We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside Hostel
Ranked #10 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff make this place! This is a really excellent hostel, especially travelling in china with no English. It's clean comfortable and well located and the staff really can't do enough for you. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    105
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
27
105
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spend 3 nights in Guilin. The hostel is really good. Service is excellent and rooms are clean and wide. I recommend this hostel for everyone but, actually, Guilin city is not as nice as we expected. Maybe should be better expend a little less time in Guilin and move to Yangshuo where there are the most beautiful landscapes in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dosounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff were fantastic. The room was clean and the bed quite comfy if you like hard beds. The bathroom was clean and the shower fantastic. The breakfasts were ok except for cold hard fried eggs but the friendliness of the staff made up for it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here before and after we went to Yangshuo. The first private room was really really nice. Clean, cosy, comfi. But the second room was dirty, old and not like the other one.
You should be prepared to have a small distance to the ''downtown'', where the most western restaurents are placed. You need to go for around 15 min. each way :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The riverside hostel is well located, not far from the bus and train stations and actually next to the river. Having breakfast on the terrace was lovely.

I went for a "couples" en-suite room (travelling alone) and wasn't disappointed for the price. Its verging on a hotel in terms of layout.

Only negatives would be a slightly in-need-of-a-clean shower curtain and the hallways echo so if you get some late-night revellers coming back, you can definitely hear everything. I don't think thats worth stealing a star off them, though.

They're also able to book the usual tours / tickets etc and this felt like a little bit of calm in an otherwise (surprisingly) hectic city.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhengzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The description in the latest Rough Guide is correct for this hostel; it's like a Bed and Breakfast in Europe. Staff are friendly and have good knowledge of the local area too. If you stay in the winter expect low prices on rooms and trips. I recommend the Li River cruise and a visit to the rice terraces in Ping An. The English speaking guides made everything seem effortless. I would love to visit Guilin again and I would definitely return to this hostel.In fact, whilst I was there I heard 3 other travellers asking if they could stay a further night, so it's not just me who thinks it is good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The riverside hotel were very helpful organising trips for us and booking train tickets for us to go to Shenzhen after our stay in Guilin. The location is great right next to the river and a nice easy walk away from the main streets of Guilin as well as the elephant trunk hill. The hotel has wifi on every floor that was pretty reliable though did cut out when skyping, but still managed to use it quite well every day despite this. There is also a couple of computers in the lobby that can be used I think free of charge. The hotel has stairs and the triple room we had was very spacious with two separate rooms and a tv, though the tv did seem to cut out every now and again? No English channels. The shower was only ever warm never hot and a big problem we had really was the stench of smoke in the bedroom. I put on the air conditioning during the night to warm up the room and I'm sure the smell of smoke was piping out of the air conditioning i could smell the smoke on my hair and clothes. Still we had paid so little for the three nights we stayed here that we couldn't expect a perfect accommodation. Probably would go for something a little more expensive next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Ron Inn
#6 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#7 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 608 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#12 of 608 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 608 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#8 of 608 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hostel

Property: Riverside Hostel
Address: No.1 Zhumu Alley, Nanmen Bridge, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing