We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, just average facility, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel
Ranked #177 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good location - rear facing rooms a little lower cost than river facing; helpful staff but limited language (English). Convenient for walk along river, walking street, etc. carpets need replacing on lift, etc.

Room Tip: pick a high floor - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here in October 2011.
Just a few words about the hotel: rooms are clean, air-conditioned, with usual Chinese bath (I mean, with glassed wall inside the room) and also some sexy items in the minibar.
No one speak English (although they should, but they can't even understand if I'm asking for some more toilet paper....) but they are polite.
Beside the hotel, there's a fantastic cafeteria with western food and western beers: that's exactly what you need after a very crowded Chinese day.
You can buy daily excursion at the reception, but (as happend to us) you ask for a tour also in English and you're the only foreigner and all the time the guide speak in Chinese.....
Anyway this is a central, clean and safe palce to stay when you are in Guilin

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txakurra_beltza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel has a great location. The room and bathroom where a bit smelly. The cafe downstairs is wonderful - good, friendly staff and great food. Great for a night.

Room Tip: any room - they are all different anyways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashpash25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

-Good location – close to the city centre, river, park, shops and restaurants
-The corridor, lift and the room were dirty. The worst thing about the hotel was the cigarette smell which we could feel everywhere. Ashtrays are located all around so people are encouraged to smoke everywhere. We stayed in the no smoking room and we could feel the cigarette smell very strongly. There was the massage left next to the bed 'not to smoke in the bed'
-In addition we have notice high level of noise coming from the street as the hotel is situated directly on very busy road. All night long we could hear motorbikes, cars ect passing through the street along the river.
-Do not be mistaken by the location and river view the hotel can offer. Actually the hotel is not located at the river as there is a busy road and pedestrians separating the hotel from the river passage. Also along the river there is a tick line of trees so even if you get a room with river view you will hardly see the river. It is not worth paying extra money for it, plus if you are light sleeper you will not get much sleep because of the street noise in the day and night.
In general I would not recommend this hotel to anybody as it was too noise, dirty and smelly. We staid just for 1 night catching connection flight to Hong Kong but it was perfectly enough to hate this place. The staff speaks basic English and does not make any effort to make you feel comfortable. The only person we found helpful was night portiere who helped us catch the taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location in Guilin. You are near the stores (go down the alley/road right next to the hotel), the river (green and beautiful), the pagoda and Elephant rock are within walking distance, and close to the Waterfall Hotel show at 8:30. The noise was a complaint with other people but with all the honking I think this would be a problem anywhere and we got used to it. There was a power outage at 3 in the morning and it actually woke us because it was erie quiet. The bathroom had a permanent curtain for privacy but we liked the open feel of all the glass. After coming from Beijing where we had a hard time with english in restaurants, we were happy to have a girl who spoke excellent english in the restaurant. We sat on the patio with a great view of the river and to people watch and had an excellent meal. Go up the alley/street next to the hotel at night and it is a shopping/eating mecca. You can watch the Waterfall Hotel show at 8:30 from the square at the end of the street. Very happening place. Our view from the 5th floor at night was gorgeous with the trees lit up and the moon lighting the peaks in the distance. Would recommend any hotel along this street because the rest of the town behind it is caos (3 million people) and this has a calming effect despite the traffic.

Room Tip: Book your Li River Cruise at the airport desk. It is with CITS and they speak excellent english and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoNative19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This Hotel is conveniently located along the Li River and the walking promenade. Its about 100 meters from the Sheraton Hotel and at fifth of the price, its a real bargain. Its close to "Walking Street", which is around the corner and about a 10 minute walk to the Commercial Hub of Downtown Guilin. To the "Night Market" its around a 15 minute walk.
The rooms are modern, nice size and clean. Wi-Fi is fast and reliable. There is a LCD screen and a hot water kettle. Though I would recommend bringing your own tea and bottled water.
The few "Problems" that I encountered:
The Staff is helpful, but their English is almost non-existent. This is a major problem in almost every Hotel in China. Whats surprising, that this happens in even the 4-5 star Hotels. They MUST get their Staff better trained and upgrade their language skills, if they want to cater to Western Tourists.
There is a Cafe' adjutant to the Hotel. Strangely though, it only opens at 11 a.m. I guess they aren't too concerned about the early morning travelers and businessman that want to eat. Its also a little over-priced.
The cleaning staff kept entering my room (When I was away), even though I made sure that the "Do Not Disturb" sign was illuminated. Found it annoying and even after I complained and tried to explain that I didn't want them to enter, it repeated itself.
The shower in the bathroom, which has a glass "Cage" around it, kept leaking, so the entire washroom floor kept getting soaked. No big deal, just needs to be fixed.
All in all, great location, good stay and for the money, excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EliF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel is where I wanted to be, by the river and next to the downtown walking mall. It's almost next door to the Sheridan at 3 times the price. My room was nice, had a glass wall around the washroom ( no big deal). When I was there the floors were being shampooed. I managed with the staff's English. Miss Chan was sweet.This is China, don't expect people to speak English just because you do. I had the best vacation of my life. Guilin is beautiful.

Room Tip: I think the river view rooms are bigger, only a few have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabasko58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Golden Dragonball Hotel
#205 of 659 in Guilin
29 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,248 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 659 in Guilin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
182 reviews
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 659 in Guilin
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel

Address: No.17 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $19 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing