We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, helpful staff”
Review of Riverside Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Hostel
Ranked #11 of 619 Hotels in Guilin
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room, helpful staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hostel is centrally located and within walking distance to most sites (Lake Shan, Lake Rong, Elephant Hill) and pedestrian areas (Xicheng Rd, 5 min away, Zhengyang Pedestrian St, 10-15min away).

The hostel itself is on the banks of a smaller river called the Peach Blossom River which makes for a nice evening stroll. A plus is that every taxi driver I came across (even ones out of town from Longji and Yangshuo) know of this hostel as "Jiu Long Fan Dian". Sites such as the Solitary Beauty Peak and the Folded Brocade Hill are 10 minutes away by car.

There are heaps of places to eat nearby but two restaurants we discovered are: 1) Guilin Feizai (lit. Guilin Fatboy), is across the intersection from Riverside and is a fantastic local chain restaurant with traditional decor and great service. All classic Guilin dishes are available. Dishes are 40-80 RMB. 2) If you want to sample Guilin Noodles and eat with locals, you can find it at a traditional noodle bar called Tonglai Noodles in an alley behind Guilin Feizai. The shop has been around for a long time and is always filled with people. It is open breakfast, lunch and dinner. We went there for breakfast every morning. Noodles are around 4-10 RMB.

We stayed in the Wide Riverview Couple Room with balcony as well as the Riverview Couple Room and both were spacious, clean and minimally but tastefully furnished. The bathroom was basic but clean.

The staff were keen to help with any questions or issues.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, opt for the couple room with balcony or the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    106
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
27
106
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Absolutely exemplerary service - the staff really made our trip. The wet-room shower arrangement wasn't ideal, but other than that the room was acceptable.

Thanks to a severely delayed flight (side note, avoid Spring Airlines at all costs), we didn't arrive until about 3am - there were no English speaking staff left at that time but they'd left us a room key and a note so we could attempt to salvage something of a nights sleep.

The next morning we were too late for the tour we watned to get - the Li river cruise - and thought we were going to have to miss something out as we already had another flight booked in a few days time. One of the hostel guides, Mike, sat down with us and planned out a tour that took in all we wanted to see that day and more.

He acted as our personal tour guide all day, taking us on the bus down to Yangshuo, hiring bikes and leading us on a short cycling tour of the area before taking us on a cruise down the Yulong river, then meeting us at the other end with the bikes and cycling on to a nearby show cave.

It was the best day of our holiday without doubt, and we saw much more than we would have done otherwise.

Can't recommend the Riverside Hostel enough - this is the place to stay in Guilin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On my 3 monthly travel around China one of my favorite places to stay. Staff very helpfull, good english and nice atmosphere. Location in the center of town, beautifully placed at the riverside.
They have nice mountainbikes to drive around the beautiful area around guilin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis298556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It`s one of the best hostels i`ve ever been. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. The common area is pretty big with a terrace. It`s perfect if you are a group and need a lot of space. You can also have a meal there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Huge clean room with comfortable double bed. Large bathroom with a hot shower with high water pressure. They even let us check out late (4pm) so that my wife, who was feeling ill at the time, could stay in the room until our train left that evening. All in all I couldn't fault it on anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here a very short time: came from Yangshuo at night, and left at 6 AM to the airport.
I reserved a private ensuite room. It was nice, modern, clean and spacious. However, I specifically asked - on email - for a quiet room, but the one I got was actually close to some kind of a bar and therefore not very quiet.
The staff were very kind, and the food was OK and not expensive.
The location is very convenient - 10-15 minutes walk from the central bus station.
As usual in China - don't bother to ask the hotel for a taxi to the airport. It will cost you thrice as much as going out to the street and hailing a cab (90RMB instead of 30 RMB).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosef k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed in Guilin for 3 nights in a 6-bed bedroom.

First and foremost, the staff are super friendly and very keen to help guests. Besides, I would say that they don't force you to book trips which is usually the case in hostels. Also, the staff are english-speaking and willing to negotiate prices when it comes to tour guides etc.

Regarding the room itself: good but a bit humid (it's fine as they have a dehumidifier). Clean and enough room but I would recommend to use a different product on the blank sheet to avoid mosquitoes etc.

Overall, I would say that I have a very pleasant trip and I truly suggest anyone to stay in this hostel for their trip to Guilin ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
126 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 619 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 619 in Guilin
1,145 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 619 in Guilin
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hostel

Property: Riverside Hostel
Address: No.1 Zhumu Alley, Nanmen Bridge, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 619 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing