We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel is very new, located about 20 minutes from downtown Guilin, on the banks of Li river. From everywhere in the hotel you can see the characteristic Guilin mountains, very beautiful.
The children got a welcome gift upon arrival, enjoyed the swimming pool (29 degrees C) every day and the outside playground. We enjoyed the lobby bar and the live music in the evening. The breakfast is fantastic, especially the bread and the cheese, and the staff works hard to take very good care of you (especially Mary).
When we were there the king of Tonga was also staying in the hotel, with a lot of security, red carpet, Tonga flags, traffic free streets, etc. Quite an experience!
Only two remarks: no bike rental available, and no directions could be given where to rent bicycles. The room service girls dont speak any English at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericDalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with her parents and our 16-month-old son from Dec 31, 2010 - Jan 3, 2010. It was one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. Upon arriving at the hotel from the airport, we were personally greeted by at least 6 people who worked at the hotel. They were very attentive to any needs we had.

One thing that struck us as odd was that there wasn't any working heat in our hotel rooms. Even though we turned the thermostat up to 30 degrees Celsius (86F) our room was still really cold. We asked the front desk if they could fix it, so they immediately brought up a space heater, which worked so well that it was almost TOO hot in our room. They were totally willing to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The on-site restaurants had decent food, and we found the prices to be no worse than going out to eat in the US. Their breakfast options were especially affordable (one option was about 10 USD for enough food for two people and a small child), which is usually not the case in a hotel of this caliber.

The highlight of this hotel is definitely the incredible service. Numerous staff knew us by name. Also, when I went to go buy milk for our baby, instead of just telling me where the nearest convenience store was, one of the staff personally escorted me to it, and then assisted with purchasing translation.

Next time we go to Guilin we'll definitely be staying at the Shangri-La!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expat_ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

stayed there 3 nights n it is the best, then we moved to stay at The Waterfall Hotel for 3 nights which was an awful experience.

Shangri-La is the best in Guilin.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a10nmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-La Guilin for Christmas Eve and we could not have chosen a better hotel. We only had 3 nights in Guanxi Province, and we're sorry we didn't stay here longer.

We chose to stay in a King Horizon Room, which included a lot of extras, which were definitely worth the minimal extra cost. This included an airport pick up and private check in at their executive lounge (Horizon Club) which was fantastic. The service offered here was second to none and the level of English spoken was excellent. We decided to go to Guilin at the last minute and didn't make any reservations for a Christmas meal - assuming they would have had a special lunch planned for Christmas Day (there was nothing mentioned at all on their website to suggest otherwise, so we thought we'd be safe).
When we checked in, we found they celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve, not actually on the day (as we do in Australia). Fortunately the staff in the lounge were fantastic and rang each and every restaurant in their hotel (which had been fully booked) and managed to get us into a restaurant for dinner that evening. The meal was absolutely beautiful and was a traditional dinner like we'd have at home. The staff were also good enough to ensure we could eat late enough to take advantage of the free cocktails in the lounge, which includes a large variety of spirits and high quality French champagne, with nice finger food to go with it.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with a great buffet/a la carte restaurant and a great British themed bar with fantastic happy hour prices. Although it was extremely cold when we stayed, there is a huge outdoor pool with a bar/restaurant located poolside, which would be a great way to spend a summer afternoon. There is also a large indoor pool too, however we didn't use that.

The rooms are large and we had one with a lovely view over the river. The bathrooms are modern and clean, with a large bath and separate shower.

If we had known the hotel was so nice, with such great facilities, we would have stayed an extra night. We definitely would have stayed another night also, if we had known that the Longji Rice Terraces are closer to Guilin than to Yangshuo. We would definitely stay here again, and would suggest this is the only place to stay in Guilin.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Although the hotel is a little out of town the service, amenities and decor are exceptional. The buffet dinner was the best we have ever had

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This hotel is a new Shangri-La and it is ultra modern and stylish. The hotel staff is very accommodating. The location is on the outskirts of town but this is not a factor given the taxis are very very cheap and available.

The hotel as a large outdoor pool area that has a view of the river that is relaxing if the pollution of the day does not confine you to the indoors. On clear days the pool will be a treat. Across the river there is pagoda on a hill that is hike-able. It makes for a great view at sunset. There are the two standard Shangri-La Western and Eastern restaurants as well as a buffet that has Indian to Eastern, and Western food.
The three chocolate fountains will tempt you to eat dessert before the veggies.
The rooms are spacious and plush. The bathroom is big with a separate shower and bath. All the amenities you expect from Shangri-La were present.

My only complaint was upon requesting a taxi to the airport the hotel doorman waved a non meter using taxi over. I was quoted a price and had to insist more than one that I wanted a metered taxi. The doorman ran to the front road and called a metered taxi over that was a more inexpensive ride to the airport.

Never take an un metered taxi

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at other Shangri La hotels, but this is one of their newest facilities, opened in March of this year. We both wanted to visit Guilin for its magnificent scenery along the Li and Yulong rivers as well as the attractions within the city itself.

We were not disappointed.

The Shangri La is about a 45 -50 minute taxi ride from the newer airport that has opened up outside Guilin. It is not right in the heart of downtown.....about a 10 minute ride north from there, but readily accessible to eveything you need to see. Note that this hotel is along the river, and offers two rates, one on the "view" (river) side and one on the front side of the hotel. We did not chose the view side to save a little money, but the view on the front side is fine, and don't forget that most of the time you'll be out of the hotel viewing the karsts and other sights in Guilin and the Li River.

The architecture of this 8 story facility is beautiiful, made to look like an ancient Xing dynasty palace. The lobby is exceptional, so much so that I uploaded a Youtube video for you to see right here.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rH6BjJKeB_A .

I recommend that you include breakfast with your stay as you can fill up on a wide variety of well-made foods, both Chinese and Western, before heading out on a daytrip to the rivers or other places. The concierge desk can set you up with CITS for a Li River cruise or one of several other group trips if you are travelling on your own.

The room was modern, well-decorated and quiet. The king bed, while firm, was not overly so and I had a good night's sleep all three nights we stayed there.

Best of all is the friendly service. The staff bends over backwards to make you feel at home and happy. A nice hostess stands in the middle of the lobby to greet and talk to you as you enter and leave the hotel. She will even guide you to your room after your check-in. The lobby lounge was a comfortable resting spot for us as we readied to leave, and we ordered mini-burgers (delicious) and a pie desert. The food took a little longer than we expected, and the staff noticed my wife's anxious mood at the wait. So what did they do? They started bringing over other cookies and deserts as well as a nice fruit drink, compliments of the hotel, even though our food came out right after they noticed the delay! They made us feel important and special. As we left the lounge and hotel to go to the airport, they spoke to us to make sure we were happy. First rate service.

Bring your workout clothes and swimwear too. The indoor pool is a beautiful place, and the health club is huge. You'll like the spa too.

As this is China, the one and only negative I can report is that people are allowed to smoke in the lobby, and even though we had a non-smoking room and wing of the hotel, a whiff of smoke odor is detectible when exiting the elevator on our floor (7th) and even through the room vents. Not so much as to make us want to change rooms, but the smoking odor was noticeable where it shouldn't have been.

All in all, the Shangi La Guilin lives up to the chain's reputation, and beyond. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 644 in Guilin
1,194 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#6 of 644 in Guilin
206 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 644 in Guilin
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 644 in Guilin
152 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#4 of 644 in Guilin
147 reviews
Ron Inn
#9 of 644 in Guilin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $107 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing