We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 648 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were here for 3 nights. Superb hotel - great staff - very freindly and helpful. Location beautiful. We wish we had spent longer at this location, as there was so much to see and do. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Horizon club - absolutely first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank RRMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second visit to china and previously we stayed at some other of the Shangri-La hotels. This one compares badly with the others as the standards of service are not as good. For example most nights, they have one bartender serving the bar, the lounge and the restaurant. so expect to wait 40 minutes for a drink.

the hotel is located outside the centre so its not easy to walk to anywhere. they run a shuttle bus but this is managed very badly. In our case we booked three seats on the bus but couldnt get on in the stampede as they let people on whether they have booked or not. the meeting point is on an unlite car park so didnt feel that safe

the restuarant is good and the rooms comfortable but overall its disappointing

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This Hotel is probably on of the best choice to stay in Guilin and although we have been skeptical before we would say now that it was one of the best Hotels we had in China. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is very helpful, speaks english well and the atmosphere of the hotel is also nice. We could store our heavy luggage without any problem two days while we have been on a tour on the Longji rice terraces. The location of the Hotel is a little bit outside of the city centre and thats why we have been sceptical before. However in the hindsight the have been happy to choose this Hotel and not one of the ugly once in the crowded city centre. It is anyway no problem to take a taxi wherever you want to go in Guilin, the taxi drivers are usually very friendly and helpful.Nothing to complain. It has its price but what you get is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CI31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very clean and nice hotel room. Awesome view to Lijiang River. Beautiful garden and outdoor swimming pool. Most importantly, very helpful and friendly staff!! A good choice of variaties of food at Breakfast. Definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fabulous facilities and a marvelously relaxing environment. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Had a terrific massage with a friend in a double room in the spa - staff outstanding. Two great swimming pools. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Mona442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you want a bit of luxury and some good facilites while exploring the river and countryside about Guilin then book this hotel.
It is a bit out of the city centre, but has views of the river and has very good sports/swimming/spa facilities.
The evening buffet is well worth the money and it includes drinks.
The staff are lovely and some dress in the traditional costumes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous hotel, fantastic roomswith amazing facilities. Beautiful gardens and water feature and also an outdoor pool. You can walk through the gardens at the rear to the Li River and see water buffaloes grazing. The buffet-style dinner was excellent with a lot of variety. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of food.Staff were very attentive and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a late review as we stayed there in August 2012, but I would definitely return to this hotel in a flash! Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 648 in Guilin
1,206 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 648 in Guilin
208 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 648 in Guilin
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 648 in Guilin
158 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#4 of 648 in Guilin
148 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 648 in Guilin
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 648 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $106 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing