We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Died and went to dumpling heaven”

NengRen Shan SuShi Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 307 Restaurants in Guilin
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the Neng Ren Temple. Great selection and wide variety of vegetarian dishes served in big portions.
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Died and went to dumpling heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Maybe it's because there haven't been many vegetarian options elsewhere in China, but I ADORED the "chi su jiaozi" at Nengren! It has been a personal crusade to seek out veggie options, and this was hands-down the coolest I've found so far. Upon walking in (after finally finding the place in the dark), a group of monks were filling and folding hundreds of dumplings at the table next to me. I was given free hot tea and a whole basket-full of veggie dumplings for just 10 RMB. They were - no joke - the best I've had anywhere in China. The menu was indecipherable and falling apart, but the jiaozi - MWAH! Amazing. A must for fellow vegetarians!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
zhengzhou
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, would go somewhere else next time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was average and location was very easy to get to. Menu has pictures, but no English. Contrary to the other review, the food was not spicy at all. If you don't want spicy say, "Boo yow la." I have eaten veggie all over the world and in four other cities in China. It was average, but you don't have many options in Guilin. I will try the other place, but i do recommend this one. Staff was nice. Free green tea. Freezing cold in winter. Had large tables for large groups.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goddess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very good vegetarian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

As mentioned in the reviews everything is very much the same. Was difficult to decide on the dishes as there was not much explanations on the dishes. We finally decided on the photos of each item had a small surprise as they were a bit spicy.

Would recommend all vegetarian to visit this restaurant and the people are very friendly and the service is good too.

Thanks all for the reviews and was very helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great veg restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Located inside the temple area, this restaurant serves Chinese-style vegetarian/vegan food with some truly unbelievable meat-tasting fakes :-) The staff are older non-English-speaking Chinese ladies and the menu is also mostly available only in Chinese, but there are some pictures; anyway, the menu is so extensive with so many dishes that you could spend an hour deciding (although many of them may be somehow unavailable), so speaking Chinese doesn't help you really :-) Food was delicious; it's also obviously popular among the locals, which is always a good sign. Service was good and fast.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcerenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Many great dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This restaurant definitely satisfied my craving for authentic vegetarian cuisine. They incorporated a lot of mock meat dishes using soy. Nice atmosphere and adjacent to temple.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NengRen Shan SuShi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to NengRen Shan SuShi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing