We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes this hostel great!”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 208 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The staff makes this hostel great!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Spent a night at the Wada with my family on our way to Yangshuo. Nice but small restaurant/bar area and VERY lovely patio. Rooms were basic but clean and more than adequate for our needs. The staff is really what sets this hostel apart - very friendly, caring, fun, and enthusiastic. They will do just about anything to help you with whatever you need and they give the place a fun, friendly and very welcoming vibe. My family also really enjoyed the dumpling party. Good location, short taxi or bus ride away from the bus station and across the street from a local market and mall for all your shopping needs. Will definitely return to the Wada!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Your family was very warm and it was delightful to have them around and be part of our fun dumpling party. We know you're not too far away so come back anytime! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    99
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
119
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

After staying in a good hostel in Chengdu we arrived at Guilin expecting the same standard as we only paid 1GBP less each night for a double en suite room. We were checked in, but not shown to our room, so when our key said 209 and it did not exist we were slightly confused! It turns out our key was meant to say 208 instead of 209 and we worked this out ourselves instead of going back down to reception. Once settled in our room, we realised that our TV wasn't working, which isn't hugely important to us but sometimes nice to have on in the background when we had just arrived. I went down to reception and they said they would come and look at it. The girl said she would have to get a new TV Card for us and would come back shortly but she never did. The staff were not very helpful, and after asking many questions we decided to work it out ourselves. We booked the bamboo raft to Yangshuo through the hotel, which turned out to be a coach ride to the pier, then a boat up and down the river, then back to the same pier to go to Yangshuo. On our second night we were not able to sleep as there was lots of building work going on and also fire crackers being set off very late at night and very early in the morning. Overall the hostel was OK but not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Corin,

Thank you for staying at Wada. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to remark on some of your statements. We feel that a critical review deserves a critical response. Firstly, we feel that comparing us with a hostel in Chengdu is rather unfair because there are so many different factors to consider (competition, demand, market). Mainly, it's just a completely different city and the price reflects that. Our price is on par with market price if not better. Most guests will find that we offer extreme value to the dollar spent. As for the TV situation, we do apologize for that. TVs within rooms is more of a hotel concept and take the place of less than interesting hotel atmospheres. Also, in China, you won't find quality English channels due to limitations of local TV providers and from China's censorship laws. We've gone ahead and removed all the remaining TVs so to encourage guests to hang out in the lounge and engage in small talk with other guests or with Team Wada staff. We have a large screen TV situated in the bar which is great for sporting events. We've had the recent Eurocup which was a blast and now with the Olympics going on, it just adds to the fun. We also have a cozy little movie room with tons of movies to choose from and also a video game area that can be utilized for free for any guests just wanting to pass the time.

As for the tour, we don't know what to say. The bamboo raft is the most popular tour to Yangshuo also being the most economical. The itinerary is also clearly described in our tour book. Every detail is disclosed and there are no surprises. There were other options to choose from that would have taken you the full length of the river to Yangshuo but that of course would add to the price. Many guests opt for the bamboo raft because they see it as a unique experience and they don't want to be in the river for such a long duration of time to enjoy it.

As for the sleep quality at night, the building work you heard was in fact necessary road maintenance and the installation of a traffic light to facilitate the high traffic in the area due to the new mall and botanical garden across the street from us. You won't hear building construction at night as it is not permitted because it is not an immediate essential service. In such cases as these, we would be more than happy to give our guests an extra hour or two of sleep after checkout because we understand that a body can't function without proper rest. Guilin is a developing city as with all of China and these little inconveniences will occur from time to time so do keep those earplugs in hand. And please understand that the fireworks is of our national tradition. We're just thankful that we aren't located beside a fireworks factory. =)

I hope this review has answered some of the questions our potential guests may have had for our hostel. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our team by email or phone.

Thank you,

Team Wada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Small things sometimes matter. Tv didnt work so we asked reception to help they came to room and said it was the tv card and they would return,never did.So for the stay we had no tv,isnt a big deal but like i said small things matter. We payed for a room with a tv so we expect a room with tv. The staff were not that great, the american who works there being the worse,didnt seem bothered in the slightest. One girl on reception was very helpful but that was it. Location not so great. You could probably find better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Wada hostel was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, all speak excellent English, the atmosphere was fun, the rooms were clean and comfortable (stayed in the female dorm), with private bathroom and a\c.
Unfortunately this was my almost only highlight in Guilin, I didn't spend much time there..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shira0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Shira!

Thank you for your review! It means so much to us that you enjoyed your time here. To say that we were one of your highlights in Guilin is just too flattering! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for one night in a 4 bed dorm. It had great reviews on hostelworld so I wanted to give it a try. It was no good. I have stayed in many hostels and this was by far the least clean place. The bathroom looked as though it had not been cleaned in weeks. The sheets had hairs on them looked dirty. There were no lockers to keep valuables safe. It smelled bad as well. The location is terrible. I spent most all of my time walking or riding the bus back and forth to the center of town and other sites. I would stay near the city center on Zhongshan Lu. This will allow you easier access to shopping, bars, restaurants and the sites. The staff was too cool to help with the exception of one girl who spent a few minutes showing me places on the map. On the bright side, the food was decent, not great. I met some cool people. The botanical gardens and a mall are right across the street. The common areas were nice and the entire place had decent wifi service. It was insanely cheap. My opinion, find somewhere else to stay. Anywhere but here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shalynn5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
This guest has blatantly lied and clearly is out to vilify our hostel. There are strong indications that this review was encouraged by competing hostels. Our hostel has been, since its inception, always about the guests. There has never, and I mean never an instance where any guest has left without kind words to say. There may be very exceptional cases where guests may have been slightly inconvenienced due to maintenance, renovations, delays in tours. Even in these cases, we actively try to rectify every unique situation ensuring that our guests are treated right.

We ask that all guests with any concerns they may have to bring it to the attention to our attentive staff. Each staff member has an exceptional command for the English language and will listen and address to all your concerns. Please treat us as your friends because we see you all as ours.

We have faith that Tripadvisor will remove this review as it's not genuine and discourages others from relying on reviews when unfair and unwarranted reviews such as this one are not attended to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great value for money, Wada is clean, good facilities, cosy and the staff are very friendly. Good coffee too! Well recommended!

Room Tip: Private rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samjane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Love the people and the atmosphere at this hostel. The staff were super cheerful and friendly. They also helped to arrange my trips to Yangshuo and Longji.
Great value and the place is very well kept.
Place comes with free wifi (and two computers with internet access), pool table, lots of sitting areas, outdoor patio, old-style fireplace, rock climbing wall, a bar with cute girls, and a big friendly golden retriever.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boon-Hau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 637 in Guilin
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#7 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 637 in Guilin
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing