We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan
Ranked #133 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was close the Elephant Hill Park which proved to be a very worthwhile visit.
We had a room on the top floor. However there was no minibar fridge (which was advertised). I complained to the front desk and within minutes the housekeeping staff arrived at the door with a fridge. Unfortunately the fridge didn't work and they had no others to spare, so we went the four nights without a fridge: rather inconvenient! The beds were hard (as was usual in all the hotels we had stayed in) and the lifts in the hotel were inadequate. There were four lifts: one was out of service for the whole of our stay, a second was intermittently out of action and the other two were very, very slow. The restaurants on the second and third floor meant that it was always much quicker to walk down the stairs around meal times, rather than wait for the lifts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    84
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went here with a huge group. The hotel itself is located in a not-so-special area overlooking an empty road.

The rooms are very spacey. Everything is working well and all the basic needs are provided in good conditions. Beds are a bit hard for those not used to Chinese bed.

Breakfast could've been much better. We only got warm bread and Chinese paos with little taste. I guess that is normal in China, but as a foreigner I was craving for more.

Ate dinner here as well, and got to say that the food here tastes a bit better and more 'normal' (conforms to foreign taste of Chinese food) than other hotels and even restaurants I've been to when in China.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

make sure you have the hotel business card or hotel address with you! there are 2 Vienna Hotels in town
we stayed in the one close to the river and large intersection
room 705 3 nights 20 to 22-11-12 normal price cny 300 p/night
room has standard fit-out: tv (chinese channels) kettle, no fridge, carpet looks worn out but room is very clean,
has special travellers power point near desk all other power points are australian 3way & euro american 2 way,
internet (cat5 cable needed), heating takes a long time to actually heat up the air (reverse cycle), towels changed every day,
hair dryer & special travellers power points in bathroom, soap & shampoo in dispenser unit near bath
door opens with card & card in storage unit activates power for the room
the english knowledge at the reception is limited, there are 2 in house restaurants

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The moment I arrived in the evening of Dec 1,I was greeted by a very friendly and smiling bellboy who warmed my heart and my body in the cold winter in Guilin!He is so helpful and genuinely concerned about you. Front desk staff generally are courteous too.The restaurant on the top floor is a letdown,plain and quite dirty. Spending 3 nights and eating the same breakfast is annoying!The supervisor at the restaurant is very good and she makes sure you are well-served. She even served me hot coffee when I requested it. This was a kind gesture on her part.Both the bellboy and the restaurant supervisor made my day during my stay there.I would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and fortunately.The staff don't even speak English. The breakfast is very poor (the dining room is even not clean). And if you choose a non-smoking room, it is more expensive !! During our trip we stayed in 5 hotels in China and it was the only one which charged us more for non-smoking room !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was a good experience. The infrastructure may be a 4 star but the service they offer is only a 3 star.

Pros: clean and spacious deluxe rooms, good service in general (but no single smile), stable internet connection (only cable), clean bathroom, very well located.

Cons: hard beds, communication in english is hard, no bathrobe, no wifi (as offered on agoda-website), no minibar, only 4 bags of tea (8 yuan per bag!!!), room service is only a 2 star, no airport transfer.

Approx. 45 min. drive from airport (fixed taxi fare 100 yuan, no taximeter).

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice and spacious, higher floors have a better view, hotel bedrooms start at floor...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank good-vibes-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here in February having flown from Guangzhou for the Li river cruise. The hotel has a very large and pleasant foyer with a massive 3D picture at the back of the reception desk depicting Bonnie Prince Charlie! We are from Scotland so recognised the scene which seemed rather strange! The rooms were OK, clean and tidy although in need of updating. Beds were like sleeping on a slab of concrete which seems to be par for the course in China. Breakfast was a buffet and was fine but nothing great. The hotel is on the corner of what appears to be the main street in Guilin and had a great view from the corridor s but not from the rooms. They looked onto some horribly run down housing at the back of the hotel. Only spent one night there a s we were going on the Li river cruise next day. It was quite acceptable for a night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there for a week. Staff at the desk were very pleasant. Did not particularly like Guilin as it seemed the sort of place you could get robbed and even the ladies at the street market were indicating to me to watch my handbag while walking around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc0tmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.2 mi away
Tai Lian Hotel
Tai Lian Hotel
#21 of 637 in Guilin
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eva Inn
Eva Inn
#207 of 637 in Guilin
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 637 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Link Hotel Guilin
Grand Link Hotel Guilin
#16 of 637 in Guilin
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#7 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan

Property: Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan
Address: No.3 Zhongshan Middle Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vienna Hotel Guilin Zhongshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel(Guilin Zhongshan) Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing