We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best rooms and breakfast in Guilin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 613 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best rooms and breakfast in Guilin”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Other than it's location away from the heart of the city, this is the place tom stay in Guilin. Very nice rooms, great service and an enormous, delicious breakfast buffet. One night when tired we had a decent dinner at the bar. You can leave luggage here while on the Li River cruise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    285
    97
    18
    16
See reviews for
234
423
51
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is the most beautiful hotel in Guilin by far. The lobby is grand with many chandeliers and the rooms and bathrooms are plush and very comfortable. Only minor downside is the location. It is at least 10 minutes out of the town center surrounded by some unattractive buildings. But it's the Li River cruise where the scenery is anyway. The Sheraton and Lijiang Waterfall have better locations (with restaurants and tourist sites next door) but are relatively dated tour group hotels. But taxis are inexpensive so it doesn't make that much of a difference.
The restaurants Shang Palace and Li Cafe are good and reasonably priced by foreign standards. Although in the Shang Palace smoking and non smoking aren't separated enough. It's just one medium sized room.
If you want to have a big breakfast included then the Horizon Club is worth it. For me I'd rather save my money and appetite for proper restaurant food instead. Don't need to fall for the hard sell to upgrade the River view isn't that spectacular.

Room Tip: Don't need to bother with River view it isn't that great unless you have money to spare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Shangri La for the last 5 days and had a fantastic time. We splashed out and stayed in the Horizon Club with a river view room. We were greeted by Bill, the duty manager on our arrival and he helped arrange flowers in the room . I proposed to my girlfriend in the room. The hotel was a perfect place for a romantic get away. Late November is the quiet season and it was nice not being amongst crowds of people. The staff were great, especially in thge Horizon Club. Ivy drew a special card for the both of us and we were very touched. We both enjoyed a 3 hours of relaxation at the spa which was very professional and one of the best we have been to so far. Guilin Shangri la will always be a special place for the both us and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 669 if you want a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. In a way it was a "vacation from a vacation" as we were on the go so much in Beijing, Xián that when we got to Guilin we just wanted to sit! So we did and the Shangri La is a great place to do that. We booked the Value rate as well and it's a very good deal! Also booked a suite at barely any more than a double and had a very nice separate lounge and 1/2 bath - handy!

Great views of the limestone hills from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went for a 6days tour in Guilin & Yangshuo.Nothing was so satisfying as to have a very comfortable ,clean , spacious and well design room and excellent lounge for relaxation.The location of the hotel is very scenic with a large garden for guest to walk around.The hotel services both room and restaurant are excellent .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

On our recent trip to China, we went to 7 cities, Guilin being one of the best and in the middle of our trip. Somehow, I stumbled upon something that the Shangri-La calls the Value Rate. I booked it online, on their website. For about $50 more per night, per room, we got airport transfers to and from the airport and we're picked up by a driver who offered us scented, cool washcloths and bottled water in the car. Also included was the buffet breakfast for two every day which was wonderful. There was an incredible selection of food and the wait staff was amazing. Even though, the dining room was filled with tons of people, they remembered us each day and what our preferences were - like preferring my cappuccino extra hot. Additionally included in the rate is unlimited laundry and dry cleaning. They picked up our clothing with 3 minutes of calling and everything was waiting for us at the end of the day on hangers and folded beautifully in wooden boxes with sachets. Lastly, you get late check out (6pm) and free wireless internet. This hotel is top notch with service that rivals any hotel in the world and the value rate package gave us a beautiful river view room with all of these added extras!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

An excellent hotel with all mod cons and all the trappings of a modern international hotel. And yet somehow it manages to have little touches which remind you that you are in China, not just anywhere in the world. An excellent lounge just off the main reception area had picture windows letting you sit and look at the tranquil areas outside in the grounds of the hotel. Although Guilin is promoted as a destination city, we saw none of that and were there to take the trip down the Li River. Well worth doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 613 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 613 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 613 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 613 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 613 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 613 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing