We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Guilin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 609 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Guilin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed there for a short vacation in Qingming festival.
On arrival we where offered an upgrade to Horizon Club room which we took as our booking through Ctrip excluded breakfast. The Horizon rate included breakfast at the club lounge and main restaurant and also drinks and canapes in the evening. The club has a limited breakfast compared to the main restaurant however you can order bacon and eggs etc.
Our river view room was very nice and although the view is not spectacular it was pleasant. The staff are excellent and very attentive many are english speaking. We ate at the U Bar and the Chinese restaurant , food was good and priced well considering its a hotel.
The hotel is on the other side of the river from the town, so you need to take a taxi or walk. The walk is approx 20 minutes and you can see some sites on the way.
We had the hotel organise the river cruise and trip to rice terraces , think you pay a little more by doing this , however the tour guide and company were very good.
The gym is pretty well appointed also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    280
    96
    17
    16
See reviews for
230
415
47
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely hotel property with excellent restaurants. Breakfasts were very good, too. Service was good and location was a short and cheap taxi ride away from all the major local sights. It's a shame there's no such hotel in Yangshou. Rooms are very spacious and prices very reasonable. Overall, we had a lovely 4-night stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a free upgrade to a river view room and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel has not a very central location, but it is by far the best choice in town (at least having visited for a tea Sheraton and Fountain Hotel). The staff is speaking very good English and, unless a little misunderstanding while ordering room service, the overall service it is of a high level. Rooms are spacious and clean (although bath amenities could have been replaced more frequently), common spaces are well maintained and the indoor swimming pool and the gym center are very well equipped. As other reviewers, I wouldn't say that the dinner buffet is extremely good value for money, in fact I founded it a little over priced (600RMB) but it's true that you have a quite big choice.

Room Tip: We had a river view room, but in fact the view is not that spectacular, so don't bother the diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesecret2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a very elegant property outside of the busy main part of Guilin. As far as Shangri-La hotels go, this hotel seemed like a good value for the price paid. Our room was roomy enough to fit an extra bed in for our son with room to spare. Wonderful breakfast buffet too! The best we had during our 2 weeks in China! Wish we stayed here more than 2 nites!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intlarrivals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Most reviews can get very samey - denoting how the rooms are of a good standard, staff are friendly and food is enjoyable. But the Shangri-La Guilin takes it to a new level. The dinner buffet on offer every night at the hotel is extremely good value for money, with multiple cuisines and quick service. Guilin is a fantastic city to visit for witnessing authentic China, and both the location and concierge of the hotel ensure that this is maintained for international visitors. Within walking distance of many attractions, the staff can also grab you a cab within a minute to get you to local attractions a bit farther away e.g. Elephant Trunk Hill. All rooms are expectedly clean and the hotel offers comfort and peace of mind, as you are not worrying about the value for your money nor problems with your experience. This hotel really is a one-off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights here. There are many terrific reviews of this hotel. It definitely lives up to the "Shangri-La" name. So many employees in the hotel spoke such good English that I almost forgot we were in China.

The setting of the hotel is an oasis in the city. The hotel is quite new. The buffet breakfast was terrific. Due to our daily tours, we only ate one quick dinner in the Ubar, and it was very good also.

I spent the money on transfers for my family to and from the airport in a very nice van, with wifi! It was very nice and well worth the money (50 minutes each way).

Room Tip: Our river/garden view was very nice, but if you are touring every day you may just want a standard v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejb99tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Shangri-la Hotel in Guilin lives up to the Shangri-la tradition of excellence. This is a hotel in which your visit can never be long enough. Our room was excellent, facing the beautifully landscaped grounds between the hotel and the Li River. The gardens are worthy of a visit. Unfortunately, we visited before summer, and the beautiful outdoor pools were not open. Our room's view included many of the beautiful Guilin "gumdrop" mountains and the Li River. The room was very large with a beautiful bathroom. Both the room and the public spaces were well decorated and immaculate. The breakfast buffet was huge and included both western and Asian foods. The baked goods were outstanding. They had many stations making hot, fresh food for the patrons. We had sandwiches in a small bar/restaurant on the premises, and the cheeseburgers were a welcome respite from our usual Chinese entrees. The hotel is located across the river from the downtown and lake region of Guilin, but with a guide, we did not have a problem with this location. I must add that we were given some incorrect information during check-in, but the hotel stood behind the advice given by our agent. As in all of the Shangri-la Hotels I have visited, service was impecible. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Ron Inn
#5 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 609 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing