We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #2 of 210 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here the staff were lovely and made the effort to learn all of our names on the first day. Theres lots of space, the bamboo garden is big and serves as a great beer garden! The bar had various sofas and blankets and pillows to lounge around in and the menu was excellent. Drink prices were a bit on the high side but there were supermarkets very nearby to help you stock up. The movie room was good had lots of dvds on offer but could have done with a door to block out some noise from the bar. The tours we took with the hostel such as the Li River cruise were really good fun and worth the money. The rooms were average in size and appearance, the bathrooms had western toilets but were wet rooms although still fairly clean. Overall its worth a visit especially for the bbq on fridays!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 412 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here last summer while I was backpacking through China. This was one of my top 3 hostels. The hostel itself has a cool and funky feel to it. The food was good. The best thing about this hostel was the staff. The girls spoke great English, were always helpful, and loads of fun to talk to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0untain_hiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a nice stay in the hostel, staff is extremely friendly and the food is marvellous. Only downside is the location, hostel is set in a courtyard close to a busy road and near the train tracks. Result is a nightlong barrage of train horns. Also, we had a double bed (hard, but comfy enough), however the duvet/ balnket seemed to belong to a single bed. Resulting in a nightlong blanket pulling contest. Nevertheless, staff is lovely, food is great and rooms are clean.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BvanderBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

cool hostal very warm and welcoming people.can stay here for a long time. free pool table and.dvd room with a large selection for everyone. clean and comfortable rooms with bed warming.facilities for the winter months. great company from fiona, qian and feng in a awesome hostal on the rainy days.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekychumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wada not only provided great service and a fun environment to stay in, but also through Wada, we were able to see and do everything that was on our Guilin checklist! They provided pick up service from airport straight to hostel, and to many other sightseeing locations. During my stay, the night before our flight back to Zhejiang province, I left my purse behind in the hostel. The next morning right before our flight out I realized it was missing. They spent much time helping me locate it by checking the security cameras, helping me file a police report, giving me a message in mandarin that helped explain my circumstance to the airport security, and much more! SO HELPFUL! My purse had be recovered by another guest at Wada but was drunk so he took it back to his room and didn't wake up till late afternoon. This resulted in a mess of a situation for me, but definitely a great travel lesson learned! I will never forget how helpful and hospitable Wada was during our stay! (Great barbeque also!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had an excellent two nights at Wada. The staff were exceptionally helpful and spoke good English. Monica was endlessly cheerful and good humoured. We enjoyed samples of their home cooking - vegetable noodles and a kind of Anzac biscuit. Breakfasts were good and promptly served. The bamboo garden was a pleasant area to sit over a few beers with fellow guests. (We didn't get free water, but there was a water cooler on our floor.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanceBombardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've spent 3 nights at Wada Hostel and it was perfect.
First of all, the wellcoming staff were nice and allways happy to help and give usefull tips for the area and the hostel's facielities.
Moreover, the hostel offers a great food menu in it's restaurant. The food varies between pizza, pasta and western style breakfasts to traditional chinese food. All the food we've tried was amazing really delicious.
Last but not least, the rooms. The rooms were comfortable, spacious, and each person gets his own locker and key foc. The beds were good, compared to other hostels in China, and each one has a curtain that makes the sleeping really comfortable and private.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ehud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zen Tea House
Zen Tea House
#1 of 210 in Guilin
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
1.6 mi away
Guilin Central Hostel
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 47 in Guilin
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing