We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Guilin”
Review of Riverside Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Hostel
Ranked #12 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Huge clean room with comfortable double bed. Large bathroom with a hot shower with high water pressure. They even let us check out late (4pm) so that my wife, who was feeling ill at the time, could stay in the room until our train left that evening. All in all I couldn't fault it on anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here a very short time: came from Yangshuo at night, and left at 6 AM to the airport.
I reserved a private ensuite room. It was nice, modern, clean and spacious. However, I specifically asked - on email - for a quiet room, but the one I got was actually close to some kind of a bar and therefore not very quiet.
The staff were very kind, and the food was OK and not expensive.
The location is very convenient - 10-15 minutes walk from the central bus station.
As usual in China - don't bother to ask the hotel for a taxi to the airport. It will cost you thrice as much as going out to the street and hailing a cab (90RMB instead of 30 RMB).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosef k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed in Guilin for 3 nights in a 6-bed bedroom.

First and foremost, the staff are super friendly and very keen to help guests. Besides, I would say that they don't force you to book trips which is usually the case in hostels. Also, the staff are english-speaking and willing to negotiate prices when it comes to tour guides etc.

Regarding the room itself: good but a bit humid (it's fine as they have a dehumidifier). Clean and enough room but I would recommend to use a different product on the blank sheet to avoid mosquitoes etc.

Overall, I would say that I have a very pleasant trip and I truly suggest anyone to stay in this hostel for their trip to Guilin ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our stay in Guilin @ Riverside Hostel was excellent! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The locations is very good; close to the city centre and next to the river. Besides, the services they offer are very convenient: very interesting tours, ticket service, laundery service, free wifi, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The płace is realny nice and very friendly. Rooms are fine (however standard between rooms is a bit different). Breakfast is good as well and even if sometimes is a bit to cold is tasty it's done with heart by the staff. And The most wonderful in The hostel are people - very friendly and helpful!!! It's great place to stay!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank aaleksandraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Strongly recommend this hostel. It is excellent value and the rooms are large and clean. Our bathroom was a tad basic and in need of refurbishment but all the facilities were there and for £11 per night...... The location is lovely and quiet although very central. Breakfast on the patio, overlooking a tributary of the nearby Li River was delightful. The real secret to the place is its staff. It seems to be run by a team of girls who are so helpful - and fluent in english too! We advance booked the Li River trip to Yangshuo through them and it went without a hitch. As is often the case, the beds are hard!

Room Tip: It's down a lane so all rooms are quiet, ones at the back even more so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-peculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff make this place! This is a really excellent hostel, especially travelling in china with no English. It's clean comfortable and well located and the staff really can't do enough for you. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jingxiang Hotel
Jingxiang Hotel
#5 of 652 in Guilin
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 652 in Guilin
153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.0 mi away
Secret Courtyard Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hostel

Address: No.1 Zhumu Alley, Nanmen Bridge, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riverside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing