We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eva Inn
Ranked #155 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We travelled to China a few years ago and one of our destinations was Guilin. We stayed in this hotel in May 2010. Location is quite good. It is by the river and there were many shops around the area. The room was huge and tidy but the beds were a little hard. Breakfast was okay. Staffs were friendly. It was a lovely hotel. It's worth the time and money to spend a few days here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    133
    63
    14
    8
See reviews for
21
45
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has seen better days. The carpets are moldy, the halls need painting, the restaurant isn't really prepared to serve to non-tour groups.

But that said, it has a great location along the river, and the rooms are clean (if dated) and quiet. Add to that a very reasonable price, and I'd stay there again -- but only if I needed a place to sleep before leaving early the next morning on the Li River Cruise.

The hotel is good for sleeping, but not good on aesthetics, atmosphere, or customer service. But at a bargain price with a good location, it's good enough to be a great deal if you're looking for a safe place to sleep with no frills.

BTW, it can be really hard to figure out which URL is really for the hotel - one of the two below is for the hotel directly, and one for a booking service not associated directly with the hotel. Can you tell which is which? I couldn't from the US -- only figured it out when I was in China:

eng.evainn.com
www.evainnguilin.com

Without strong copyright protections, many web sites and phone numbers are for booking agents who get a cut, and not for the actual hotel, attraction etc. So Caveat Emptor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T9-Orca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The pros.
Located by the river and about a 20min walk from the train station
Massive room
Huge bed_possibly two doubles pushed together.
Hot water, comfortble room temp
The staff were ok. Pleasant, quiet, better english than my mandarin, just lacked a smile or welcome.
Good value

The cons
It offers some questionable extras such as a 'lady of the evening massage'
Rooms available by the hour and bedside literature contains more info on stds than it does on anything else-might be a brothel.
Beds are as hard as bricks.

Wouldnt recommend to a friend

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoleftfeet83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here two nights as part of our tour of China. On the plus side, it's relatively inexpensive, the main negative is the beds are rock hard (and I don't mind a firm bed). Also, while the hotel is not pricey, they try and charge you for everything - including bottled water in the room, even tea bags! Wi-fi in lobby works ok, the signal in the room is too weak to work.
They will serve a western breakfast (eggs, French toast, and fruit) which is good.
Location is pretty central but I'd look around next time before choosing this place again.

Room Tip: Bring your on bottled water. Beds are rock hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Eva Inn for one night and then went on to Yangshou. Didn’t particularly like the hotel despite the good reviews. It was difficult communicating with the staff and the rooms weren’t clean either – we spotted hair in the bathroom. Since we weren’t too sure about the hotel’s restaurant, we had dinner at the Sheraton next door. The location is great. It’s right next to the Li River so if you get a room on the fourth or fifth floor, you’ll have some good views. The hotel was able to arrange free pick up from the airport and tickets for the Li River cruise. I’d say if you’re in the city for a night, this is worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Relwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Like just about everyone I came to Guilin for the Li River cruise. I booked the Eva Inn online without having had the chance to read reviews but under the circumstances it was a good pick. Large, tidy rooms in a fairly central area of Guilin, the hotel also had a tour desk that charged very reasonable prices to book the Li River cruise (about 50 Yuan cheaper than the tourist office around the corner.

As for the cons, obviously the staff spoke no English at all and, although this isn't really the fault of the hotel, you WILL have locals attempt to scam you and the Eva Inn's proximity to the Sheraton (probably the most upmarket hotel in town) means that the scammers seem to concentrate on the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I walked in and booked this hotel on the recommendation of our Chinese driver. I did not read any of the reviews here before I booked my room.They showed us the standard double room - it faced the Sheration Hotel. The walk in rate was CY298, no breakfast - we stayed for one night and had to pay a CY600 deposit. The other type of room (which I did not see) was Y398 per night. This is a Chinese tourist class hotel.The good thing about the hotel is the location. Located right next to the river, Elephant Hill, the Lake, Zheng Yang Pedestrain Street ( where you get all the shops and restaurants).

The room is dated and the furnishing looked worn. But the room is clean, bedsheets are clean (beds are hard with 2 thin pillows) but the bath towels are really old (and grey). I speak Mandarin, so had no language issues and found the staff helpful. As it was raining that morning, we went for the hotel's breakfast at the restaurant on the 7th floor (it did have some kind of view) and paid Y25 per head for a typical basic Chinese tourist class breakfast buffet - that means all Chinese food - bread with pineapple jam only, boiled corn, sweet potatoes, cabbage, plain porridge with condiments, steamed mantous, fried rice etc but they did have an egg station where you can get fried eggs and they served decent brewed coffee - for these, I feel Y25 was a decent price to pay. Otherwise, you can walk out to the nearby Pedestrain Street where you will find a KFC and Mc'D.

There is free wi-fi in the room but signal is weak. Better to use the lobby's wifi. There is a travel desk but they seem to speak only Chinese. They arranged for our (2 person) transport to the airport for Y80.

For 1 or 2 night stay, I would recommend this hotel - as long as you know this is Chinese tourist class hotel and have the right expectation (smoking is permitted in the rooms).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.2 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#5 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Li Jing Hotel
Li Jing Hotel
#150 of 605 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand 0773 Hotel
Grand 0773 Hotel
#157 of 605 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Guilin Lingui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Inn

Property: Eva Inn
Address: No.66 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eva Inn looks out over Li River and Elephant Trunk Hill in Xiufeng District, Guilin, China. It is a cozy four-star accommodation of 113 guestrooms and boasts a gourmet restaurant with terrace dining. The rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, free high-speed Internet connection, mini-bar, and safe. Non-smoking rooms are available as well. Hotel services include a 24-hour front desk, massage treatments, tour desk, business center, and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Eva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing