We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel”
Review of Riverside Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Hostel
Ranked #12 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The płace is realny nice and very friendly. Rooms are fine (however standard between rooms is a bit different). Breakfast is good as well and even if sometimes is a bit to cold is tasty it's done with heart by the staff. And The most wonderful in The hostel are people - very friendly and helpful!!! It's great place to stay!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank aaleksandraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Strongly recommend this hostel. It is excellent value and the rooms are large and clean. Our bathroom was a tad basic and in need of refurbishment but all the facilities were there and for £11 per night...... The location is lovely and quiet although very central. Breakfast on the patio, overlooking a tributary of the nearby Li River was delightful. The real secret to the place is its staff. It seems to be run by a team of girls who are so helpful - and fluent in english too! We advance booked the Li River trip to Yangshuo through them and it went without a hitch. As is often the case, the beds are hard!

Room Tip: It's down a lane so all rooms are quiet, ones at the back even more so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-peculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff make this place! This is a really excellent hostel, especially travelling in china with no English. It's clean comfortable and well located and the staff really can't do enough for you. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spend 3 nights in Guilin. The hostel is really good. Service is excellent and rooms are clean and wide. I recommend this hostel for everyone but, actually, Guilin city is not as nice as we expected. Maybe should be better expend a little less time in Guilin and move to Yangshuo where there are the most beautiful landscapes in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dosounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff were fantastic. The room was clean and the bed quite comfy if you like hard beds. The bathroom was clean and the shower fantastic. The breakfasts were ok except for cold hard fried eggs but the friendliness of the staff made up for it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here before and after we went to Yangshuo. The first private room was really really nice. Clean, cosy, comfi. But the second room was dirty, old and not like the other one.
You should be prepared to have a small distance to the ''downtown'', where the most western restaurents are placed. You need to go for around 15 min. each way :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The riverside hostel is well located, not far from the bus and train stations and actually next to the river. Having breakfast on the terrace was lovely.

I went for a "couples" en-suite room (travelling alone) and wasn't disappointed for the price. Its verging on a hotel in terms of layout.

Only negatives would be a slightly in-need-of-a-clean shower curtain and the hallways echo so if you get some late-night revellers coming back, you can definitely hear everything. I don't think thats worth stealing a star off them, though.

They're also able to book the usual tours / tickets etc and this felt like a little bit of calm in an otherwise (surprisingly) hectic city.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 657 in Guilin
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jingxiang Hotel
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 657 in Guilin
151 reviews
0 mi away
Secret Courtyard Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hostel

Address: No.1 Zhumu Alley, Nanmen Bridge, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: $11 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing