We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place, private rooms were great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pretty nice place... We stayed there 6 nights in two different rooms: a twin private facing the river, and double room facing the front. Both were clean, had desks, and decent. Common area was great and inviting, nice to socialize or sit on your computer. Staff was really wonderful, most spoke good English (except one rude woman), and helpful with tours. They even helped my boyfriend surprise me for my birthday: stored some cake he bought in their fridge, then when it was time they played a birthday song and turned out lights and brought my cake out.

Breakfast omelettes were great, pizzas weren't as much.

We preferred the twin river view to the double street view...street view was a LOT louder and not as bright. Overall, would stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the twin river view to the double street view...street view was a LOT louder and not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

From beginning to end, the clerks at the desk were simply put unprofessional! A transfer had been requested, but no further comment provided by the establishment regarding it after booking. Showing up at the airport in Guilin, there was no one with a name plackard, so we got into a cab that cost us 70 RMB to the hostel. Upon arrival, they were irritatet that we had not taken their transport and wanted us to compenstae them 120RMB. We did not, I told them it was between Agoda who we booked with and them. Agoda agreed on our behalf that they were responsible in sending us some form of message thata car would be waiting. We booked for 2 days and only stayed the first. The room smelled bad, the bed sheets were soiled and we had to ask for new ones. Upon checking out they demanded 60 RMB compensation for the taxi we never took. Furthermore, the male clerk swore in English "F$#@!" ... but not at me..?!

Low budget from beginning to end, inside and poor poor customer service and understanding.

Be warned!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnusH195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here last November. The hostel is very centrally located, right next to the river, the night market and lots of restaurants. (And about the restaurants: many of them give you very, very bland food, because they think Western people don't like spices. Try try clarify that you actuall want your food to taste like something!) Rooms are spacious, clean and bright, the staff is very friendly and the common area is very nice - food isn't bad either.

Can't think of many negatives, except that when we were booking online, the site said that wifi is also in rooms, which it wasn't, only in the common area. It might've worked in some of the rooms, but ours was so far back that it didn't reach that far. Also found one biggish cockroach in our bathroom on the last night, but those aren't really rare anywhere. We just trapped it under a glass and freed it when we left. ;)

Room Tip: Try to get the ones on the left side of the hallway when you come from the common area, they looked...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

One of my favourite hostels in China. Great spacious common area, very helpful staff and a great location too.
The hotsel can book lots of trips for you and give great advice. There's lots of places to eat nearby and you're with in walking distance of the night market.
Make sure you try Guilin's famous clay-pot rice dishes while you're in town!
The only negative is that our room didn't have a window, but otherwise the room was fine.
Recommended :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fe_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in a double room in Jan 13 for 90 yuan. The hostel common area is very nice, several big tables, sofas and a TV with Wii and loads of games. Got a free drink voucher on checkin!

The tours here were cheaper than another hostel I stayed at in Guilin and staff were very friendly and helpful.

The google map result for this place is completely wrong, if coming from the train station cross the road, walk left down the main road and the hostel is just before the bridge.

The room was a little noisy but the bed was great.

This isn't a party hostel but I did meet some nice people. If you want a party go to WADA.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our favorite hostel in China. Just returned from a 3-week vacation. The two rooms we rented at the hostel had large windows and comfortable beds. The common area was sunny, large and inviting with large windows, sofas, dining tables, a full bar and meal service. The coffee was terrific and the staff could not have been more helpful. We wish we could have spent more time here. Really loved the lounge!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we had a really nice stay in Guilin and this hostal. we would recommend to everyone!!

The staff were amazing... very helpful and would bend over backwards for your needs. My Partner came down with a cold, they provided her with extra blankets, chinese medicine and ginger teas free of charge.

we stayed here the two nights that we spent in Guilin and if we were to come back we would choose this place again. We stayed in a Private double room which was what to be expected.. an average room to have a good quiet night sleep in.

The staff really made our stay the best and most welcoming staff so far from Beijing to Guilin!! If your visting the area you should really consider this place!

Thanks to everyone there!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCReview88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
182 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 659 in Guilin
1,644 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
#9 of 53 in Guilin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station

Address: No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing