We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Nearby Hotels
$66
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$36
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eva Inn(Guilin)
$54
$35
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$79
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$401
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
732
322
114
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
322
114
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubshang palaceli cafemini zoothe riverpaddle boatsbeautiful hotelindoor poolchinese restaurantlobby bardinner buffetmain restauranta river view roomclub roomtaxi ridetour desktai chi
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The positives:

This is a very luxury business hotel, the pillows, duvets and beds are extremely comfortable. Our room was very clean, spacious and tastefully furnished and decorated. We had room service all the time; regardless how little we ordered for dinner a small dinner table with a well ironed white tablecloth was set carefully and politely by room service. When we tried to tip the attendant she courteously told us there was no need for more tips because the tip was already included in the bill. At the restaurants tips were welcomed.The exercise room was large and the indoor pool was great. The beauty and comfort definitely deserved the five stars.

The Negatives:

The views:
Before booking the trip, I read that, the pictures the Shangri La had posted on their website did not represent the real views. Despite that, I booked this hotel hoping for the best. Once arrived, the views turned out to be disappointing, especially after having seen views of the most scenic Karsts Mountains back in Yangzhou. Our room overlooked a river, the hotel grounds, a bridge with heavy traffic and many houses all around but nothing really scenic. The hotel grounds had some trees planted at random, nothing special. We agreed with a previous poster “if this was the first time you saw Karsts Mountains you would still be impressed”. But we saw too many Karsts Mountains and scenic places during our 35 days trip in China to be impressed by the views from the Shangri La.

The food:
The food was always nicely presented, not pricy at all despite of the luxurious surroundings. Beef was served in very limited quantity (same experience in Yunnan and Guangdong during our 35 day trip in China). One of the beef dishes we ordered in Shangri La was almost inedible; the minuscule strands of deep fried beef came pocketed in exaggerated amount of oil. The hamburgers and pasta were nice but tasted as if pork meat was used. Other dishes were not of our taste, yet others were just fine and non-greasy. So food scored 60% during our three days in Shangri La. Finally as we traveled East into the province of Guangdong during the last part of our trip, the food was much more delicious.

The location/surroundings:
The hotel is located in an uninteresting neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumulusclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This huge property on the North side of Guilin has vast open spaces in the lobby, but rather small rooms. The rooms are comfortable enough, and well supplied with amenities. However, the Internet was extremely slow - or just not available at certain times of day. There is a large indoor swimming pool (bring your own swimming hat or they will force you to buy one), an overpriced spa, and a couple of restaurants serving fairly standard fare. Downtown Guilin itself is about 4km from the hotel - it is walkable, though quite a way. A taxi costs about RMB12. The airport is miles away - a good hour of travel time due to heavy traffic in the city area. Taxi to the airport costs about RMB120. English was not well spoken by many front-line service staff, e.g. concierge and restaurants. Front Desk was better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed only one night Shangri la Guilin and it was very nice. We regret we cannot stay one more night. Service was excellent. Receptionnists speak good English. All staff was very kind. Unfortunately, our rooms were not on the river side, but still it was good. The rooms were very confortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Melaniemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night during Christmas and a night at Yangshou then back to Shangri-La Guilin.Large hotel located on about 15 minutes away from the downtown kinda isolated actually and walking to downtown would be around 1 hours or more and there is nothing around the hotel or along the river.I am in hotel industry as well and I am very particular in service especially when come to Shangri-La my expectation even higher.Regarding the staff in this hotel,I wouldn't comment on it much because first of all Guilin is a small city for China and standard of living are low.I am pretty sure the local staff doesn't have much exposure and experience on service.Overall I still prefer and would strongly recommend to stay in Shangri-La Guilin.

Room Tip: Higher floor and river view would be perfect especially next to Horizon Club Lounge.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLeoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife & I were to stay here for 2nights as part of a 24 night tour of China. Mona took sick & had to be hospitalized due to 'heat stoke' which they first thought to be a curable stoke. After 5days in hospital Sept 17th ,we stayed an other 9 days waiting to be escorted home with a nurse brought in from Canada. The staff nurse was brought in by the Asst. Mgr. Jimmy to monitor her blood pressure. How good is this hotel? While there, the Russian First Sec. Of Trade & Commerce was there or a 4 day conference with her Chinese counter parts. So while the stay was forced on us,
As Mona improved, we enjoyed superb service, great meals, wonderful in& out pools, exercise
Centre, Physio. Facilities and above all a gracious aroma dating & helpful staff, whom we very much felt for Mona &our stranded predicament.
The city of Guilin and surrounding area is probably the the most beautiful area of China. The cone shaped lime stone hills al through the city &area, the out door night theatre water show about an
Hour away is world famous (Evan a US prEsident has attended as other European Heads of state)
The Li river night tour through the locks into the ancient city canal system ranks as one of the best tours we have ever taken ! go see it while it is still inexpensive! Get a Meals included tour unless you speak the dialect. North American Breakfast at your hotel and if you crave "fast food" they are all there Mcd Kentucky you name it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimM0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews