We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“coolest hostel. ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 191 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Xiamen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“coolest hostel. ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

when we arrived at this place we can't help getting awestruck. it was very cozy and the staff were very friendly and informative. they had pool, comfy couches, tv room, reading room and a nice bar. the rooms were very nice too: clean and some had nice paintings on the wall. very warm inside, even the beds had heater! strong wifi in the lobby only. they cook nice breakfast too! free for the double bed room, and only about 13rmb(50% off) for those staying in the dorm rooms. I think this is the only place in Guilin city that I really liked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XFreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    97
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
115
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and it was great to see such a well set up hostel. Bar, food, Internet, clean rooms, locker storage and a free breakfast (included in single room bookings) were all great. They arranged our late night pick up from the airport and the early morning boat trip the next morning.

I still can't get over how cheap it was and if you're looking for a hostel in Guilin I fully recommend Wada. That said, I'd suggest not staying too long in Guilin. Get out and explore just outside Yangshou, stay for a couple of nights rather than just getting a day trip on the boat, I promise it'll be worth it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlisonBristol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. We actually made the mistake of staying in a different hotel in Guilin initially, but we visited Wada because it was new year and we wanted to find others in the same situation. We just fell in love with the place. Staff are fantastic, speak perfect english and are extremely warm and friendly.
Food and drink are cheap and great. It's just a wonderful place. Don't make the mistake of going somewhere else, you'll regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielfurnivall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

While waiting for our train to Kunming we stayed at WADA for two night following many recommendations from other travelers. We stayed in a double room with A/C heating which is crucial this time of year and the bathroom was okay. The room looked generic but well kept and clean.
Guilin is not super interesting so we just wondered around town and stayed a lot at the hostel. They have an amazing DVD library and a great communal area with good music, good energy and we met some nice people.
They also provided free 30RMB value breakfast which saved us some money.
All in all - awesome place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

After reading previous reviews regarding the noise level I was a bit unsure if I had picked the right place, however I can safely say this has been one of the best places I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

First of all the English levels of all the staff really helps for someone who doesn't speak Chinese (like me) but wants to get the most of their time here. They helped me plan my trips around the city and to Yangshou and gave me some neat recommendations on where to go given my short time here, thanks a lot!!!

The Hostel itself has a friendly and warm communal area with a quieter reading room, film room (with a great selection of movies), bar area and a nice free pool table. It gives a great and comfortable environment to chat with other travellers in and has a great big stove heater for the colder days (thanks again!!) with plenty of blankets to hand if someone else has beaten you to the sofas surrounding it. Prices are fair and the bar staff are excellent, with the food coming out in huge tasty portions.

As for the rooms they are very comfortable, the shared dorm I stayed in had 4 beds and shower room, everything worked and being the tall guy I am I was very pleased with the length of the bed, which fitted all of my 6 foot 4 inches in with space to spare. It was also cleaned on every day of my stay, a refreshing change to what I am used to staying in Hostels. On my last night I won a Christmas-Eve party competition and was upgraded to a double room all on my own, a welcome sight after all the drinking and party games, which also had a private shower room, very clean furnishings and an efficient heater to keep me toasty throughout the night. Both of the beds I stayed in also had heated blankets...they were awesome!

Having tried to think of any down points the only two I can think of is the bar girl beating me 19-4 on the pool table and having to leave.....I will definitely miss the place and stay again if I visit the area in the future. I really recommend anyone else to do the same!

Thank you so much for an amazing stay and fun evenings, miss you all!!!

Room Tip: Come for the free dumpling making workshop on Monday evening, its free and you get to eat all the du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

What else should I expect to a hostel which I only paid 40rmb per night? Free wifi (even can connect to Facebook, you know after spent 3 months in China, this is really important!), free pool table, free wii and free movies! Even breakfast was half price which was really tasty. The most impressive point is staff, every girl there was so helpful and funny! Love this place, it made my trip to Guilin in winter was so warm (including the electric blanket provided by the hostel)!! Defi recommend Wada to any travelers to Guilin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

after leaving home,i cant login to my facebook anywhere else in china,WADA make it possible and i manage to upload interesting picture to my facebook.the room is ok and basics and clean,thanks to the heater pad provide make my sleep not in freezing cold but warm.the staff very helpfull and friendly,they can provide good information,the tours organize is good.i enjoy staying here.and they give discount on the breakfast meal to everyone staying at the time we were there.thanks to WADA,make our trip to Guilin leave excellent experiences.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suicaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
1.4 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#5 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing