We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 619 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, on
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at paradise because this is what the hotel was like. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The staff could not do enough for you through out the day. It was evident the staff has had excellent training. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and we ate dinner twice in the Chinese restaurant. The food was yummy an reasonably priced. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great. We did not have a river view but we didn't need it as we didn't sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    287
    99
    18
    16
See reviews for
242
431
53
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the Guilin branch of a world-class hotel chain. I wish we had stayed there more than one night. Luxury accommodations with outstanding service. Very extensive breakfast and dinner buffets with choices from many different cuisines. For example, dinner had Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Italian and other Western dishes. Rooms had free Wi-Fi. A bit remote from the center of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel rooms feature all the bells and whistles of a 5*-hotel, nothing special here. Breakfast has the usual options, liked their bread, though.
What sets this place apart is the very friendly and attentive staff that is always greeting you with a nice smile and providing excellent service throughout. Secondly, the pool area is fantastic - a huge indoor pool and a beautifully designed large outdoor pool area.
WiFi was a bit spotty in the room, but I can't blame them as it is nowhere advertised as even having any WiFi at all, so I was actually pleasantly surprised.
Downside may be that it is outside of the city, and there is nothing much in the vicinity of the hotel worth going to, but as I anyhow just wanted to relax on my last day of China National Holiday Travel Madness this was the perfect place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeItHereMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a Grand Tour of China with Cox and Kings. Although we stayed for 2 nights, our time in the hotel was limited due to our hectic schedule.
We were welcomed by staff and offered drinks whilst our rooms were sorted. We were staying in a Deluxe River View room which was excellent, overlooking the river Li and the hotel grounds.
The breakfast selection was not as vast as we had experienced elsewhere, but was perfectly acceptable and we had a very good steak for dinner when we ate in.
The hotel was very busy, with staff (some in traditional dress) at strategic points to make sure you didn't get lost. There was also musak, which you either love or hate.
A 5* service in terms 0f bed linen changes and turn down was provided.
One thing, which seems common amongst Shagri La hotels, is that their shower head never stays put & moves from where you have positioned it - annoying.
Our one regret is that we didn't have time to enjoy the outside swimming pool area and terraces which looked lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
225 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice rooms, friendly staff, gym facility is ok. I booked a club room and the club room facilities were good. Generally the staff is very service minded and friendly. The advices given prior to doing tours were execellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was a very nice hotel with very clean rooms and nice amenities. There were several people in the lobby dressed in typical costumes of the area. Everyone was very pleasant. There are only two regrets… the time we were there is was rainy and the pool looked great. I would of liked to taken a swim there. The other issue was that it was outside of the center of town. The taxi wasn't expensive but to get to the center of town you had to take a taxi. Oh and the food was very good at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stevec418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were in Guilin for only 2 nights. Shangri-La hotel is not walking distance from the main touristy streets and restaurants, you need to take a 5 minute taxi ride (very cheap) - the only problem is on the way back, when most taxi drivers will want to avoid the taximeter and charge you three times the price (still cheap). The hotel is mint new, very beautiful and imponent, with all amenities one can imagine. The place is mostly for family or business, the children are everywhere. Rooms are great, bathrooms fantastic. Since on the first night in Guilin we went to have dinner at the so called "walking street" and the restaurants were not that great, we decided to have dinner at the hotel on the second night. In one of the restaurants, they offer a large buffet with all kinds of food, from western to local specialties. Very decent. Breakfest is great, despite the number of people and the noisy restaurant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Planetorexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 619 in Guilin
1,145 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 619 in Guilin
204 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 619 in Guilin
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#7 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 619 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing