We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 572 Hotels in Guilin
Dorset
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed five nights in room 6220, which was huge. It was actually a suite of two rooms, each with two small doubles/large singles. Other triples looked much smaller, so I think we were lucky. The room was reasonably clean and the bathroom had a powerful shower with plenty of hot water. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but the coffee shop just around the corner from the hotel entrance did good takeaway coffee and buns. The pedestrian street on which the hotel is situated has masses of eating possibilities. We ate in a couple of the restaurants and on the street, and everything was fresh and tasty. The Sapphire is a short walk from the lake and rivers, which are perfect for evening strolling. There are usually taxis outside if you want to go further. We didn't find the reception staff very helpful, even those who spoke a little English were very reluctant to help with any information. The small travel agency at the end of the road used google translate for us to type questions and answers. We booked the night boat cruise there, which was worth doing. We also booked the bamboo raft trip down the Li River here, but we don't recommend the tour. We wish we had had a taxi and done it ourselves. The raft trip was lovely but we were then on a Chinese tour which stopped at various crowded sites. We took a taxi to the Dragon'sbackbone rice terraces, which worked out well. We couldn't find a laundry near the hotel and the in house service was very expensive. Water in the hotel is very expensive too - 8RMB for 1/2 a litre. You can buy 1.5 litres for 3RMB at any of the mini supermarkets just outside the hotel. In summary, a good hotel for the price, especially if you get a large room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We planned to stay there for 1 night arriving late and leaving early. It does not really qualify as a proper hotel as the standard is very low.The staff does not speak English and the setting was not to our liking. In the rooms, there are electric sockets behind the mattress which is dangerous and the electric plugs of the lamps had to be disconnected prior to going to bed. There is a strange plastic board inside the bath cubible which looked dirty.That is on top the condoms, lubricants, etc in the bathroom which I put high on a shelf out of my 10 year old daughter' reach. On the floor where we stayed, trolleys of dirty linen and hoovers were left unattended and within customers' view. Outside the hotel, the environment is not really nice. The only two plusses are the price and airport pick up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights.
The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the night markets and a few restaurants and bakeries.
Within walking distance to Elephant park and the night cruise. I would recommend the hotel.
The pricing was good and the previous reviews are good.
We booked 2 rooms for the 2 adults and 2 kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

At RMB 154 a night, what can you ask for. You get an airport pick up, decent rooms and your right smack at the night market. This is a great 3 star hotel.

Staffs are helpful. Everything you need is just around the corner. You can never go wrong with this place. Maybe the carpets needs cleaning though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jepoyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel located at a good location. Night market is just foot step from the hotel. No breakfast is provided, but it's fine for us. The room is nice, just the carpet with lots of stain. Others is good enough. Clean. The mineral water in the room is not complimentary, please take note. We accidentally drink it and need to pay like RMB8 for a bottle. That's superb expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choy_yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked 1 night here before our Li River cruise to Yangshou and came back and stayed another 2 days after. The hotel is near the center of the city and not on the main street. The room is clean and spacious. Linens and towels are clean too. Bed is firm but not hard and is comfortable. Wi-Fi is available free in all rooms and have good reception. The rooms have desks and flat screen TVs. Early morning staff doesn't speak English but those from 10 am till 8 pm does understand and speak English.

Hotel does not have a restaurant but there are plenty around the hotel. Try the popular local Guilin Noodle (dry or with soup) and you'll be amazed how delicious it is. There are 3 KFC shops within 1 km of each other and walking distance from the hotel and are open 24 hours. There is a convenience store right across the hotel, so don't forget to NOT drink the very small bottled water in the room because it will cost you 8 RMB, when at the convenience store it is only 3.5 RMB for the large 1.5 liter bottled water. Night market starts at 7pm and is just outside the hotel occupying a 3 block radius. There are plenty of souvenirs to buy and you can haggle with them. There are also plenty of ATMs if you need cash.

Overall, we're happy with our stay at this hotel. The only thing that we didn't like is that air pollution is not just in Beijing and Shanghai, but also here in Guilin which clouded the beautiful mountain views which we came to see.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel before taking a boat cruise to yangshuou, The hotel was generally clean, the lobby was well lighted with couches to seat on and the front desk person was pleasant although she didnt know how to speak english. The rooms were big enough and even though our room was located facing the street, it was not noisy (since most scooters in Guilin are electric). The room was clean and there was even a desk top PC with internet connection. There was a flat TV although there was no refrigerator. However, I found the bed too firm and there was only 1 thin pillow per bed which made our sleep less comfortable, but at $30 per night, who would complain? There were hotel slippers too but water is for sale at 8RMB per bottle. The toilet was clean and adequate in size, with hot water and there were tolietries provided. There were also other stuffs for sale in the restroom (condoms, towels, shaver and even male and female wash at 10RMB). The hotel has only 1 elevator that can be packed at times but generally adequate. It does not have a restaurant or cafe so there's no breakfast included nor room service but there are numerous restaurants around and a 24hour convenient store infront. The airport pick up was also included in the room rate which was very helpful especially if you dont speak Chinese. The best thing about this hotel is its location. The Guilin river is a few minutes walk and a night market springs up at 7pm right infront of the hotel. One more tip. Avoid coming in after 7pm since it would be difficult for a vehicle to get to the hotel because of the night market in front so you might have to walk a few meters with your luggage. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Guilin.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street provide a good view of the night market below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.2 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#7 of 572 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#8 of 572 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#3 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
#2 of 572 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: NO. 9 Xicheng Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 572 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sapphire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing