We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for comfort and ease”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good choice for comfort and ease”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

A short stop here for us with not much time to enjoy amenities. The hotel felt very large and "corporate" when we checked in, but we wanted everything to work. The hotel delivers, a large lobby, with bar overlooking pool, a westernized restaurant and a club bar, as well as a more formal looking Chinese restaurant. The room was very comfortable, arranged as most hotel rooms are, desk, good bed, good lighting, coffee station and mini bar. Nice bathroom with good lights and space. Nice view out over the river and karsts.
The food, dinner and breakfast were fine. One concern would be if there were a convention or large group there that would slow down service. We were warned that could happen when we were there but missed any crunch that would have delayed us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    280
    96
    17
    16
See reviews for
230
415
47
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Far away from a Shangri-la on top locations, still is the best choice for Guilin. Compared to Sheraton, the location is worse but the hotel is better. The small details on other Shangri-la are missing on this one, so I do not give 5 points

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Xavier o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (22 - 23 October 2013). In general our stay was fair. There was nothing special to mention. Hotel staff was friendly. The restaurant where daily breakfast buffet is held needs improvement in terms of ventilation, space, and the way food is displayed. Restaurant is very crowded and smelly in the morning.

Room Tip: Select upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AABDHAHRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here with my family at the end of Oct '13. Guilin city and the surrounding countryside is absolutely stunning and the new Shangri La hotel is placed on the river with amazing views out towards the limestone mountains. The hotel is modern and luxurious - the rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were big with shower and separate bath. Location-wise it's a bit out of the city (a taxi ride into the city is about 15RMB and takes about 10-15 minutes) so it depends whether you'd prefer to feel the bustle of the city or the tranquility of the river. You are definitely still in the middle of town at the Shangri La though so don't expect to be surrounded by fields! Would stay here again if I go back to Guilin

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abyzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As I arrived at the Shangri-La Guilin I was immediately impressed by its very grand lobby and magnificent hotel ground. However, the room was only average IMG. Don't get me wrong - it was still a very nice and adequate room - just not of the Shangri-La quality that I was expecting. The decor was rather bland and tired and the lighting was a bit too dark for my liking. However, the breakfast was sumptuous and fulfilling as usual and the swimming pool was big and nice. Not 5 stars this time but better than 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having stayed a few nights in the crowded city of Beijing in an average hotel, it was lovely to arrive in the calm and luxurious atmosphere of the Shangri-La in Guilin. The staff came the closest to having areal service ethic of anywhere we saw in China, the room we had was very well appointed with a nice view and a great big bed. We took up the offer to stay on the Club floor and have access to the Club lounge which offered snacks and free drinks between 5 and 7pm as well as breakfast for only a tiny bit more than the cost of breakfast which was not included in our room rate and we git value for money out of that. But be warned, this is a popular offering and if you didn't visit the lounge before 6pm you were likely to find that wine and beer was already running out.

Breakfast was very good in the main restaurant with lots of variety on offer. We also used the gym and indoor pool which were also very good. Our only detracting comment would be regarding eating in the evening, the Main restaurant looked lacking in any atmosphere, was too bright and loud with live music both evenings we were there and we were not tempted by the Palace restaurant. However, the food in the "pub bar" was very good and surprisingly good value as was the wine available there.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view as the view on the other side was not attractive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilRBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel may be a 5 star in Guilin but is by no means worth a five star rating.The hotel itself has no atmosphere of warmth. Our first dinner in the Shang Palace restaurant was terrible. They were out of stock with the first 2 wines we ordered & had to wait for ages for another bottle to finally come-they have to go somewhere else to a bar to get a bottle & then bring it back for a tasting & then go back for a an ice bucket & then come back to pour!!! The menu,which we knew was Chinese, still had almost nothing to offer Westerners(we had to send back one dish). We saw others leave after looking at the menu. The main dining room where breakfast buffet is served has terrible service.One morning they were so busy we had to get our food & find some place else in the hotel to eat.Find & pour our own coffee & scrounge for silverware.By this time our food was cold.They should have been prepared.By the time our wine came at dinner we were finished eating.Few staff speak English.All in all it was not a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi77772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#12 of 608 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 608 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Ron Inn
#6 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing