We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JorMary”

China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.00*
and up
Guilin Li River Cruise Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 43 Tours in Guilin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guilin, famed as "the finest scenery under heaven", is one of the regions you must visit in China. Guilin is excellent for either a leisurely vacation or an outdoor adventure. Picturesque Li River flows through Guilin and Yangshuo, with fascinating Karst peaks along the way. The magnificent Longji Rice Terraces in the minority mountain area of Longsheng has never failed to amaze its visitors.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Tavistock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“JorMary”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travelled with my granddaughter to China, and wanted the trip to be as smooth and comfortable as possible. I chose Odyssey Tours as the company to provide English speaking tour guides and drivers for us as we travelled from place to place. It was wonderful not to have to be concerned with finding our way, language issues, etc. Tony was a very capable guide who was concerned with our enjoyment of the tour; we enjoyed his sense of humour and attention to detail. We were amazed that Laura went the extra mile and called my son in Beijing to tell him that our flight had been delayed for 45 minutes. I highly recommend Odyssey Tours.
Guilin is a beautiful city, the tour on the Li River was amazing and we loved our time in Yangsho. We were pleased to travel in our own small group. It was efficient and comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrigje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaOdysseyTour, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mary S,

Thanks for your time posting a warm review on Trip Advisor. I’m glad to hear that you and your granddaughter are happy with Tony, the Li River cruise and entire private tour in Guilin and Yangshuo. Guilin is where our company head office is based. We are proud that you are impressed by its beauty.

I’ve shared your review with all staff in COT. We wish to serve you again in the future!
Best regards,
Sophie Lu
You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Would book with them again in a second!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Even though my son speaks some Chinese, i decided to have a guided tour as there is so much different in travelling China. We had the help of Roger Lee, expert in China, who developed an itinereay around our pre-booked travel dates to Shanghai. In each city, we had a competent, college educated tour guide and a personal driver - and we had an amazing experience!! All of the conditions were met, all of the guides were sensitive and accomodating of our needs, and they all were willing to help with extra needs such as the ride back from the Beijing opera at night. Fae in Beijing had done this work for 10 years, and was truly an expert. She had the sense to know what we needed help with, and protected form questionable restaurants and dubious locations. I found that this was an excellent way for the first time visitor to see many sights, and not be part of a herd in the process. Although i was slightly concerned about using PayPal to send the money to China having only had email conversations with Roger, i would highly recommend this kind of tour and this company for anyone traveling in China! He arranged 3 transfer flight, the hotels - and everything went off without a hitch. Thank you Roger Lee and China Odyssey tours!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaOdysseyTour, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear agbowden,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed the private tour arranged by us.

I’m shared your review with all staff in COT, especially Roger and Fae. They also brought their greetings to you. Paypal is one of our major payment ways we recommend, because it’s efficient and safe.
Thanks again for your trust and recommendation
Looking forward to your next trip with us!

Best regards,
Sophie Lu
You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We could not have been happier!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I would highly recommend China Odyssey Tours for anyone planning a visit to China. In the past we have traveled on our own in the US and Europe. However, not speaking Chinese made this somewhat impractical, but we had no desire to be herded on big tour buses. After reading reviews here, we chose China Odyssey Tours, but even then were skeptical. We couldn't have been happier with our trip!!! Mr. Femando Shen arranged a wonderful itinerary for us, but what really made the trip for us were the wonderful guides in each of the cities we visited. We could always count on their being there to meet us with a great driver. Their Engish was very good, they were extremely knowledgeable, and each one went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with their services. We were met by Sunny in Beijing, Louisa in Xian, Henry in Guilin, Jerry in Chongqing, Helen in Yichang, and Junie in Shanghai. We could not have asked for better guides and drivers!

Having no knowledge of hotels in China we opted for the five star hotel package, and stayed in some of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in! On two occasions we were upgraded by the hotels to mini-suites which were amazing!

I have used trip advisor extensively in the past but have never felt driven to write a review. This company deserves the highest accolades and I will use their services again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank camstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaOdysseyTour, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear camstart,

First of all, I’d like to extend my thanks to you for your valuable time in writing a long trip review. You positive feedback definitely encourages us to do even a better job. Glad to hear you enjoyed the private tour with us.

Secondly, thank you for your compliment for our tour guides. I’m also delighted to hear you were upgraded to mini-suites.

You review has been shared with my team members. All of us are happy that you enjoyed your trip with us.Welcome you back on your next trip to China!

Best regards,
Sophie Lu
You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private Tour to Beijing, Xian, Guilin, Chingqing, Yantze River Cruise, Yichang, Shanghai”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a trip of a life time to China planned and organized immaculately by China Odessey Tours and specifically by Mr. Reinself Wei, our tour consultant. He arranged a private tour for us to match our designated time frame and based on places we wanted to visit. He also made valuable recommendations to see many fascinating attractions in each city we visited. The whole arrangement was made by email correspondence within a week or two. The quick replies we received each morning from Mr. Wei and the manner in which he accommodated our every wish was truly incredible. It was simply a pleasure to work with him. And of course once our trip started, everything that happened surpassed our expectation. Upon our arrival in each city, wonderful tour guides were waiting to take us to our hotels by private cars with bottles of cold water already waiting for us in the cars or vans. Our tour guides in the five or six locations that we visited were extremely friendly with excellent command of the English language. They made us feel very welcomed and treated us like royalty. We would like in particular to mention our tour guides in Beijing, Amanda, and in Guilin, Lewis, who went out of their way to make sure we saw, learned, and enjoyed our visits as much as possible. Hotels were all truly five star with fantastic service. The Hilton in Xian, Shangri-La in Guilin, and Westin in the Bund in Shanghai were amazing, as was the cruise ship Gold 7 on Yangtze river.

It was simply a dream trip. Thanks to China Odyssey Tour Company and Mr. Reinself Wei.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mehran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaOdysseyTour, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mehran L,

Thanks for very much for taking time to post a warm review on Trip Advisor, which is a big publicity for us. We are pleased to see you are satisfied with our customized and private tour, the tour guides and the hotels. Your satisfaction is our goal.

You are also appreciated for mentioning the hotels you stayed in China, a good reference for those who seek five star hotels during their China trips.

You review has been shared with my team members. All of us are happy that you enjoyed your trip with us.Welcome you back on your next trip to China!

Best regards,
Sophie Lu
You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing trip with China Odyssey Tours”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a specific time period to visit China. Unlike other operators, China Odyssey was able create a customized itinerary that included private tours in Guilin, Xian and Beijing. The tour included an English speaking guide, van and driver in each location for the four of us. They also handled all the hotel and flight arrangements. Everything went smoothly. The guides were knowledgeable and spoke superb English. To better experience the culture, we ate at local restaurants (which were recommended by our guides). We had a fantastic time as China Odyssey Tours exceeded our expectations! Thanks Shelly!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaOdysseyTour, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Tom R,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the customized itinerary and private tours. It’s also great to see you enjoyed the local restaurants and better experienced local culture. I’ve shared with all staff in COT. Shelly also brought you her greetings.

Do let us know when you plan your next trip to China. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Sophie Lu
You're not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to China Odyssey Tours-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing