We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing value and terrific location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #8 of 591 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing value and terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were jumping for joy when we arrived at the Lakeside Inn and saw what we were getting for our travel dollars. A very small inn with comfy wooden tables and big chairs on the ground level, where they serve drinks, sandwiches and pizza. Upstairs are three rooms. Our room was wonderfully spacious with everything we needed to be happy - well functioning bathroom, bedside lamp, internet connection, comfortable bed. Best was yet to come (we discovered) as we stepped out from the Inn to explore the area: we were not many meters from the lake, facing the Sun and Moon Pagodas. Amazing! In our 4 days there we walked the paths around the charming lakes and browsed in the pedestrian markets nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
71
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great little inn near the lake! It was located near many shops & restaurants! We stayed for two nights and the room was clean with a comfortable bed! The American breakfast in the restaurant was not only a great value, but delicious as well!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was a nice enough hotel, but not fantastic. Location is really good and staff friendly, but we ordered coffee and pizza for a snack at around 4.00pm and it took well over an hour, it needs to be a lot quicker. the rooms were very clean but the shower room was not very clean, and the toiletries in the shower were cheap quality(I mean really cheap) so did not feel refreshing or clean. I probably would stay there again, but next time I know what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEEBS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilinhome, Owner at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2015
Thank you for your kindly comment. We have recently upgraded the inn to ensure a more comfortable and cleaner environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had to book a family room since couples rooms were booked out. But we were super happy with our room. The shower/bathroom was excellent and the room was wonderful.

We arrived really late at night and the girl at the reception was very young and inexperienced and she wasn't able to give us the information that we wanted and couldn't give as a good description of how to find the hostel.
Something happened because the next morning around 11am she was still working (she said someone got sick or something). So we never managed to talk with anyone else to answer our questions. However she really made an effort to help us.

The location was central and easy to get to the bus station to go to Yangshuo.

Another tip, the shuttle bus from Guilin airport to the center is the cheapest option, then a taxi.

The hotel should make some landmarks clear to find the hotel, we arrived late with bags in a taxi on a dark street corner, and we didn't know if it was right. The driver phoned the hotel and took us round the block before going back to the same corner. If they just say what landmarks to look for it will be more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maramaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read all the reviews and was so happy to have got this room
about a few hours later I wanted to book tours from the hotel as well as booking an extra night due to problems with flights.
I couldn't contact them at all the hostelbookers more like the hostil bookers never returned my emails until 2 days later then it was only to say email the hotel directly hello the email doesn't work.
6 days later the hostil bookers email with confirmation of the hotel
5 min later the hotel finally emails me saying my booking is cancelled and to book more accomadation what is weird is the email address was different instead of guilinn@hotmail the email came from a web address guilin -hostel
I don't know what to do
I would have lost my money on this booking also when I accessed their website my computer went down and I have had bogas emails telling me to change my paypal details
I think this is disgusting what shall I do if I don't show I will be charged so I don't know if the booking has really been cancelled hostil bookers don't return emails only adverts about 3 a day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clesslyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erding, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although we very not very lucky with the weather we were even more lucky with the hostel choice! The lakeside inn has a perfect location in the city center of Guilin. Our room was very clean and equipped with everything you need (e.g. air conditioning). The staff is very helpful (e.g. they gave me a rain-cape before we left the hotel for a day trip) and speaks perfect English which is not taken for granted in China! You can book organized day trips at the hostel bar. Another service they offer: If you plan to leave Guilin by train you can contact them via email and they will organize your train tickets in advance! Great service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Int_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of busy Guilin, turn down a small street and calm descends. Lakeside Inn is a very small (only 3 rooms) right next to Shanhu Lake with the pagodas. lovely walk right around lake, make sure you go under the bridge and round to the South Gate. The staff are all great, and are very obliging. Really nice homely bar, where you have free wi-fi. Rooms are clean and have comfortable beds. Would recommend to budget conscious travelers.

Room Tip: We had the family room, the bathroom was great for drying out rinsed clothes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#10 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
#2 of 591 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 591 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: No.1-1-2 Sha lake Building Shan Lake North Road, Guilin City Center, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place located in the very heart of the Guilin city. All the entertainment is just within walking distance. The famous Sun and Moon Pagodas scenic spot which stand right in the Shahu Lake is only a walkway next to the compound. Within a circle of 500 meters around our inn you can have access to department store, supermarket, local restaurant, western style restaurant, Starbucks, massage and all the entertainment you would expect. Despite its central location it is quiet and free from disturbing traffic noise. It is a good place to stay or relax when you travel. The first floor of our inn is a nice Cafe & Bar. We provide western breakfast(toast,egg,coffee,tea),Pizza,Sandwiches, coffee (Latte, Mocha, Cappuccino ect) and Chinese dumplings. We have cold local beer, cocktails, whiskey which can give you a wonderful time after or during travel. Being the owner, Jack is an outgoing world traveler. His nephew and assistant, John, is a college teacher in Guilin Tourism University. We speak English and know the city well. We can help you plan your stay in Guilin on your request. We offer airport/train sation pick up service as well as sightseeing services, for example, Li River Cruise, Longji Terraces Trip and one day Guilin city trip ect. We have private car rental service(with English/non English speaking driver) to facilitate your tour(especially suitable for large family travel).We try our best to make your stay a unique and memorable experience of the Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing