We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wada Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$15
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wisteria Hotel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$20
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Inn Guilin Bus Main Station(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$36
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lakeside Inn(Guilin)
$46
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hostel(Guilin)(Great Value!)
$31
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
279
100
29
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
100
29
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tabletrain stationmovie roombbq nightswan hotelmeet other travellerscommon areassingle roomprivate roomrice terracesrooms are cleanwe've stayedlate at nightli river cruisetourswifivpn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 413 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After having stayed at sims cozy garden in chengdu and having read the reviews of this place, we chose this because it seemed to be quite similar. Actually, it is, but sims does everything a little bit better. Still, the place is definitely good. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced and have electric blankets, staff friendly, helpful, and speak (very) good english.

However, now the buts.
Luckily, we noticed the bedbugs in our room before we went to bed. So we switched rooms, and everything was fine in that regard. At the next day, a carpenter started working on the bed frames of the infested room, sandpapering them very intensively. I dont know whether that actually helps, but it was done thoroughly. When we left 3 nights later, the room was still open with the frames disassembled, so i guess they were even planning to do more. Which shows that they take it seriously and it should not be a problem for future guests. Also, the rooms we switched to were bugfree, although directly adjacant to the old one.

The second but is the food. People seemed to really like it, but we found neither the western nor the chinese food brilliant. though it was totally eatable. And a little pricey, like in most hostels. a little more butter for the breakfast toasts would be nice :)

Third, the music in the bar usually played very loud, and except for the outdoorarea, there was no other place to chill quietly or have a decent conversation. This music problem is most unhandy if you try to watch a movie in the movieroom, because it is directly next to the pool table in the bar area, with no closable door. But before anybody gets too scared, the rooms are quiet!

So overall, a good hostel, with a few buts.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sascha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Though set back from the road, the Wada Hostel is located in quite a busy area. While that is great news as far as going out for dinner at night or getting a bus to the city centre is concerned, it also makes for quite a bit of noise. So if you are planning to sleep beyond 7, be aware that honking cars and alarm clocks going off next door will make ear plugs essential. Also, maybe because it was during the off season, there was quite a bit of renovation work going on, which added to the noise level and meant you had paint fumes wafting around you.

The downstairs shared area with a café is comfy, with friendly staff and food and beer at decent prices, and there are lockers for your valuables right next to reception, so nobody can get to them unseen. The shared area is also where you have to be to go online as the free wifi they mention on their website doesn't extend to the rooms. But then that's the idea of a hostel anyway: To be where other travellers are.

Bottom line: If, like me, you're in Guilin for a stopover, then the Wada is a safe, clean place for the night. If you're planning on staying longer, or packing some jetlag, maybe shop around a bit to see what other options there are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were lucky to arrive in this hostel ! After a long trip in china we wanted to find a place where we felt good to spend some time and that was juste perfect ! Since we arrive the boss zhuning and all her staff were friendly and they all spoke english. (it's important sometimes having the feeling chinese understand you...) In this place you will have very good advices to visit rice terraces , bamboo boat trips and visit of guilin and the countryside. To be honnest we spend a lot of time doing nothing in the hotel because we felt good... moreover you have facebook in the place !
They organize kitchen lessons in the evening and they are always ready to have a drink... we have test it !!!

Enjoy your trip in Guilin

Love Wada, zhuning and his girl great staff

Two french guys lost in asia

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popov35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location, very close to rail and bus stations and with good bus links to the city centre (1rmb and 10mins). Lovely little common area / bar with good food and fresh coffee. Fast wifi and facebook access. We stayed in a double room which was a good size and had a lovely hot shower. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful and friendly and really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place had a really excellent feel. The bar area was great, very relaxed with good drinks and always someone to chat with (though food was really a bit pricey). Our room was okay, not very clean and we found the location challenging. Apart from the big shopping centre and the bus station nothing was really walking distance. I would recommend it though just as an affordable place to chill out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahneejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews