restaurants), Li River area and its surrounding beauty. I found the facilities to be clean and very comfortable. The food is inexpensive and tasty. Western style breakfast's are on the menu. I opted for scrambled eggs and toast. Love the art work in the lobby and room. I found the staff extremely helpful and if one did not know the answer to my questions they were able to find someone that could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHardboiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staff speaks good English and is very helpful. We had a private double room with shower. Room was big and clean. It is located just few minutes walk from good restaurants and shopping area and supermarket just across the road. Wifi didn’t work on our first floor. Food was just ok but quite expensive and we had to wait very long for breakfast!!! Generally would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaczkaduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for night but wouldn't have liked to stay for longer. The bedding/pillows smelt of unwashed backpackers. The girls at the desk were far more occupied with themselves than tending clients. The hostal is well-situated though. Wouldn't want to go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a total of 3 nights in a dorm. Paid £3.50 a night with breakfast of toast, eggs and tea for only £1. The dorm was clean and had an ensuite, great as it was freezing outside. There's a heater if needed but the bedding is good. Downside is its huge so you have to walk up loads of stairs with heavy bags. The communal area was nice and big and there was a free dumpling party whilst we were there. We booked to go to the rice terraces and the bamboo boat trip to yangshuo which were expensive for us but it is because of the entrance fees are very high in china compared to other countries in Asia. The staff were very helpful and spoken very good english.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed there only one night and were a bit sad leaving, not having experience the youth and dynamic atmosphere enough...
When we arrive, there was a party going on, we were warmly greeted.
A bit far away, but in China, the taxis are so cheap!
Would love to go back

Room Tip: Stay there at weekend since you might be part of a nice party!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Arrived Guilin on 27th Oct after dark and arranged with hostel for taxi pickup at the airport(100 rmb) and it went as planned with no extra charges. Stayed in a single room for 80 rmb/night for 2 nights. I liked the vibe of the place so much that I returned to the hostel to stay for another 2 nights after my visit to Yangshuo. I feel that it is one of the better hostels I have visited, mainly due to the facilities on the ground floor and the young and enthusiastic crew I met especially Liau, Betty, Shen Shen, Angela and Valerie. All of them really try their best and are passionate to provide good service despite differing standards of English. Guilin is a clean and nice city, and deserves a stay instead of bypassing this directly for Yangshuo if you have the time to linger.

What I liked:

1. The reception, common lounge and bar area are well designed and really cool place to hang out with nice ambience and paintings. I understand the owner is a famous artist with a large gallery near Sheraton Hotel(?)
2. Good location - a short distance to the pedestrian walk, broadwalk Li River, Fir Lake,
supermarkets across the road and restaurants nearby. From the hostel, the bus station for Yangshuo is only 5 stops by bus or a short ride by taxi.
3. Maps, guides and information is freely available at the reception
4. The best crew at the reception
5. Toilet paper is provided
6. Kettle available in the room

What I did not like so much:

1. The odour of sewage in the bathroom. I encountered the same problem at Yangshuo, Chengdu but not Guangzhou, so it is by all means not uncommon in China.
2. Outsiders(non-residents) making use of the pool table.
3. Employees (the chef) having a nap in the reception.
4. Wifi is not available in the room except in the reception and 5th floor roof top.
5. The cleaning crew appear to be overwhelmed with their workload.
6. Beer price is high for a hostel with self service. Did not check out the in house restaurant as there was plenty to try outside.
7. The occasional smell of cigarette smoke in the reception area from outsiders.

Recommended things to do when at Ming Palace Hostel:

1. Sign up for the LongJi Dragon backbone tour. The local tour is 180 rmb (40 pax) while the
english(?) speaking tour(8 pax) is 300 rmb. Difference between the two is the optional show and lunch.
I feel that the local tour with english speaking guide is more comfortable with a bigger bus, and it is great to have an option and choice for lunch. There is a 90 min wait at the village, while the show is on but you can spend the time exploring the village and hiking between the 2 bridges. Even though, late Oct is out of season the trip was very enjoyable.
2. Traditional massage foot and body for 35 rmb per hour near the broadwalk.
3. 4 lakes and 2 rivers - take a walk especially to Fir Lake with the 2 pagodas lighted up at night.
4. Steamed rice rolls prepared to order for breakfast - 5 rmb
5. Food street from the Gate to the Pedestrian Walk.
6. Weekday lunch buffet at Sheraton Hotel (58 rmb)
7. Local fruits in season eg tangerines 5 rmb/kg

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 619 in Guilin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 619 in Guilin
1,146 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 619 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Property: Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Address: No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing